Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3395 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Najma Mohamed

Najma Mohamed

Rocket Korean wa , United States minor outlying islands

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

Can't you unlock the modules during the free trail? Can't you unlock the modules during the free trail? Can't you unlock the modules during the free trail? Can't you unlock the modules during the free trail? Can't you unlock the modules during the free trail?

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Najma - No, you can't!

Robert Marsico

Robert Marsico

Rocket Italian Rio Rancho, New mexico , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

I have been using Rocket Italian for approximately 2 weeks now, i have used Pimsleur, the problem with Pimsleur is that they don't explain what you are learning, Rocket Italian explains as you go, every session is concise and clear, and the most important thing is that I'm learning.

Just a great program

Robert Marsico

BTW
Whenever i email Maria DiLorenzi i get a reply very very helpful.

Ross H

Ross H

Rocket Chinese Auckland , New Zealand

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

The record with voice recognition grading really helps to get your pronunciation right, and the playback of your voice really helps you find out why you did get the grade you expected. These tools give a strong incentive to practice speaking, and have helped me to progress faster. The downside is that these tools are only practically useful on PC and not useful on Android because of speed and different limited web page. (I cannot speak for Apple versions).

I would give the course 5 stars if all features were available on all platforms.

On android viewing the website, speech recognition is so much slower to respond, and much less accurate, so the time delays become frustrating - it is very dependent on internet and wireless speed. The key thing android misses is it that it has no ability to play back what you said (so that you can hear and correct your own mistakes). From the forum comments this appears to have been missing for 2 years or more, and I think Rocket Languages should make playback of your own voice a priority fix for android users.

Read More

Glenn Ward

Glenn Ward

Rocket Japanese Australia

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

The amount of information here is staggering for a beginner like myself,however I'm lucky for 2 reasons.Firstly,I have been using Memrise for 18 months so many of the words are familiar to me and secondly my Philipinna wife lived in Japan for 25 years and is completely fluent in Japanese so I don't have a problem with the voice playback as I never use it.The customer service is fantastic and I would recommend this program to anyone,my wife says it is a bit formal but it's better to learn formal and go down than learn anime and try to go up.Great program guys,thanks to Sayaka san and Kenny san(he's ok for a pommy).

James Carman

James Carman

Rocket Japanese Florida , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

I have used many resources to learn Japanese. I use Rocket Japanese to test what I learned, and learn topic specific language. Even just using it in that limited capacity it has been tremendously helpful. I spent almost 6 months in Japan during 2016. The things I learned here were invaluable for navigating restaurants, convenience stores, and many other activities.

When I bought this package I was looking for something like the Spanish101, Chinese101, etc series. I wanted something I could listen to while I ran or commuted places. The main reason I picked this was that it isn't a subscription service. I bought it and I was done.

After buying it I realized it was more interactive and engaging than my previous experiences with podcasts. Besides the engaging, and silly Japanese hosts, the activities to verify I am learning became a big help. I also loved that I could skip around to any lesson I felt I needed to work on. I have had this product long enough to see 2 new versions released and each time, the upgrades have made the product more usable, and helped me come back and work on my Japanese some more.

There are a few places they could improve. I know there is a lot more to learn. It would be great to see more levels, allowing people to advance further. Another improvement would be for them to speed up their conversations more. I feel that by the end of the third level they should be speaking at native or near native speed.

Jose Dominguez

Jose Dominguez

Rocket Japanese Ohio , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

I've used Rocket Languages for two languages now (Korean and Japanese) and have yet to regret either purchase. Rocket Languages is, in my opinion, a straight-forward and effective interface for all of my language needs.

I even use the program to brush up on advanced Spanish skills from time to time and have seen good results in a reasonable time frame. No doubt one of my better investments of both time and money!

Marcus Claytpn

Marcus Claytpn

Rocket Chinese New Zealand

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

I find there is generally too much preamble getting into each dialogue - too much from the English guy especially. Ironically, he seems to be talking as though adressing an ESOl class . However, as a native speaker, I find his delivery and Uk accent quite amateurish. E.g he says "wiv" instead of " with" etc. just irritating. Also, I am disappointed that he is used in dialogues when his Mandarin accent is not spot-on. Just model the genuine accent by using a Chinese speaker for each dialogue. Also, in the 2nd Premium pack, the upgrade, I wouldn't have bothered buying it had I known it involved a module devoted to planning a wedding - relevant to about 5% at best of your the average audience.

Mariah Firn

Mariah Firn

Rocket Korean Duluth, MN , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

Definitely helpful to hear native Koreans speaking and the forms of testing made sure that i remember what i learned in the lesson. I would recommend this site to anyone who wants to practice their pronunciation. The site is very organized and easy to navigate. The tools are very useful. All in all, this is a good site.

Erik Larson

Erik Larson

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

The voice recognition works pretty well. It struggles with very short sounds, but overall very good. I've used other programs that ask you to speak the answers, but the pronunciation analysis makes me try much harder to say each response out loud.

The romaji is good for beginners, but already know hiragana and katakana, so the romaji is very distracting. I wish there was an option to turn off romaji so I can practice reading.

--

Response from Rocket Languages: The romanized version of the phrases can be toggled on/off under your profile.--

Kevin Johnson

Kevin Johnson

Rocket Chinese Mundelein / IL , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

I really like the format on the website. And I really like that it has a mobile app. However I travel a lot and the time I have most available to practice Chinese is when I am on a plane. You can download the MP3 files but I really wish the APP would allow you to cache the sections you are working on so they worked on a plane. Overall I think it is a good value. and I like the program but I just wish it was more tailored to working off line.