Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4201 Customer reviews

76.8% (3225)

15.7% (659)

4.7% (197)

2.0% (85)

0.8% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order by:

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Stephen Andrew

Rocket French Arlington, MA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

2 Likes

I have used Rosetta Stone and Berlitz in the past to become comfortable with Italian and German before trips. I found both of those much easier than Rocket. The English accent of the narrator makes it hard to follow, and the pace is very slow, which leads me to get distracted mid-lesson.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Stephen - I am sorry to hear that Rocket French isn't for you. We do of course have a 60 day money back guarantee if you don't like it. Just contact customer support!

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Natalie Jacques

Rocket French New Zealand

Submitted: 3 years ago

4 Likes

I am taking the French course but I find the man talks way too much in English with annoying 'jokes'. Sorry but listening to him makes it difficult for me to continue and I loose interest. Over half the lessons are in translated English or him talking.The price for the course is good and I haven't had to use customer service to comment.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Natalie - The beginner (Level 1) course does have a reasonable amount of English as things need to be explained! In the higher levels there is less English. If you wish to swap levels then please let us know!

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Bruce Williams

Rocket French Santa Monica, CA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

2 Likes

Nothing "awesome" to say. I thought you wanted my honest, candid feedback. Still waiting for help on the problem of inserting special characters in the writing practice section of lessons. Rocket told me I must wait two to four days.

I get the impression Rocket also doesn't teach grammar either—at least not overtly. Disappointing.

What's your return policy?

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bruce - The special character issue on Rocket French "Write it!" exercises has been resolved by adding in special keys for the French characters. Grammar is taught extensively in the Language and Culture lessons, did you see those? And, finally, if you decide that it's not for you then we have a 60 day full money back guarantee. Just contact customer support.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Thomas Suarez

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

The system, so far, seems good, though I dislike the way it's presented (e.g., the often "cute" wording and the constant exclamation points).
But I truly resent the constant spam from Rocket Languages that began the moment I paid, and that continue despite my making every attempt to unsubscribe.
And I hate the high-pressure sales technique and the "snake oil" methods of pushing the product. I was hard pressed to buy the program with how it was being marketed, and only the generally very favorable reviews, and the money-back guarantee, made me overlook the insulting marketing.
An email to Rocket explaining these opinions remains unanswered at writing.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Thomas - I am sorry that you have an issue with our marketing. In saying that, every email does have an unsubscribe link.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Susie Seiler

Rocket Japanese Tokyo , Japan

Submitted: 3 years ago

1 Likes

Rocket Japanese: it's been two (April 14.) months since the Rocket Language app for iOS has been updated and since I am not able to use it anymore as it is not possible to write in hiragana/katakana anymore. I contacted support, got (after days - and weeks) assurance that it will be taken care of - yet the "bug" update 2 weeks ago did not address any of my clearly communicated (screenshots and screenvideo) problems. If you work on iOS (iPhoneX & iPad Pro, latest firmware) do not download this app - it is NOT working as advertised.
A word to the support... promising an update and therefore a working app might "quiet" the user but it is contraproductive to take no action at all.
I'll be happy to re-review my feedback once I am able to use the app again. Until then... 1 star.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Susie - We were having an issue with the length of time that it takes for an app to get approved by Apple (up to a week), which meant that any bugs took a while to get sorted. Apple have been working to reduce this time, especially for minor bug fixes.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Patrick Sheedy

Rocket French St. Paul, MN , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

I can't. you won't let the honest responses be submitted. there is nothing awesome about your program. Neither, do you respond in a timely manner to concerns. So if you want honest then let them be submitted

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Patrick - It looks like your review has been submitted correctly?

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Sarah Wiley

Rocket French Tampa, FL , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

I am finding the program difficult to use. I cannot access the written or quiz sections. It is also a problem trying to access the subsequent module. I wish I had purchased only Level 1. The opportunity to listen and have my pronunciation corrected is appreciated but I would like to be able to access the rest of the module segments.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Sarah - That is a strange thing to have had happen. Can you please contact customer support if it persists and we will get to the bottom of it.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Bernard Swartz

Rocket French Yakima, WA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

1 Likes

I was very happy with the program until the new format. The functionality when using an iPad has significantly deteriorated. In particular, I am unhappy with now being unable to replay pronunciation in order to compare with the speaker. My voice recordings are frequently cut off in mid-phrase. Basically, the program is no longer user friendly for people owning iPads. I no longer will recommend this program to my friends. In fact I am traveling to Europe this summer with some friends and I have told them to find another program. We are going to brush up on different languages prior to traveling.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bernard - I am sorry to hear about the issues you have been having. We have updated the iOS app, so this sort of behavior shouldn't be happening now. Please contact customer support if you continue to have issues.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Nicholas Pellerin

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

6 Likes

I was astonished by the sexism and gender stereotypes, there were even lessons about the nativity. I wanted to share these lessons with my partner, who is more advanced than me, but I was too embarrassed, and some lessons were unlistenable for me, due to these problems.

Also, the lessons themselves tend to just ask you to repeat what you have heard, and only occasionally challenge the listener to take what they've learned in the lesson an actually apply it to make new sentences.

On a positive note I was pleased that the instructors would often add multiple ways of saying things.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Nicholas - Thanks for your feedback, and we will take that onboard at our annual review of course content. Certainly the stereotyping is an issue we are looking at, even though a lot of these attitudes are still prevalent in South American culture. As is Christianity, hence the nativity lessons.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Sarah Parker

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

6 Likes

My review is of Rocket Languages Sign Language. Someone who is just beginning to learn sign language has no hope of following your lessons because you sign too fast. Much too fast!

It's okay to have a fast version, as long as a slow version is included. Someone who is just beginning to learn ASL can't follow when your hands move that fast.

You need to fix this.

Response from Rocket Languages: Recently, we had to re-render all 3,000 videos to work on the apps, and in doing so it looks like the half-speed functionality has been overwritten. We will look at getting that back asap. (Update 2019: This has been resolved! Half-speed is back!)