Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3395 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Barbara Penrose

Barbara Penrose

Rocket Spanish United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

I did some research before buying Rocket Spanish and the reviews were excellent, however I did not read anything that said it was all about South American and therefore some of the language is different. I feel it is designed for the younger people with little reference to the older person who only plan to go on vacation to mainland Spain. I also think the long drawn out conversation by the American lady at the start of each session is excessive and a little annoying, although of course you can skip this as shorter conversations follow and these cover all the relevant points.

On the plus side Rocket Spanish has been well thought out and covers everything that is needed to learn Spanish. I like the fact that you can jump ahead and back to different modules if there is something specific you want to learn, like the time or numbers. I also like to use the voice recognition and the conversation section. The price is excellent so I purchased the whole package which will last me forever. I do not regret buying this product and my Spanish is improving because of it.

Todd P

Todd P

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

12 Likes

This could easily be a 5 star program, but there are enough poor choices by the designers that make it less valueable or frustrating to use that I am being generous to give this 3 stars. The bottom line is that it works, and it did better for me than when I used Rosetta Stone to learn another language.

I have been using this program for 10 months and have had 3 visits to Germany during this time related to work. This is where I think the program isn't good:
1. This program stresses in the informal ways of addressing people. Germans, especially in business, use the formal case (Sie not Du).
2. The program doesn't teach any language rules, rather just provides example after example such as how to conjugate a verb.
3. THe most frustrating part is that the program tries to inculcate easy words (Ja, Nein), and sometimes not useful words like Wunderbar constantly, but doesn't stress words that are important to know such as to want, to like, to take, to need. If someone can't get Ja and Nein correct after the third lesson, then they need to quit.
4.

Read More

Valentina Valentine

Valentina Valentine

Rocket Korean buffalo , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

4 Likes

I think more emphasize should be placed in Hangul! Its the foundation of the language and everything is so jumbled. Consonant, vowels should be separated and thought differently. I learned by watch children videos of sing alongs in Hangul. Like they make it so simple there. Its ok I guess... It needs more material to be concise. But good program

Mary Tracy

Mary Tracy

Rocket Chinese

Submitted: 3+ years ago

6 Likes

I have not yet progressed very far into the course, but for as far as I have gone, Rocket compares favorably with Pimsleur courses I have used. I like the available transcripts and computer material. Being able to actually see the words helps a great deal in getting the pronunciation down faster correctly. The recordings are a little too chatty and waste a bit of time better devoted to the language itself. I look forward to your Russian course.

John Hoare

John Hoare

Rocket Japanese Toronto , Canada

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

Love everything so far, but I’ve noticed that you are changing the voice actors with the audio files. In my opinion, I’d prefer the original combination of the English Kenny and the ‘Osaka’ kansai-jin Sayaka...especially Sayaka, whose accent, in both nihongo-ga and eigo-ga is very helpful in terms of realistic Japanese phonetics. The new Sayaka is less ‘endearing’ and the new Kenny-san has perhaps a too refined Kanto-style accent.

Philip Silverstone

Philip Silverstone

Rocket Italian Cali , Colombia

Submitted: 1 year ago

3 Likes

I believe that the Rocket Languages Italian course is very useful and helps to obtain a basic level of understanding rapidly. I think that it is more efficient compared with now obsolete CD and audiotape courses that I have taken. It could be improved by adding a visual component, such as pictures of objects and foods that are mentioned.

Marylene Lisen

Marylene Lisen

Rocket Spanish Cebu City , Philippines

Submitted: 3 years ago

4 Likes

Its my first day to learn. I have bit background to this language. Now just familiarization and to continue learning the language more. Learning here through audio and written is satisfying. I would love to finish my free tutorial for a week. And hope to have the tutorial for more months. So exciting! Gracias Rocket Spanish Online for the tutorial.

Khalid Ikram

Khalid Ikram

Rocket Arabic Potomac, MD , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

15 Likes

This is an excellent program, in my opinion better than the comparable Pimsleur product, because it makes an attempt to explain the grammar. The dialogues are well spoken and practical. The main shortcoming is that there is no follow-up program. We need to have at least a Rocket Arabic 2 and preferably a 3 as well. Otherwise, there is a bit of a feeling of being abandoned at the start of the journey.

Minh Hòa Đỗ

Minh Hòa Đỗ

Rocket Korean Khánh Hòa , Vietnam

Submitted: 3 years ago

5 Likes

I don't have enough English to explain but I can say that: "Rocket Languages are very helpful, nice and great. If only Rocket Languages are free." I love learning languages so I love Rocket Languages very much...

Alton

Alton

Rocket French S Burlington

Submitted: 3+ years ago

8 Likes

I've stop and started Rocket French several times but now since I've downloaded audio lessons to my MP3 it'll be easier to start over again and keep going since MP3 can go with me anywhere.