Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3431 Customer reviews

Anand Sampat

Anand Sampat

Rocket Chinese Palo Alto, CA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

22 Likes

I cannot get the microphone to work in any way. On my phone the app skips and cannot capture my voice properly. ON desktop it doesn't even record always saying "Try again".

I demand a refund unless I can find a fix. I started using this program because I heard the program is very good. Little did I realize the app would be a huge POS.

Do not use this unless you want a terrible experience. Use a more established language learning application like Duolingo or Rosetta Stone.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Anand - Please send customer support more detail about your phone. I am sure that we can get to the bottom of the issue. And, if you are still unhappy after that, we have the 60 day money back guarantee that you can use.

Chansse Evanns

Chansse Evanns

Rocket Chinese Paris

Submitted: 3+ years ago

23 Likes

I was curious about Rocket Languages until I began using it, feeling comfortable with it and see the difference. Now, I am comfortable with Rocket Language, Lin Ping ways of healping others to understanding rocket languages.

Michael Volante

Michael Volante

Rocket Chinese Alpharetta/ GA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

20 Likes

There is no functionality to allow you to quickly click on a word that you don't know to figure out what it means. Instead you have to wait through the painstakingly slow audio to hear someone tell you what it means. Very frustrating, especially if you're like me and learn better through seeing.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michael - I am not sure what you mean here as every word/phrase in Rocket Chinese has the Hanzi, Pinyin, English translation and the literal translation. We have also recently added subtitles to the Interactive Audio course tracks to make following them much easier!

William McGeen

William McGeen

Rocket Chinese North Vancouver

Submitted: 3+ years ago

4 Likes

Of the three online Chinese courses I use. Rocket Chinese is by far the best. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to learn a language. The easy of usage. The way the courses are laid out all lend toward a pleasant learning experience.

Warren Russell

Warren Russell

Rocket Chinese Springville, UT , United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

4 Likes

Seeing all the rave reviews makes me wonder if there's something wrong with me. I am not a linguistic novice; I am a native speaker of English but a fluent speaker of Korean, I majored in linguistics in graduate school, and I've studied several languages both in university classes and on my own. But I'm having a hard time making any progress in Rocket Chinese. Eleven- or twelve-morpheme sentences are just too long for a beginner in the language. And while Lin Ping's spoken examples are very clear and easy to understand, David always sounds like his mouth is full of food and everything runs together. (I'm sure his Chinese is very good, but Chinese itself tends to sound like that to start with. It's just really frustrating.)

I bought the complete premium course and am wondering if I made a terrible decision.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Warren - Thanks for your feedback. We have actually just released ( Dec 2019) new Language & Culture lessons for Rocket Chinese that start out in a more straightforward way. Not only that, we have replaced Davids parts in the audio with a native speaker!

Kevin Brown

Kevin Brown

Rocket Chinese Canada

Submitted: 2 years ago

0 Likes

I initially loved the course because I used it in my mobile driving back and forth to work.

But once I got to level 3 I found the explanation of the dialogue to be very lacking. Essentially it required me to sit down in front of a computer. It was no longer a course I could do while driving.

Marcy Castro

Marcy Castro

Rocket Chinese riverside ca

Submitted: 3+ years ago

11 Likes

really confusing sometimes. dont help you very much. i wouldnt recommend it to a friend. they need to put more iinfo. dont help you with vocab very much. dont really like it. it was also reaally har to submit reviews or ask them questions so of courese dont like service or prices.

Marcus Claytpn

Marcus Claytpn

Rocket Chinese New Zealand

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

I find there is generally too much preamble getting into each dialogue - too much from the English guy especially. Ironically, he seems to be talking as though adressing an ESOl class . However, as a native speaker, I find his delivery and Uk accent quite amateurish. E.g he says "wiv" instead of " with" etc. just irritating. Also, I am disappointed that he is used in dialogues when his Mandarin accent is not spot-on. Just model the genuine accent by using a Chinese speaker for each dialogue. Also, in the 2nd Premium pack, the upgrade, I wouldn't have bothered buying it had I known it involved a module devoted to planning a wedding - relevant to about 5% at best of your the average audience.

Jean Vittet

Jean Vittet

Rocket Chinese Paris , France

Submitted: 2 years ago

10 Likes

Your program is fine and efficient. Nevertheless the dialogues are a little boring ("Beijing seems to be a big city" , well, who doesn't know it?) and there is a BIG mistake in lesson 5.5 Places worth checking out in Beijing (the quizz) : the Great Wall of China CANNOT be seem from the moon ! Check it if you don't believe me. It's a myth !!!

John P

John P

Rocket Chinese United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

8 Likes

So the program is pretty decent. Using Rocket will definitely increase proficiency. The most frustrating part of the platform by far is the new voice recording system -it's extremely slow and very un-responsive. It slows down the whole learning process. Customer service is cumbersome process but based on the cost of the program, it's not fair to expect that much.