Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3395 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
bubill yang

bubill yang

Rocket Japanese china , China

Submitted: 2 years ago

17 Likes

Rocket languages supply "Translation method" for learning 2nd Languages . It's the same as in the school. There worse has no photos to understand by view , no stroke order .
Too many lessons for beginners .

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bubill - Did you see the Writing lessons? There are videos in each of those showing you how to draw different characters, with the correct stroke order!

Manal Abdel-hamid

Manal Abdel-hamid

Rocket French Egypt

Submitted: 2 years ago

17 Likes

I have had a technical problem with Rocket French for over a month now. I cannot play the audio files of ALL interactive lessons, and that is on several different devices. The support team has not been able to fix it for me, and their response rate is too slow. I'm regretting having bought the product, because it is useless for me if I'm unable to use it. And it means that i threw my money on the drain. I now asked them to reimburse me for my money if they cannot fix their technical issues, and they haven't replied to me yet. As usual their response takes at least THREE days. I'm getting extremely mad, to be quite honest!

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Manal - This is an issue with Egypts internet connection being throttled by the powers that be. We have had similar issues with China in the past. Of course, if we can't get it working for you you will get a full refund.

2019 Update: We have managed to change how our server works to allow access and full functionality from within Egypt!

Alexander Caracotsios

Alexander Caracotsios

Rocket Russian United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

17 Likes

Very good set up and structure. However, my main complaint is that the conversations never really got increasingly complicated. Additionally, they did not include too wide a range of vocabulary. The audio is great for learning pronunciation but I feel like I spent a lot of time and did not learn as much as I could have say, through duolingo which is free. I would only recommend this program to people who have never studied a language before because it goes slow enough that it may be beneficial to get over the initial fears of learning a language. However, for people such as myself with a more developed linguistic background, I felt as if the dialogues did not advance very much and that I did not really leave learning as much as I could have if I spent the same amount of time with other resources.

I feel as if Rocket Languages needs to drastically alter the content of the dialogues to better suit them for "intuitive" grammar and vocabulary acquisition. That being said, the main structuring of the program I found to be fantastic and the native audio files also were superb.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Alexander, and thanks for the feedback. Rocket Russian Level 1 is a beginners course, so can feel slow if you are an experienced language learner. We would recommend switching to Rocket Russian Level 2, which is more advanced.

Peter Geer

Peter Geer

Rocket French Sydney , Australia

Submitted: 3 years ago

17 Likes

I'm really enjoying using Rocket French. The lessons are interesting and easy to follow. The language recognition is excellent and works well in both understanding and correction. The only small problem is that it doesn't sync well across my devices. It doesn't seem to recognise when I've completed a lesson on a different device. I'm sure this will be fixed with updates. Overall it's a fantastic learning tool.

Eugene Berman

Eugene Berman

Rocket French

Submitted: 3+ years ago

17 Likes

Overall, Rocket Languages is, without a doubt, well worth the price. The value for your money is the best. There really is not a better foreign language program out there. I have tried others as they do not match the quality of Rocket's.

Ken Milam

Ken Milam

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

16 Likes

Overall, I've enjoyed the Rocket German product. It would be very helpful to have a set of audio control buttons (play/pause/rewind 3 sec) positioned directly beneath the Quick Settings on the left margin of the web page for the interactive lessons. When I listen to the interactive lessons on a computer, I constantly have to scroll from the line in the lesson back to the top of the page to pause/replay a word/phrase. Similarly, a rewind 3 sec button on the phone version is desperately needed. Lastly, I would like to see a video option for the Language & Culture Lessons. Reading through all of this is a little dry. I want to watch/hear an instructor saying these words/phrases. Thanks

Julie Davis

Julie Davis

Rocket Japanese Guernsey , United Kingdom

Submitted: 1 year ago

16 Likes

I have really enjoyed learning Japanese with Rocket Languages. It is a real challenge but the course gave me the confidence to travel solo to Japan earlier this year. I was really pleased to have a basic knowledge as there were plenty of occasions when no English was spoken. Rocket Languages also gave me an understanding of Japanese culture which is very different. It is an amazing country and I plan to continue my studies to improve my Japanese ready for a return visit. I like the broad approach of the course, using spoken and written Japanese. I struggled initially with the hiragana keyboard but Customer Service was able to point out where I was going wrong and the more I use it the easier it gets. Including elements of grammar is very useful and makes it easier to understand the structure of a language that is quite different from English. It is a very well-structured course.

MELANIE MCGUFFIN

MELANIE MCGUFFIN

Rocket Spanish CO , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

16 Likes

Summary: It is most important to start SPEAKING a language as soon as possible to get comfortable with it. I think that Rocket does a decent job getting you ready with some key phrases, pronunciation, and review, but it overloads the learner with too much new vocabulary per lesson.

Format: I really like the audio format in a nice progressive pace and it's less 'cluttered' than the popular pod101 program. The review material is very well rounded, using audio, writing practice, spanish - english and english - spanish practice, plus flashcards (english - spanish).

Overall audio quality: Try the trial to hear them speak. Decide for yourself. In my opinion, Mauricio has a good accent and Carmen speaks slowly. Amy is a dork and I get a little tired of hearing her voice. Her Spanish makes me cringe. The "repeat after me" can be very rushed and I have to pause so that I get a chance to actually repeat a phrase.

Workload: The dialogues can be quite long (some almost 45 minutes!) and the practice has WAY too much vocabulary to absorb for one lesson. I'm currently doing a lesson in Level 2 that has 117 words.

Read More

Roberto Vacca

Roberto Vacca

Rocket Japanese Rome , Italy

Submitted: 2 years ago

16 Likes

I've tried out many apps to learn Japanese, and no matter how many I tried, I always come back to Rocket Languages!

Unlike many other apps, once you get Rocket Japanese your membership is lifelong, no need to update your subscription. That's a really worthwhile investment. Ah, and of course their learning method and organization of studies is great (I can save pdf of ALL lessons to repeat even offline).

Omer Yavuz

Omer Yavuz

Rocket English Ankara , Turkey

Submitted: 2 years ago

16 Likes

Your application is not running on Android phone. Whenever I activated microphone, program stops. I tried to run iPhone but it needs iOS 10 later. I can not run on iPhone.
I tried to open on Android phone using Google Chrome. But I can not see repeat button and score buttons.
I tried to run on Macbook using chrome. I can see all elements play, microphone, score and customer voice repeat button.
But I can not replay my voice so I can not compare voices. Sometimes if score is 100% can record and replay my voice. Sometimes it can not record and produce performance result.
Your performance is too poor. Your system must analyse word by word. Your system must show word differences and can offer tools to advise pronunciation alternatives. Also I must listen my voice. Your system must record my voice.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Omer - I am sorry to hear about the issues you are having. As phones change versions fairly quickly there can be issues with the apps working on older models. However, we try to cover off as many older versions as we can. I would recommend that you try Safari on your Macbook as we recently extended the voice recognition feature to work on that.