The Independence Day 4-Day Sale
Apply coupon: JULY4

Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3424 Customer reviews

Andrea Bishop

Andrea Bishop

Rocket German

Submitted: 3+ years ago

8 Likes

I am having a lot of fun with Rocket German, and next, Rocket Spanish. This program is pretty great. I hope lots of people make use of it. Other programs I have tried did not compare.

Leo Giertz

Leo Giertz

Rocket Italian Stockholm , Sweden

Submitted: 1 year ago

7 Likes

The guy, Alex, in the Italian course comes across as a somewhat of a douche. He tries to be funny by pretending to flirt with the co host, Maria, but it just feels awkward. It might just be me, but I would prefer if they just sticked to the language material.

Vandon R.

Vandon R.

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

I have 3 previous French courses (Premium, Premium Plus, and Platinum). I have been extremely satisfied with them; I listen to the audio lessons all of the time to increase my comprehension of spoken French. I purchased the Travelogue package and have been very disappointed that the audio is in English. Without being able to listen to the entire lesson in French, it completely takes away the audio experience and turns it into just a series of exercises to be completed. Is there any way to change the audio portion into French, instead of the woman reading the lesson in English?

Response from Rocket Languages: A French narrative will be in the Rocket French Travelogue series by the end of the year! (Update 2018: The Rocket French Travelogues now have the full script available in French as well as English, and French and English audio versions that you can use much like the Interactive Audio course tracks)

Martin Deehan

Martin Deehan

Rocket Italian CA

Submitted: 3+ years ago

7 Likes

Sorry I am very disappointed. I have tried to download using my mac so that I can transfer and listen & learn while driving to work. I cannot download anything even following the mac instructions by using Control click. There is no downloading option!!!

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Martin - This feature has now been added to the Rocket Languages iOS and Android apps!

MICHAEL SLOAN

MICHAEL SLOAN

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 2 months ago

6 Likes

Overall, definitely gets you "speaking" quite a bit. The great majority of this, however, is just rote copying of what was just heard. Regurgitation, not processing and internalizing. The rest is straight translation, which in my opinion is a far inferior way to learn a language. A good number of lessons use words/phrases/tenses that have never been discussed and are simply not explained. There are quite a few glitches with speech recognition, especially regarding numbers and accent marks. The material is HEAVILY focused on travel, which I get makes some sense if you're learning Spanish in order to travel, but I suspect a large number of people are like me, learning Spanish to use in everyday life. May just be a US bias though, where Spanish can be very useful almost everywhere.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michael - Thanks for your review. There are differing viewpoints on what is the best way to learn a language and I am sure that it is different for different people. In our case, we try to provide a very comprehensive course that covers a variety of learning styles. On a side note; there has been an issue with the numbers returned from voice recognition not matching as they should, even if it was pronounced correctly. We are looking into that!

Megan Van Alstine

Megan Van Alstine

Rocket Italian Canada

Submitted: 1 year ago

6 Likes

I enjoy the conversations that Rocket Italian is based on, but as a language instructor that uses strictly immersion techniques, I can't stand the amount of English that is in each lesson. There is SO much room for additional vocab that could be taught through the use of more exclusive Italian. It makes me frustrated to waste so much time on English banter. I am really struggling to make use of this course.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Megan - Thanks for your review. There is undoubtedly a lot of explanation in Level 1 of Rocket Italian. If the material is too easy then we would swap you out to a higher level that has much less English in it!

Nicholas Pellerin

Nicholas Pellerin

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

6 Likes

I was astonished by the sexism and gender stereotypes, there were even lessons about the nativity. I wanted to share these lessons with my partner, who is more advanced than me, but I was too embarrassed, and some lessons were unlistenable for me, due to these problems.

Also, the lessons themselves tend to just ask you to repeat what you have heard, and only occasionally challenge the listener to take what they've learned in the lesson an actually apply it to make new sentences.

On a positive note I was pleased that the instructors would often add multiple ways of saying things.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Nicholas - Thanks for your feedback, and we will take that onboard at our annual review of course content. Certainly the stereotyping is an issue we are looking at, even though a lot of these attitudes are still prevalent in South American culture. As is Christianity, hence the nativity lessons.

Sarah Parker

Sarah Parker

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

6 Likes

My review is of Rocket Languages Sign Language. Someone who is just beginning to learn sign language has no hope of following your lessons because you sign too fast. Much too fast!

It's okay to have a fast version, as long as a slow version is included. Someone who is just beginning to learn ASL can't follow when your hands move that fast.

You need to fix this.

Response from Rocket Languages: Recently, we had to re-render all 3,000 videos to work on the apps, and in doing so it looks like the half-speed functionality has been overwritten. We will look at getting that back asap. (Update 2019: This has been resolved! Half-speed is back!)

Colby Distaso

Colby Distaso

Rocket Italian

Submitted: 3+ years ago

6 Likes

this program sucks, its not even functional and makes you restart whole lessons because it cant even save your answers. DO NOT BUY IT!!!!! Use something else, its loading times are horrible. The content is good but you cant even load the page and save your answers so theirs no use in the content!!!!! :(

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Colby - This was a bug, it is now fixed!

Kimberly  Alston

Kimberly Alston

Rocket Spanish Asheboro

Submitted: 3+ years ago

6 Likes

I love rocket language because i learn a whole lot i am 11 years old and i went to this web site because I've been wanting to learn Spanish and know i now Spanish, so gracious/ thank you for helping me learn Spanish so adios/goodbye p.s i was commended to go to this web site by this girl named Sharon foster from YouTube.