Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4001 Customer reviews

76.4% (3057)

15.8% (633)

4.9% (198)

1.9% (78)

0.9% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

Natalie Jacques

Natalie Jacques

Rocket French New Zealand

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

I am taking the French course but I find the man talks way too much in English with annoying 'jokes'. Sorry but listening to him makes it difficult for me to continue and I loose interest. Over half the lessons are in translated English or him talking.The price for the course is good and I haven't had to use customer service to comment.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Natalie - The beginner (Level 1) course does have a reasonable amount of English as things need to be explained! In the higher levels there is less English. If you wish to swap levels then please let us know!

Thomas Suarez

Thomas Suarez

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

The system, so far, seems good, though I dislike the way it's presented (e.g., the often "cute" wording and the constant exclamation points).
But I truly resent the constant spam from Rocket Languages that began the moment I paid, and that continue despite my making every attempt to unsubscribe.
And I hate the high-pressure sales technique and the "snake oil" methods of pushing the product. I was hard pressed to buy the program with how it was being marketed, and only the generally very favorable reviews, and the money-back guarantee, made me overlook the insulting marketing.
An email to Rocket explaining these opinions remains unanswered at writing.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Thomas - I am sorry that you have an issue with our marketing. In saying that, every email does have an unsubscribe link.

Patrick Sheedy

Patrick Sheedy

Rocket French St. Paul, MN , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

I can't. you won't let the honest responses be submitted. there is nothing awesome about your program. Neither, do you respond in a timely manner to concerns. So if you want honest then let them be submitted

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Patrick - It looks like your review has been submitted correctly?

Sarah Wiley

Sarah Wiley

Rocket French Tampa, FL , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

I am finding the program difficult to use. I cannot access the written or quiz sections. It is also a problem trying to access the subsequent module. I wish I had purchased only Level 1. The opportunity to listen and have my pronunciation corrected is appreciated but I would like to be able to access the rest of the module segments.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Sarah - That is a strange thing to have had happen. Can you please contact customer support if it persists and we will get to the bottom of it.

new learner
2021 Edition
review

new learner

Rocket French GA , United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

2 Likes

Look, I understand that the French speak fast, but, you can't slow it down for people who are new to the language and are trying to learn? Let us understand the correct pronunciation and then we can increase the speed. I had to go to another source to grasp the correct pronunciation. Because of this, I strongly discourage anyone new to the French language from wasting their time on Rocket Languages.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there - The pronunciation in all of our Level 1 courses IS slower than native speakers. It can take some time to adjust to the rhythm of a new language so don't be disheartened if it is difficult to understand at first. Listening to a radio/podcast in the language is a good idea to speed up this process.

Mark Bonaccorso

Mark Bonaccorso

Rocket French France

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

Overall the course has some good points and some not so good,

The good is the audio course, I am not sure how far it can get you towards fluency but every little helps and the course does present information well. I found the banter a tad annoying at first but its grown on me and I have come accross stuff that i havent seen elsewhere. My feeling is that it will get you no further than basic communication and that michel thomas method is far better, as is pimsleur and paul noble. I think their methods get you speaking and understanding more effectively and more quickly; that said this is a good supplement to other learning systems.

The bad for me is the grammer section. It is basically just explanations that could have come from any text book but without excersises that support the material very well. I think for what they are doing here a textbook is a better option, its cheaper and you will get better reinforcement of the lessons. In fact the quizes attached seem completely irrelevant and are just vocab memorization.

The quizzes for the most part are just dull to be honest.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Mark - Thanks for the detailed review. Rocket French is going to be re-examined soon, especially with regards to the quizzes.

Omri Ulanovski

Omri Ulanovski

Rocket Italian Israel

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

Overall seems like a good program, but when using the app or browser from the phone the audio recorder doesn’t work.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there; it looks like you have been using the Safari browser on your iPhone. While our courses work on Safari on a desktop computer, for an iPhone we recommend using the Rocket Languages iOS app.

Carolyn Bross

Carolyn Bross

Rocket Italian New Jersey , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

I like the program, though it goes VERY slowly and each unit is terribly long. But the biggest problem is that after working for awhle on a unit it crashes and I get a message saying "aw snap, something went wrong". This happens every day

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Carolyn - Thanks for submitting this review. Marie from our Customer Support Team has contacted you to solve the problems you're having.

Tom Ramer

Tom Ramer

Rocket Japanese Okinawa , Japan

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

Very disappointed in this product. Trial was very good. Purchased Step #1 with coupon. Have not received access nor response to my many emails. Feel like I was suckered. Again Free Trial very good. Enticing once paid nothing. Again maybe a glitch. No response from Customer Service opens the door for negative assumptions

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Tom - Thanks a lot for your feedback. Our Customer Support Team has contacted you to get your access sorted.

kesaobaka kooreng

kesaobaka kooreng

Rocket French Gaborone , Botswana

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

Rocket Languages is an excellent way to learn a language . It opens you up to how you can pronounce the language through following the tutor. I enjoy the bit where you have to write because it is a good practice to know the words and how to pronounce them. I also like the flash cards because they enable you to pronounce and get to hear if you are doing it properly. My favorite is the quiz because it gives me the opportunity to show that I understand what I have been learning. I like Rocket Languages to an extend that I will not hesitate to recommend it to anyone willing to try it. I enjoy it when it also corrects spelling to show you where you went wrong right away.