The Halloween 4-Day Sale
Apply coupon: HALLOWEEN

Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3581 Customer reviews

76.6% (2743)

15.7% (563)

4.8% (171)

2.0% (73)

0.9% (31)

Amy Wagner

Amy Wagner

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

8 Likes

Cannot get ahold of the support team and cannot sign in from the public library for free lessons since I already signed up for a trial account. Completely unacceptable. Would like for them to delete my email so I could possibly have access from the library system, but it is impossible to get ahold any one!

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Amy - We're sorry to hear you couldn't get hold of us. Our Customer Support Team has now sent you a follow-up message to solve any issues you are having.

Random Dude

Random Dude

Rocket French Alabama , Zimbabwe

Submitted: 11 months ago

7 Likes

Hey guys I totally recommend this website to you.
THIS WEBSITE WILL MAKE YOU BECOME FRENCH MASTER IN 5 MINUTES.

Cecilia PIRIZ

Cecilia PIRIZ

Rocket Italian New Jersey , United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

5 Likes

I didn't like the program. It's mostly translating into English. I spent more time listening to the dialogue in English than Italian. Even the Italian girl speaks more English than Italian. A waste of time and money

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Cecilia - Thanks for your feedback. There is a fair amount of English in the first lessons as the Italian usage needs to be explained. As you progress to higher levels there is less English, and in fact the Rocket Italian Travelogues are very conversational with the audio available in 100% Italian.

Jennifer Layton

Jennifer Layton

Rocket Spanish Morrisville, NC , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

5 Likes

I've been using the Rocket Spanish for 53 days, and while it has some good points, it's not an effective program for learning Spanish. The co-host, Mauricio, does not speak clearly enough for a beginner to understand, and there are some times when he is clearly not saying the sentence that is on the screen. I might recommend this program for business travelers, since that is mainly what the lessons are about (getting a hotel, booking a flight, ordering in a restaurant), but even then, you won't become fluent. You will just learn what you need to know to get around in that country. I've just requested a refund.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Jennifer - Thanks for your feedback. Getting to grips with hearing and understanding a new language can take a while, and has proven to be very person dependent. I would recommend that you listen to a Spanish radio station while you are at work or commuting. It will help you get used to the rhythm of Spanish and make Mauricio easier to understand! Of course, your refund will be processed asap!

ivan hou

ivan hou

Rocket French bc , Canada

Submitted: 3 months ago

4 Likes

what is this language learning program. it is terrible. im saying the right things but it thinks im wrong.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Ivan - It's likely that your microphone hasn't been set up correctly, as we have had no other reported issues of the voice recognition not working. I would recommend checking out our FAQs and/or contacting customer support with details of your system.

Miki Martel

Miki Martel

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 2 months ago

2 Likes

I received Rocket Italian as an xmas gift at my request after my old version of Rosetta Stone Italian became outdated and unusable. It has been a major disappointment and is so frustrating I've turned to the free version of Duolingo instead. All the cutesy little exchanges between "Alex" and "Maria" are infantile and a waste of time. So much time is wasted in these courses. It's hard enough to find time to study a foreign language without all this useless filler. Unfortunately between medical issues and Covid, I just recently started to use this software so I am beyond the 60 day return/refund window. I feel badly that my husband wasted all this money on this terrible app. Save your money and use Duolingo or if you want a real program go to Rosetta stone.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Miki - The first level (featuring Alex and Maria) is a beginners level, so the amount of Italian introduced is gradual with lots of explanations in English. As you progress through the lessons/levels the amount of Italian gets greater and more advanced.

Devin Byrne

Devin Byrne

Rocket French Canada

Submitted: 4 months ago

1 Likes

I couldn't use this software because it is boring and simple. it hurts to use it.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Devin - I am sorry to hear that you feel that way. Have you had a look at the latest version with the all new layout?

Hannah Kittell

Hannah Kittell

Rocket Korean United States

Submitted: 5 months ago

1 Likes

I hate to write this, but the English guide's strange midcentury Boston brahmin accent is so distracting that I cannot hear the Korean being spoken. Aside from the strange English, the phrases used for study are very long and not broken up into memorizable parts, and there is no option to not include the very long and unnecessary "extra vocab" from the audio in the flashcards and other study.
Overall this seems to be teaching canned phrases to be stored in short-term memory, rather than starting out small and forming a true understanding of the language for long-term learning. This might be good if you're visiting Korea for a short period and need to parrot some emergency phrases, but I may have to look elsewhere to actually learn to understand Korean. Pretty disappointed in how much money I spent.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Hannah, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy aspects of Rocket Korean. Did you use the "Play it!" activities? They are designed to get you speaking Korean in conversations. If you turn off the voice recognition then you can "make up" conversations.

Gerd Lorenz

Gerd Lorenz

Rocket Spanish Toronto , Canada

Submitted: 5 months ago

0 Likes

I have a Macbook pro OS Catalina 10.15.4, Firefox, AND NO I do NOT want to use Chrome, Level 1, Rocket Languages Lesson 5.9, Activity:Hear it - Say it = while clicking on the "Play" button I cannot hear what I am supposed to record. Even after recording something I cannot hear what I recorded. While at the same time the activity "Flash Cards" as well as the activity "Write It" and the activity "Know It" is working perfectly fine. Therefore it can only be a bug in your software at this point in the activity "Hear It - Say It”. After trying Chrome it did not work either.

There are obviously ongoing problems with the audio since 2019 as seen on other comments (now while I was doing the certification in Module 5) ) and no one seems to be able or willing to take car of these issues. I am extremely disappointed.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Gerd, Lesson 5.9 has been fixed. With the new update some of the phraseboxes in that lesson stopped working as they should. Also, if you are using a Mac then we would recommend the Safari browser. Firefox does not support voice recognition. Firefox has said that it is coming but they have been saying that for 5 years!

Scott Wooldridge

Scott Wooldridge

Rocket Spanish Oklahoma , United States

Submitted: 5 months ago

0 Likes

I paid for the Spanish course and received nothing

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Scott - It looks like you ordered with a different email address to the one you used to set up your account. Customer support have sorted it out and have emailed you.