Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3399 Customer reviews

76.9%
15.5%
Sytske Vinkesteijn

Sytske Vinkesteijn

Rocket Spanish Den Haag , Netherlands

Submitted: 2 years ago

9 Likes

I like the way you have to talk. I have been trying to learn spanish fore a few years now, and I can understand a lot.
But when it comes to talking i got stuck.
Now after almost finishing the first module I see that I can answer the questions in the lessons not only repeating, but building new sentences with other words.
I am confident that I will learn to speak.

Terry Horan

Terry Horan

Rocket German SHEFFIELD , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 years ago

9 Likes

I like the interaction in the 'Play it' section but there are problems;

1. The programme frequently states that it has not heard my reply - despite that when I press playback my reply is very clearly there - this is very frustrating and time consuming.

2. The programme makes no allowance for a beginner taking time making a reply which inevitably takes a lot longer than a fluent speaker would take - this again is very frustrating and prevents making best use of the programme.

Bailey Ross

Bailey Ross

Rocket Korean Connecticut , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

9 Likes

As a completely new person to Korean, this course is not what I should have chosen to begin with. To be able to feel like you "completed" the lesson, you have to write things in a language they have not taught you yet! The lessons are too long and having to learn the "extras" to feel like you completed the material they were focusing on is also frustrating. I have no incentive to move through the material, because I feel like I can't even perfect the first few lessons!
The voice detection sometimes is very poor, which means saying the same thing fifty times at lightning speed to get credit for it. I like other programs for learning Korean better than this one. I might come back to it after I have a better foundation.

Response from Rocket Languages: The Write it! tests can (and probably should) be left until you are more comfortable doing them. In saying that we will look at how these Tests work for beginners. With regards voice detection, the best results are achieved with a headset mic, or using one of the apps.

Amber Kim

Amber Kim

Rocket Korean United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

9 Likes

I love that it uses phrases to teach the vocabulary and doesn't spend hours on learning individual letters. The ability to practice conversations and see how well you are pronouncing the foreign words is a great benefit.

Patrick Buerger

Patrick Buerger

Rocket German Richmond , Australia

Submitted: 3 years ago

9 Likes

Excellent course. I download the interactive audio lessons and practise in the car as I am driving. The only downside with this is that I do actually see the text. Doing the work on the website is very helpful. It is really helping me improve my German.

Cullan Lucas

Cullan Lucas

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

9 Likes

Rocket German managed to constantly keep me engaged where other programs failed. Usually I would lose interest about halfway (maybe even quarter way) through a program, but having the option of taking the audio lessons with me wherever I go gives me lots more options.

I can't recommend this program enough!

Leah Stevens

Leah Stevens

Rocket Russian Palomar Mountain / California , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

9 Likes

I absolutely LOVE Rocket Russian! I have tried so many other books, programs, cds, online tutorials, etc - and this is by far my favorite so far. I love that it uses a lot of repetition to build your foundation. I also love that it's not a monthly thing - but a lifetime subscription so I can take my time and not feel guilty about missing a day or two.
Great program! Love it! Thanks!!

Christina Autry

Christina Autry

Rocket Arabic Houston/TX , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

9 Likes

I'm so glad that I found this program (I saw it highly reviewed on a blog). I'm using it to learn Arabic, and I'm really impressed with all of the ways the program allows you to practice along the way. You spend a lot of time actually vocalizing the words rather than just reading them or hearing them. The program records your attempts at each word/sentence and rates your progress with each one (100%, 75%, 50%, 0%). You can easily go back to the words that you're struggling with to keep practicing them. The lessons are very helpful, and they list the important phrases below so you don't have to try and find them again in the larger recording. It's equally great on the desktop or the app. I first started using the (free) app and liked it so much that I bought the Level 1 Arabic, and definitely haven't regretted it!

Hillory Howell

Hillory Howell

Rocket Korean United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

9 Likes

I am a new user of Rocket Languages, and I am having a great time. For years I played around with the idea of learning the Korean language, but I had no idea how to take the first step. Rocket has given me the opportunity to study Korean at my own pace, without worrying about deadlines or expectations. I like the feel of being on a personal journey, since that was my expectation from the very beginning. Ultimately, I would like to become fluent in the language before I make my first trip to South Korea. I think that learning the language before hand would show locals respect when I communicate, and give them an idea of who I am as a foreigner in their country. I would like to make a good impression, for myself and for others.

I have not yet rated this program five stars, only because I have retained very little vocabulary in my first month. My lack of memory could be my own fault, because I don't have very much spare time on my hands to study for hours daily. However, I would like anyone reading this to know that Rocket Languages offers an amazing way to get your foot through the door. Please know that I am actively working to give more time and attention to my studies. I hope that by the end of this month, I will meet my initial goals.

Steven Wills

Steven Wills

Rocket Spanish Casablanca , Morocco

Submitted: 3 years ago

9 Likes

Rocket Languages has really been perfecting their approach to language acquisition with the Spanish Travelogue (and I have been through the other three levels). The course is wonderfully varied to keep me interested, and by the time I’ve finished a lesson, the phrases stick – and, most importantly, are useable. When I speak in Spanish to one of my Skype contacts about the lesson, I am speaking with a very competent level of fluency. What could be better than that?

Btw, the storyline describes an incredible trip through Latin America. I can’t wait to visit some of these places…