Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3395 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
David Gothreau

David Gothreau

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

Rocket Spanish is pretty good. It's certainly better than other programs I have tried. Every so often it tests you on words you haven't learned. In one case it ends Module 1 with a survival kit of a list of 300 words, then assumes you know them in Module 2. This is ludicrous. One or two lessons refer to a beginners' book that is not included. The good part is the interactive call and response and the ability to easily go back and review lessons so you don't forget as much as you move on. Most words reoccur in several lessons so you don't forget. A few are not.

David Aspinwall

David Aspinwall

Rocket Chinese United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

The Rocket Chinese course is comprehensive and contains a good variety of tools. There are a couple negatives though. The main one is that the male voice actor's pronunciation is not very good. That's a huge drawback when you're trying to learn to pronounce a language correctly. Offline use on Android is fairly minimal. It's painful to enter pinyin for exercises that use it, for instance you can't just enter dan1cheng2, you need to find a way to enter dānchéng. Some odd vocabulary items are introduced early, like "go dutch" or "seat belts". It would be nice to have some additional drills and reading material. Overall though, if they could replace the male voice (or he could improve his pronunciation and cadence) it would be a very good course. (I haven't used their customer service so I'm giving the benefit of the doubt with 5 stars.)

Samuel Maldonado

Samuel Maldonado

Rocket Japanese Charlotte , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

Rocket Japanese is a pretty good introduction to Japanese. It's definitely far better than Rosetta Stone and a few other programs I had some experience with (but fortunately never actually wasted money on), but despite how they boast about teaching grammar, it does a woefully inadequate job of teaching even the most basic grammar, and there are some strange choices for vocabulary to teach: for instance, there is an entire survival kit that is more than 80% words that I will never use because I don't drink alcohol or eat pork or shrimp. That being said, when used alongside other resources, it can be a fantastic introduction to Japanese. I especially recommend Tangorin.com (a dictionary) as a vocab supplement and Tae Kim's "Guide to Japanese" for grammar.

I believe that the purpose to Rocket Japanese is to teach you enough of a language to be able to have some level of basic interaction with natives if you go to Japan. To actually be able to learn the language to any real degree of fluency, you'll need a lot more. Nihongonomori.com is a good place to go after completing Rocket Japanese if you want to keep going in your Japanese studies.

Jerry Zhuo

Jerry Zhuo

Rocket Japanese United Kingdom

Submitted: 3 years ago

2 Likes

Rocket Japanese is definitely worth the money: for the price of one year of weekly language course, you actually get more to learn and practice. I really enjoy the audio courses which are delightful. And the interactive website is well designed as well, except the audio recognition system which still needs some improvement. I really would like to see more interesting learning materials in future, and maybe some recommendations on videos, articles and cultural items that I can go look at.

Alma Schonken

Alma Schonken

Rocket Hindi Australia

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

I first tried Rocket Hindi 3 years ago and I was hooked after the first trial. It's my honest opinion that this software is a massive helper to all types of learners. I am far from a language buff and despite this Rocket has managed to lay down a rock solid foundation for this third language in my head. Now it's time to work my way up towards Rocket Hindi Hero then next stop Mumbai :D

george  lam

george lam

Rocket Korean

Submitted: 3+ years ago

5 Likes

it is quite interesting approach but still need to find some extra resources to understand fully especially for the extra vocab part. However, i will still recommend to friends of mine if they are looking for online korean learning

Erik Rideout

Erik Rideout

Rocket German Vancouver, BC , Canada

Submitted: 3 years ago

6 Likes

Comprehensive lessons, each leaving you feeling accomplished and confident. Every lesson section can take 45 minute to listen to and complete. As such, each Rocket German level has easily hundreds of hours of content. Definitely worth the money if you're serious about learning a language.

Bryan Horsey

Bryan Horsey

Rocket Korean

Submitted: 3+ years ago

7 Likes

Rocket Korean is great if you would like to get to know the Korean Culture and Basic understanding of the Language. For someone who is looking to gain a little more proficiency and more casual day to day communication this is not for you. Overall the course materials and lessons are very well laid out and easy to follow along with.

Rose Duran

Rose Duran

Rocket Japanese

Submitted: 3+ years ago

11 Likes

Rocket Japanese is amazing. Since it includes interactive audio lessons, I find it much easier compared to going to the bookstore and buy a book with all this stuff. Because of this audio lessons I find it easier to pronounce Japanese words and I can also assure that you will learn the correct pronunciation using this interactive audio lessons since one of the hosts is a native Japanese speaker. Another thing I liked about it is you can download the audio file and also the pdf file that goes with it, and you can study the language offline. There are also games which you can play that serves as a review or a test for you which is really fun to do. Its set up of how to learn this language is not boring. Its really fun to learn a language with the interactive audio lessons. It seems like you are having a one on one lesson with a friend who is a native speaker of the language you are trying to learn. And I really admire Sayaka and Kenny since they always sound so enthusiastic to teach Japanese language in every audio lessons.
Being a Jrock fan I think Rocket Japanese is one of the reasons why I am now able to communicate to other fans in a better way. And also, now I can understand some lyrics from the Jrock songs I'm listening to without any translations. Thanks Rocket Japanese!

Brian Cohen

Brian Cohen

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

Excellent lessons and drills to make sure you hear, pronounce, and write the language correctly. I like how you learn through phrases, not just verb conjugations. Good info about culture makes it more interesting. Although this costs way more than Duolingo (which is free), the price is a bargain for the easy-to-navigate and well-structured interface. The only negative is one night I had trouble with the website; it was showing primitive html (yes, I had the most recent Chrome browser). Customer service responded to my email for help five days later. By then, the issue had resolved. But my streak and ranking suffered.