Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3576 Customer reviews

76.6% (2738)

15.7% (563)

4.8% (171)

2.0% (73)

0.9% (31)

Thomas Suarez

Thomas Suarez

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

The system, so far, seems good, though I dislike the way it's presented (e.g., the often "cute" wording and the constant exclamation points).
But I truly resent the constant spam from Rocket Languages that began the moment I paid, and that continue despite my making every attempt to unsubscribe.
And I hate the high-pressure sales technique and the "snake oil" methods of pushing the product. I was hard pressed to buy the program with how it was being marketed, and only the generally very favorable reviews, and the money-back guarantee, made me overlook the insulting marketing.
An email to Rocket explaining these opinions remains unanswered at writing.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Thomas - I am sorry that you have an issue with our marketing. In saying that, every email does have an unsubscribe link.

Natalie Jacques

Natalie Jacques

Rocket French New Zealand

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

I am taking the French course but I find the man talks way too much in English with annoying 'jokes'. Sorry but listening to him makes it difficult for me to continue and I loose interest. Over half the lessons are in translated English or him talking.The price for the course is good and I haven't had to use customer service to comment.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Natalie - The beginner (Level 1) course does have a reasonable amount of English as things need to be explained! In the higher levels there is less English. If you wish to swap levels then please let us know!

Barbara Wilson

Barbara Wilson

Rocket Spanish Maldonado , Uruguay

Submitted: 3 years ago

10 Likes

The package is very well organized and well-planned, but I find it confusing. After completing Duolingo and Santamaria's Synergy Spanish, I'm not finding my proper level in Rocket Spanish and the system doesn't let me move ahead. The first third seems to me not useful to someone who is at the early intermediate stage, and I can't find a way to get into the second level. Instead, I keep getting just the intro material, which I already know. Even at the intro level, some problems jump out at me, such as the sudden addition of past tenses, when presumably the beginner doesn't know the present tense yet.

At first, I was able to record, but that suddenly quit on me, and now I can't. It doesn't matter too much, since I was getting 100% every time on my accent. I will try to manage without that feature. Headphones wouldn't help, since I can hear fine; I just can't record. I would like to advance, but don't see it happening.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Barbara - The tabs to the different Levels are on the left hand side at the top. You can do the lessons in any order, there are no restrictions. If you are still having difficulty please contact customer support for more info. Also, we do recommend that people use a headset microphone or the free app/s for best results with voice recognition!

Russell Fowler

Russell Fowler

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

Overall a good course - perhaps a few too many bells and whistles. In the French course the instructor needs to speak MUCH more slowly and enunciate more clearly. Speaking too fast, especially in the early stages, does NOT provide the student with proper pronunciation. It may be the way many French people speak day to day, but you need to learn the proper way to say things before speaking rapidly. I speak some French and what I'm hearing is not clear for a new student to learn properly.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Russell - It usually does take some time for ears to be trained to a new language. It can be a good idea to listen to a French radio station during the day to help with this process.

MICHAEL SLOAN

MICHAEL SLOAN

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 6 months ago

6 Likes

Overall, definitely gets you "speaking" quite a bit. The great majority of this, however, is just rote copying of what was just heard. Regurgitation, not processing and internalizing. The rest is straight translation, which in my opinion is a far inferior way to learn a language. A good number of lessons use words/phrases/tenses that have never been discussed and are simply not explained. There are quite a few glitches with speech recognition, especially regarding numbers and accent marks. The material is HEAVILY focused on travel, which I get makes some sense if you're learning Spanish in order to travel, but I suspect a large number of people are like me, learning Spanish to use in everyday life. May just be a US bias though, where Spanish can be very useful almost everywhere.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michael - Thanks for your review. There are differing viewpoints on what is the best way to learn a language and I am sure that it is different for different people. In our case, we try to provide a very comprehensive course that covers a variety of learning styles. On a side note; there has been an issue with the numbers returned from voice recognition not matching as they should, even if it was pronounced correctly. We are looking into that!

Omri Ulanovski

Omri Ulanovski

Rocket Italian Israel

Submitted: 6 months ago

2 Likes

Overall seems like a good program, but when using the app or browser from the phone the audio recorder doesn’t work.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there; it looks like you have been using the Safari browser on your iPhone. While our courses work on Safari on a desktop computer, for an iPhone we recommend using the Rocket Languages iOS app.

Leo Giertz

Leo Giertz

Rocket Italian Stockholm , Sweden

Submitted: 2 years ago

7 Likes

The guy, Alex, in the Italian course comes across as a somewhat of a douche. He tries to be funny by pretending to flirt with the co host, Maria, but it just feels awkward. It might just be me, but I would prefer if they just sticked to the language material.

Michael Weinberger

Michael Weinberger

Rocket German Canada

Submitted: 3 years ago

9 Likes

It is very frustrating that I cannot offline download the lessons in the app itself on my iPhone. It would have been better that way. I want to be able to use it in the car that way. I know you can download it through iTunes, but that is too cumbersome.

Response from Rocket Languages (updated 2019): Hi Michael - This functionality is now on the apps. You can download the audio to your device at the press of a button!

Min so hu

Min so hu

Rocket Korean Gampaha , Sri Lanka

Submitted: 5 months ago

1 Likes

Kam sam ni da.its very useful.i would like to recommend this to my frind.also keep up your good work .add some more lessons.can you plese write a article about korean universities and degrees.plese ......finally ...kam sam ni da.

NUNYA BUSINESS

NUNYA BUSINESS

Rocket French WHY , Angola

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

UMMMMM FIRST OF ALL IT WON'T LET ME DO OTHER LESSONS BECAUSE I'M JUST DOING THE FREE PART - IT ADVERTISES THAT IT'S FREE - A COMPLETE TRICK!!!! OUTRAGEOUS! IT DOESN'T TEACH YOU PROPERLY - IT TELLS YOU TO REPEAT THE STATEMENT/QUESTION AND THAT'S IT!!! NOTHING ELSE! I AM VERY UNSATISFIED WITH THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE AND WOULD RECOMMEND NOT LEARNING FRENCH FROM THIS HORRIBLE WEBSITE - I WOULD SUGGEST NOT EVEN LOOKING AT THIS WEBSITE!!! A SCAM, I TELL YOU!

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there - It does say that it's a free trial with sample lessons! I am not sure how that constitutes a scam!