The Learn From Home 4-Day Sale
Apply coupon: HOME60

Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3446 Customer reviews

Carl Mounteer

Carl Mounteer

Rocket Italian Pacific Grove, California , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

2 Likes

My overall impression of the level 1 program is that, with the exception of vocabulary, and the present tense, Rocket Italian Level 1 is very weak on teaching the student Italian grammar. An example of this is the use of prepositions. These seem to pop up everywhere with no explanation as to the rules governing their use (like the use of "di" which has at least 15 different meanings!), Level 1 aggravates this problem by frequently giving you lengthy Italian phrases in th flash cards & the "Know It" section to memorize. These contain grammatical structures that are never addressed in the course. Also, it makes no provision for different responses that the student may have translated correctly even though it is different from the translation in the course.

I would suggest they introduce a grammatical rule give some examples, & and then drills on that rule. The drills would also incorporate review of a verb tense. This would reinforce the latter and help us master both until they become second nature.

Instead, we waste enormous amounts of time memorizing lengthy sentences with no idea of the grammatical rules which govern the sentences. These are sentences which we will never use and quickly forget.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Carl - Thanks for the feedback. We will be conducting a full review of Rocket Italian and will definitely take your comments into account.

Iza Azi

Iza Azi

Rocket Hindi Belgium

Submitted: 24 days ago

1 Likes

Inconsistent and confusing !
The progression of difficulty in lessons is VERY problematic and not well though !
Sudden long chains of complex unknown words that you have to repeat during the gap which is often too short for long sentences even when you know them by heart.
Followed by obvious 2-word sentences you have seen and heard 5 times already.
Then back to a complex sentence filled with new words.
And not so much audio content in between.
Too expensive for that kind of inconsistency.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Iza - Unlike some more popular languages, there is no set way of learning Hindi (everyone seems to have a different opinion on how it could/should be done). It probably has to do with it being a dialect, which means there isn't necessarily a lot of uniformity when it comes to some words and phrases. We revamped Rocket Hindi at the start of 2020 and I feel that it is one of the best Hindi courses that you will find.

Andrew Dawson

Andrew Dawson

Rocket Japanese Manchester , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 months ago

1 Likes

I have found Rocket Japanese to be useful, and frustrating in about equal measures. The voice-recognition is a great idea in helping perfect your pronunciation. Unfortunately I find that about 20% of the time (I haven't kept a count, this is a rough estimate) it simply doesn't work. Either your phrase is not recognised, or deemed incorrect. As a beginner, not knowing if it is you, or the software that is the problem can be insanely frustrating. It doesn't appear to be the longer sentences that suffer from this. The very first sounds we are asked to repeat are riddled with examples. After 3 months it still tells me I can't pronounce 'ka'.
I have finally been prompted to write this because the system tells me I cannot pronounce 'America jin' correctly. Clearly this is an almost native sound to an English speaker, but I mimic the example exactly to no avail. I can forgive these issues, although there are other minor complaints. I have also reported some mistakes in the text, but they remain unchanged. Personally I find that the audio lessons are rather childish, and would be happier if we just got on with the lesson, but I recognise that might just be me being grumpy.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Andrew, thanks for the detailed feedback. Unfortunately, very short words tend not to work very well with voice recognition as they don't have a lot of context. With regards the lessons themselves, we are in the process of completely redoing the Language & Culture lessons and hope to have those up in the next couple of months. Unfortunately, the pandemic has put a halt to a lot of our activities.

Min so hu

Min so hu

Rocket Korean Gampaha , Sri Lanka

Submitted: 3 months ago

1 Likes

Kam sam ni da.its very useful.i would like to recommend this to my frind.also keep up your good work .add some more lessons.can you plese write a article about korean universities and degrees.plese ......finally ...kam sam ni da.

NUNYA BUSINESS

NUNYA BUSINESS

Rocket French WHY , Angola

Submitted: 11 months ago

1 Likes

UMMMMM FIRST OF ALL IT WON'T LET ME DO OTHER LESSONS BECAUSE I'M JUST DOING THE FREE PART - IT ADVERTISES THAT IT'S FREE - A COMPLETE TRICK!!!! OUTRAGEOUS! IT DOESN'T TEACH YOU PROPERLY - IT TELLS YOU TO REPEAT THE STATEMENT/QUESTION AND THAT'S IT!!! NOTHING ELSE! I AM VERY UNSATISFIED WITH THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE AND WOULD RECOMMEND NOT LEARNING FRENCH FROM THIS HORRIBLE WEBSITE - I WOULD SUGGEST NOT EVEN LOOKING AT THIS WEBSITE!!! A SCAM, I TELL YOU!

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there - It does say that it's a free trial with sample lessons! I am not sure how that constitutes a scam!

kesaobaka kooreng

kesaobaka kooreng

Rocket French Gaborone , Botswana

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

Rocket Languages is an excellent way to learn a language . It opens you up to how you can pronounce the language through following the tutor. I enjoy the bit where you have to write because it is a good practice to know the words and how to pronounce them. I also like the flash cards because they enable you to pronounce and get to hear if you are doing it properly. My favorite is the quiz because it gives me the opportunity to show that I understand what I have been learning. I like Rocket Languages to an extend that I will not hesitate to recommend it to anyone willing to try it. I enjoy it when it also corrects spelling to show you where you went wrong right away.

Mark Judd

Mark Judd

Rocket French United Kingdom

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

The grading system is all over the place. They have a colour coded system that is meant to reflect proficiency but it patently doesn't correspond with any of the lessons. I completed all the modules available, everything was correct but the colour coded system gave me 1 green tick and 4 yellow symbols. It makes no sense.

I asked for an explanation for this but the response made little sense too.

I think somewhere in the Rocket system is a great app waiting to break out but it is currently too cumbersome which is a pity.

They ask users to write something awesome, they are assuming people think the app is awesome when it isn't yet.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Mark - Thanks for the feedback. The app has been completely updated as of 2019, so any glitchy behavior is hopefully sorted out!

Susie Seiler

Susie Seiler

Rocket Japanese Tokyo , Japan

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

Rocket Japanese: it's been two (April 14.) months since the Rocket Language app for iOS has been updated and since I am not able to use it anymore as it is not possible to write in hiragana/katakana anymore. I contacted support, got (after days - and weeks) assurance that it will be taken care of - yet the "bug" update 2 weeks ago did not address any of my clearly communicated (screenshots and screenvideo) problems. If you work on iOS (iPhoneX & iPad Pro, latest firmware) do not download this app - it is NOT working as advertised.
A word to the support... promising an update and therefore a working app might "quiet" the user but it is contraproductive to take no action at all.
I'll be happy to re-review my feedback once I am able to use the app again. Until then... 1 star.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Susie - We were having an issue with the length of time that it takes for an app to get approved by Apple (up to a week), which meant that any bugs took a while to get sorted. Apple have been working to reduce this time, especially for minor bug fixes.

Bernard Swartz

Bernard Swartz

Rocket French Yakima, WA , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

I was very happy with the program until the new format. The functionality when using an iPad has significantly deteriorated. In particular, I am unhappy with now being unable to replay pronunciation in order to compare with the speaker. My voice recordings are frequently cut off in mid-phrase. Basically, the program is no longer user friendly for people owning iPads. I no longer will recommend this program to my friends. In fact I am traveling to Europe this summer with some friends and I have told them to find another program. We are going to brush up on different languages prior to traveling.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bernard - I am sorry to hear about the issues you have been having. We have updated the iOS app, so this sort of behavior shouldn't be happening now. Please contact customer support if you continue to have issues.

Elaine Taylor

Elaine Taylor

Rocket Spanish Mississauga

Submitted: 3+ years ago

1 Likes

I've been looking for an interactive program to teach me Spanish... and Rocket Languages fits the bill! It's easy to use, cheaper than the competition and fits my learning style. Can't ask for more!