Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4201 Customer reviews

76.8% (3225)

15.7% (659)

4.7% (197)

2.0% (85)

0.8% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order by:

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Min so hu

Rocket Korean Gampaha , Sri Lanka

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

Kam sam ni da.its very useful.i would like to recommend this to my frind.also keep up your good work .add some more lessons.can you plese write a article about korean universities and degrees.plese ......finally ...kam sam ni da.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Mark Bonaccorso

Rocket French France

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

Overall the course has some good points and some not so good,

The good is the audio course, I am not sure how far it can get you towards fluency but every little helps and the course does present information well. I found the banter a tad annoying at first but its grown on me and I have come accross stuff that i havent seen elsewhere. My feeling is that it will get you no further than basic communication and that michel thomas method is far better, as is pimsleur and paul noble. I think their methods get you speaking and understanding more effectively and more quickly; that said this is a good supplement to other learning systems.

The bad for me is the grammer section. It is basically just explanations that could have come from any text book but without excersises that support the material very well. I think for what they are doing here a textbook is a better option, its cheaper and you will get better reinforcement of the lessons. In fact the quizes attached seem completely irrelevant and are just vocab memorization.

The quizzes for the most part are just dull to be honest.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Mark - Thanks for the detailed review. Rocket French is going to be re-examined soon, especially with regards to the quizzes.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Omri Ulanovski

Rocket Italian Israel

Submitted: 1 year ago

3 Likes

Overall seems like a good program, but when using the app or browser from the phone the audio recorder doesn’t work.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there; it looks like you have been using the Safari browser on your iPhone. While our courses work on Safari on a desktop computer, for an iPhone we recommend using the Rocket Languages iOS app.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

MICHAEL SLOAN

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

6 Likes

Overall, definitely gets you "speaking" quite a bit. The great majority of this, however, is just rote copying of what was just heard. Regurgitation, not processing and internalizing. The rest is straight translation, which in my opinion is a far inferior way to learn a language. A good number of lessons use words/phrases/tenses that have never been discussed and are simply not explained. There are quite a few glitches with speech recognition, especially regarding numbers and accent marks. The material is HEAVILY focused on travel, which I get makes some sense if you're learning Spanish in order to travel, but I suspect a large number of people are like me, learning Spanish to use in everyday life. May just be a US bias though, where Spanish can be very useful almost everywhere.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michael - Thanks for your review. There are differing viewpoints on what is the best way to learn a language and I am sure that it is different for different people. In our case, we try to provide a very comprehensive course that covers a variety of learning styles. On a side note; there has been an issue with the numbers returned from voice recognition not matching as they should, even if it was pronounced correctly. We are looking into that!

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Julie Sharp

Rocket Spanish United Kingdom

Submitted: 1 year ago

5 Likes

Tried the 7 day free trial, didn't work very well so not confident to purchase ,

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Julie - I am sorry to hear that it wasn't for you. If there was a technical issue then please contact customer support!

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Keith Manaton

Rocket French West Sussex , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

Very disappointed. I bought this primarily for verbal skills & to be confident to talk the language. The voice recognition software for all devices is dreadful. It is woefully inadequate & buggy.
Aside there aren’t any repeat reinforcements in the lessons & each one is loaded with ‘additional’ vocabulary which confuses the core lesson.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Keith - There was an issue with voice recognition, which has now been resolved. We do recommend, if you are using a desktop/laptop, a headset microphone for best results.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Warren Russell

Rocket Chinese Springville, UT , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

5 Likes

Seeing all the rave reviews makes me wonder if there's something wrong with me. I am not a linguistic novice; I am a native speaker of English but a fluent speaker of Korean, I majored in linguistics in graduate school, and I've studied several languages both in university classes and on my own. But I'm having a hard time making any progress in Rocket Chinese. Eleven- or twelve-morpheme sentences are just too long for a beginner in the language. And while Lin Ping's spoken examples are very clear and easy to understand, David always sounds like his mouth is full of food and everything runs together. (I'm sure his Chinese is very good, but Chinese itself tends to sound like that to start with. It's just really frustrating.)

I bought the complete premium course and am wondering if I made a terrible decision.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Warren - Thanks for your feedback. We have actually just released ( Dec 2019) new Language & Culture lessons for Rocket Chinese that start out in a more straightforward way. Not only that, we have replaced Davids parts in the audio with a native speaker!

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Michele Balistreri

Rocket Japanese Russian Federation

Submitted: 2 years ago

9 Likes

My feelings with this course are quite mixed. On one hand, there is a lot of material and you pick up useful phrases from the very start. On the other hand there are several issues which in the long run are quite frustrating especially in the testing part

1) Apart from the Quiz section, everything else is clearly automatically generated from the material. This means you can have the same word repeated 2 or 3 times. In the "Know it" part there are cases where you cannot know what to say because two words have the same english translation (tourist).
2) Speech recognition is frustrating. It stops listening while you are talking, sometimes it doesn't want to recognize what you say no matter what (I even tried playing back the native audio from my phone near to the computer microphone, and it didn't even recognize the native speaker!) and sometimes it says 100% even if you mess up a few syllabes.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michele - Thanks for the detailed review. Rocket Japanese is due for a full review in 2020. Most of the issues that you mention will be sorted out at that stage. As far as speech recognition goes, we recommend a headset microphone for best results, or the iOS/Android app.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Carolyn Bross

Rocket Italian New Jersey , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

I like the program, though it goes VERY slowly and each unit is terribly long. But the biggest problem is that after working for awhle on a unit it crashes and I get a message saying "aw snap, something went wrong". This happens every day

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Carolyn - Thanks for submitting this review. Marie from our Customer Support Team has contacted you to solve the problems you're having.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

NUNYA BUSINESS

Rocket French WHY , Angola

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

UMMMMM FIRST OF ALL IT WON'T LET ME DO OTHER LESSONS BECAUSE I'M JUST DOING THE FREE PART - IT ADVERTISES THAT IT'S FREE - A COMPLETE TRICK!!!! OUTRAGEOUS! IT DOESN'T TEACH YOU PROPERLY - IT TELLS YOU TO REPEAT THE STATEMENT/QUESTION AND THAT'S IT!!! NOTHING ELSE! I AM VERY UNSATISFIED WITH THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE AND WOULD RECOMMEND NOT LEARNING FRENCH FROM THIS HORRIBLE WEBSITE - I WOULD SUGGEST NOT EVEN LOOKING AT THIS WEBSITE!!! A SCAM, I TELL YOU!

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there - It does say that it's a free trial with sample lessons! I am not sure how that constitutes a scam!