Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3468 Customer reviews

Steven Saperstein

Steven Saperstein

Rocket Chinese United States

Submitted: 3+ years ago

2 Likes

I liked using the program during the 6-day trial, but I am a little upset. I started to purchase the premium package, but I changed my mind. I closed the purchase window before finalizing the purchase. However, Rocket Languages billed my credit card anyway. Now I will have to dispute this as an unauthorized charge.

Kathleen Lontok

Kathleen Lontok

Rocket Spanish Metro Manila , Philippines

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

This is the most helpful app and course I've tried among all the other apps. The only glitch I found is the hear it, say it part where it does not recognize some of my inputs but overall, the app is great.

Niklas Persson

Niklas Persson

Rocket Portuguese Sverige , Sweden

Submitted: 3 months ago

1 Likes

I really like the tool and I that you can record your voice and compared to the native is the best function. I learned quite alot of words but there is one big problem. The man speaks with a Rio De Janeiro accent. When I came to Sao paulo where my wife is from many people laughed at my strong accent and I realized I have gotten a really strong Rio De Janeiro accent which does not seem like the best of accents xD.

I wanted to have a Sao paulo accent and after knowing this fact I could not continue as the portuguese accent was not the one I was looking for. So I love the service but the audio is just not what I am looking for making it not usable.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Niklas - We are aware of the different accents in Brazil and while Paulo is from Rio (as per the Interactive audio lessons), the rest of the course (extra vocabulary and Language & Culture lessons) has a male speaker who is not from Rio. It is a good idea to have familiarity with both! There is even a specific Language & Culture lesson on the differences (see lesson 1.11)

sarah a

sarah a

Rocket Japanese MN , United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

10 Likes

The voice narrator needs to be replaced, she is too monotone. Lessons should still to an extent reteach verb forms or grammar rules they have mentioned before, instead of telling the audience to refer to an obscure moment in a previous audio session. Besides that, the course is helpful.

Jude Yeaton

Jude Yeaton

Rocket Arabic Youngstown, Ohio , United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

5 Likes

I have no plans to visit Egypt, but I want to read Naguib Mafouz's books without having to look up all the dialog, word by word, so I was interested in at least an introduction to Egyptian. The Rocket Arabic course offers far more than an introduction - there's a mass of the spoken language, if not much grammar, which seems pretty easy after some MSA. I skipped ahead from Module 1 to Module 4 (which has a lesson with Naguib Mafouz in the title) and decided to finally try out the Chrome version to see how it graded my pronunciation. The app graded my MSA at 100% (set on Hard), but routinely flunked my Egyptian (around 30%) - it wanted quhlumu ruhsuhsun, not alum whatever for pencil. So I'm going back to Firefox and not worrying about the pronunciation, beyond trying to mimic the native speaker as closely as possible. Once I finish Module 4 I'll go back to 2 and proceed in order from there (happily skipping the lessons on numbers, which are absolutely essential when you're in a country but take an inordinate amount of time if you really just want a reading knowledge of a language).

As far as recommending Rocket Arabic to a friend, it really depends on what they want it for.

Read More

ian durie

ian durie

Rocket Spanish dundee , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

This is a very good program to learn Spanish , Latin American variation , not Castilian Spanish of Spain. I understand that this version of Spanish is more useful for Americans who probably make up the bulk of the clientele of people wanting to learn Spanish. This version of Spanish will allow people to travel in South America and make themselves understood there and in the South of Spain , where the majority of Spanish Emigrants left for a new life in the former Spanish Colonies. Cuba used to be the destination for economic migrants from the Spanish Peninsular until the Americans liberated , "stole" , the last colonies of Cuba , Puerto Rico and the Philippians, which was then impossible, after the Spanish American War of eighteen ninety eight, which caused then a profound soul searching of the Spanish People, on the loss of their colonies to the United States of America, and the birth of a new generation of Spanish Poets of 1898. That said, the language is useful, if you want to travel in the Republic of Argentina or Chile. It reminds me of the Spanish I was taught many years ago by my first Spanish Teacher who was a refugee from Chile. The only difficulty would be in speaking to a native of Madrid with their Castilian Accent. I recommend this course but hopefully the course creators will be able to tweak the program so it does not keep crashing in the recommended browser " Chrome " !

uah-xiao cain-tu

uah-xiao cain-tu

Rocket German liverpool , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 months ago

4 Likes

rocket language is very good when it comes to the teaching but i think things like this should be free because not everyone has the money to pay for it and the people that need it most is poorer people that don't have much money but everyone needs an education it doesn't matter about their status in life

Tochi Walton

Tochi Walton

Rocket French Port harcourt , Nigeria

Submitted: 3 years ago

6 Likes

The free trial version of Rocket Language is indeed awesome and it seems to be what I need to learn French. unfortunately I cannot afford it. However, I recommend it for anyone who wishes to learn French online. its indeed good.

#@JAHNAVI Haryani

#@JAHNAVI Haryani

Rocket French new jersey , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

4 Likes

Rocket Languages is a huge help in my life of learning other languages. now I know four languages. so helpful. you need to learn at least one language. the guides are very helpful.###love French !! .......................................................................................................

David

David

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 3+ years ago

4 Likes

The Spanish course does an adequate job of starting one learning the language. The technique used is anything but new as I have used it over many years for two of the several languages I know. The price for the first set of lessons is reasonable at less than $100 but then the price escalates.