Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3497 Customer reviews

Dara Hayes

Dara Hayes

Rocket Korean

Submitted: 3+ years ago

9 Likes

I'm an intermediate beginner learner and I got Rocket Korean in hopes that it would advance my level at a quicker pace than using a text book. What I have found is that it takes just as long if not two times as long to complete a lesson on here but when I do have time it is a very thorough, effective way to learn.

Maha  Alotaibi

Maha Alotaibi

Rocket Arabic

Submitted: 3+ years ago

9 Likes

It is such a good program but the problem the language it self it is not main arabic, it is an accent, it is only used in Egypt. if it was a classic arabic it will be more way better. because if people understand the classic arabic by the time it will be easy for them to understand any other accent. but with Egyptian accent they only can use it in Egypt and they will had a weak chance to understand any other arabian.

Carol reeves

Carol reeves

Rocket Spanish IN , United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

8 Likes

I have been using Rocket Spanish for a while now, beginning with the second level, then, when I realized it was too advanced, moving back to level 1.

Overall, it has been very helpful to me. I like practicing the conversations, and once I got my microphone to work, the voice activities were great.

However, there are a few issues. First, until just recently, you were able to flag vocabulary words as you moved through a lesson that would then be stored in your saved vocabulary. But now I can't do that. I've reported the problem and have heard nothing back.

I did not get a "deal" when I joined, so I paid full price, which was a bit high compared to other programs.

Alexandre Coutu

Alexandre Coutu

Rocket Hindi Manitoba , Canada

Submitted: 1 year ago

8 Likes

I am now working on the 3rd module of the Hindi course, so I've tested the programme a fair bit. Hindi must be about the 20th language I study, so I have some idea of what learning a language is about.

While I enjoy the app, the format, the light-heartedness of the dialogues and voice actors, I am frustrated by a number of things.

First of all, there are too many typos for a language course. As a learner, I shouldn't be left wondering what's going on, only to realize later that it was a typo. There are too many weird things happening, like odd or irregular translations, plurals instead of singulars, the female voice actor reading a first-person response in the masculine, etc. All this gets in the way of the otherwise fun topics and voice actors. It adds confusion to an already difficult process.

Second, I disagree with the general principle that the student should just repeat without understanding. I'm fine with putting emphasis on the carelessness of "just repeat and you'll eventually get it", and it does remove pressure from the student to perform, but there are grammatical questions that need to be explained (even with some simple additional written material), and to leave it to chance, frankly, just feels lazy.

Read More

Jac Damen

Jac Damen

Rocket Korean Seoul , Korea, Republic of

Submitted: 1 year ago

8 Likes

I would like to learn Korean on my different devices, Mac, iPad and MS Surface, but I have no clue, how the program remembers how far I had already advanced on one device, when I continue with another. There is apparently no way to log in with my ID and Password, so that the program knows who I am. This feature probably exist, but it is difficult to find out where and how.

Note from Rocket Languages: Hi Jac, thanks for your feedback. Someone of our customer support team has reached out to you to solve this issue. All the best with your Korean learning! Your Rocket Languages Team

Megan Paterson

Megan Paterson

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

8 Likes

Well, this is not awesome, actually. Just a couple of things.
1) First of all I am very pleased with the product overall. I don't have much to compare it to as it is the first time I have purchased a language program. But I did sign up for trial periods for several and I thought Rocket was the best overall. So I am pleased.

2) However, I acted too quickly to purchase during my trial period because only 2 days after making my purchase the product went on sale. I called customer service twice (never got to talk to a real person either time) and had to leave a message as there was no one to answer the phone. I wanted to see if I could get the sale price. To this day I still have not gotten a call back. So...kinda disappointed in the customer service actually. Maybe next time I won't act so quickly. : /

John P

John P

Rocket Chinese United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

8 Likes

So the program is pretty decent. Using Rocket will definitely increase proficiency. The most frustrating part of the platform by far is the new voice recording system -it's extremely slow and very un-responsive. It slows down the whole learning process. Customer service is cumbersome process but based on the cost of the program, it's not fair to expect that much.

Lynn Simoneau

Lynn Simoneau

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

8 Likes

I experienced the free trial of American Sign Language and was disappointed. Almost half of every video available would not work, despite reloading the page or backing up and proceeding forward to the pain I had not seen before – but nothing worked. As a result, I was unable to take advantage of a significant portion of the testing. In relation to the testing, I did not see any attempts to help the student realize their error in signing or recommend A reminder when a test question was wrong. I looked at the subject matter and chapters for all the first course for ASL and felt that The price was way too high for what little was being covered relative to the price.

I sincerely hope that these matters anymore are reviewed, reevaluated, expanded and corrected.

Thank you,
Lynn Simoneau

Tanya Hollingshead

Tanya Hollingshead

Rocket French Canada

Submitted: 3 years ago

8 Likes

I tired the free trial for Rocket Languages as I was a bit skeptical. I really enjoyed the free trial. Its a great way to immerse yourself into the French language. I went ahead and bought all three levels! So far I am still in the early stages of level one but everything is going smoothly. I can't wait to use what I have learnt when I go to France to visit my boyfriend.

John Northrop

John Northrop

Rocket French York , United Kingdom

Submitted: 3 years ago

8 Likes

On the plus side:
• I like the way grammatical rules are discussed in understandable, laymans’ terms
• It’s easy to learn/revise words and phrases
• It’s easy to develop your listening skills to understand what people are saying and its easy to develop skills in identifying what to say

But there is room for improvement:
• Speech recognition needs improvement
o Gives some poor pronunciation 100%, but doesn’t recognise closer attempts
o When sentences are long it often cuts you off
o Often (every session) crashes for no reason and you have to log in again
• Its easy to put all your effort into reading and writing – rather than developing listening and speaking skills