Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3424 Customer reviews

Sarah Wiley

Sarah Wiley

Rocket French Tampa, FL , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

I am finding the program difficult to use. I cannot access the written or quiz sections. It is also a problem trying to access the subsequent module. I wish I had purchased only Level 1. The opportunity to listen and have my pronunciation corrected is appreciated but I would like to be able to access the rest of the module segments.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Sarah - That is a strange thing to have had happen. Can you please contact customer support if it persists and we will get to the bottom of it.

Kat X

Kat X

Rocket German Burlingame, CA , United States

Submitted: 5 days ago

2 Likes

I could not get past the incredibly annoying woman with her fingernails-on-chalkboard voice. The squeaking, the overemphatic emoting, the inane chatter and the off-putting accent have driven me away from this program in the first 5 minutes.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Kat; I am sorry to hear that you didn't gel with our Rocket German presenter. We are actually close to releasing an all new interactive audio course for Rocket German, with all new voices!

Mark Bonaccorso

Mark Bonaccorso

Rocket French France

Submitted: 2 months ago

2 Likes

Overall the course has some good points and some not so good,

The good is the audio course, I am not sure how far it can get you towards fluency but every little helps and the course does present information well. I found the banter a tad annoying at first but its grown on me and I have come accross stuff that i havent seen elsewhere. My feeling is that it will get you no further than basic communication and that michel thomas method is far better, as is pimsleur and paul noble. I think their methods get you speaking and understanding more effectively and more quickly; that said this is a good supplement to other learning systems.

The bad for me is the grammer section. It is basically just explanations that could have come from any text book but without excersises that support the material very well. I think for what they are doing here a textbook is a better option, its cheaper and you will get better reinforcement of the lessons. In fact the quizes attached seem completely irrelevant and are just vocab memorization.

The quizzes for the most part are just dull to be honest.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Mark - Thanks for the detailed review. Rocket French is going to be re-examined soon, especially with regards to the quizzes.

Omri Ulanovski

Omri Ulanovski

Rocket Italian Israel

Submitted: 2 months ago

2 Likes

Overall seems like a good program, but when using the app or browser from the phone the audio recorder doesn’t work.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there; it looks like you have been using the Safari browser on your iPhone. While our courses work on Safari on a desktop computer, for an iPhone we recommend using the Rocket Languages iOS app.

Carolyn Bross

Carolyn Bross

Rocket Italian New Jersey , United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

2 Likes

I like the program, though it goes VERY slowly and each unit is terribly long. But the biggest problem is that after working for awhle on a unit it crashes and I get a message saying "aw snap, something went wrong". This happens every day

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Carolyn - Thanks for submitting this review. Marie from our Customer Support Team has contacted you to solve the problems you're having.

Tom Ramer

Tom Ramer

Rocket Japanese Okinawa , Japan

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

Very disappointed in this product. Trial was very good. Purchased Step #1 with coupon. Have not received access nor response to my many emails. Feel like I was suckered. Again Free Trial very good. Enticing once paid nothing. Again maybe a glitch. No response from Customer Service opens the door for negative assumptions

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Tom - Thanks a lot for your feedback. Our Customer Support Team has contacted you to get your access sorted.

Russell Fowler

Russell Fowler

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

Overall a good course - perhaps a few too many bells and whistles. In the French course the instructor needs to speak MUCH more slowly and enunciate more clearly. Speaking too fast, especially in the early stages, does NOT provide the student with proper pronunciation. It may be the way many French people speak day to day, but you need to learn the proper way to say things before speaking rapidly. I speak some French and what I'm hearing is not clear for a new student to learn properly.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Russell - It usually does take some time for ears to be trained to a new language. It can be a good idea to listen to a French radio station during the day to help with this process.

Stephen Andrew

Stephen Andrew

Rocket French Arlington, MA , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

I have used Rosetta Stone and Berlitz in the past to become comfortable with Italian and German before trips. I found both of those much easier than Rocket. The English accent of the narrator makes it hard to follow, and the pace is very slow, which leads me to get distracted mid-lesson.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Stephen - I am sorry to hear that Rocket French isn't for you. We do of course have a 60 day money back guarantee if you don't like it. Just contact customer support!

Bruce Williams

Bruce Williams

Rocket French Santa Monica, CA , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

Nothing "awesome" to say. I thought you wanted my honest, candid feedback. Still waiting for help on the problem of inserting special characters in the writing practice section of lessons. Rocket told me I must wait two to four days.

I get the impression Rocket also doesn't teach grammar either—at least not overtly. Disappointing.

What's your return policy?

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bruce - The special character issue on Rocket French "Write it!" exercises has been resolved by adding in special keys for the French characters. Grammar is taught extensively in the Language and Culture lessons, did you see those? And, finally, if you decide that it's not for you then we have a 60 day full money back guarantee. Just contact customer support.

Carl Mounteer

Carl Mounteer

Rocket Italian Pacific Grove, California , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

2 Likes

My overall impression of the level 1 program is that, with the exception of vocabulary, and the present tense, Rocket Italian Level 1 is very weak on teaching the student Italian grammar. An example of this is the use of prepositions. These seem to pop up everywhere with no explanation as to the rules governing their use (like the use of "di" which has at least 15 different meanings!), Level 1 aggravates this problem by frequently giving you lengthy Italian phrases in th flash cards & the "Know It" section to memorize. These contain grammatical structures that are never addressed in the course. Also, it makes no provision for different responses that the student may have translated correctly even though it is different from the translation in the course.

I would suggest they introduce a grammatical rule give some examples, & and then drills on that rule. The drills would also incorporate review of a verb tense. This would reinforce the latter and help us master both until they become second nature.

Instead, we waste enormous amounts of time memorizing lengthy sentences with no idea of the grammatical rules which govern the sentences. These are sentences which we will never use and quickly forget.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Carl - Thanks for the feedback. We will be conducting a full review of Rocket Italian and will definitely take your comments into account.