Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Eric Etcovitch

Eric Etcovitch

Rocket Chinese United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

8 Likes

In my pursuit of trying to study Mandarin, I have tried many, many, many courses, both in-person and online, and never quite found one that helped me stay motivated. In each case, I never felt like I was absorbing anything and would become discouraged really easily.

After trying a few lessons of Rocket Chinese, I can honestly say that this is by far the best course I’ve tried so far! I can not say enough good things about this course! Among the many things I love about it:
1. The price: the price is extremely reasonable especially given it’s a lifetime membership!
2. The course structure: the fact that the overall course initially focuses on oral rather than both oral and written skills. While I definitely want to learn the written portion and the course has more than enough to cover that in later lessons, I really prefer to focus on my conversation skills initially especially given that pronunciation is extremely critical in Mandarin! Many courses focus on both from the start, which ends up overwhelming and discouraging me.
3.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Please contact customer support about the Siri issue. It is probably an easy fix. Also, offline usage on the app is coming soon!

Andy Wortman

Andy Wortman

Rocket Chinese Bullhead City,AZ , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

It's so fun and I enjoy learning from the app. Thx you so much now I am trying to become a foreign exchange student in china. It mean a lot to me that I can now feel more confident to travel outside the US and not feel like an outsider cause I don't know what your saying!

Michelle Dempsey

Michelle Dempsey

Rocket Chinese Ireland

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

Rocket languages seems quite good.
However I like to see as well as hear.
Feedback on my accent would always be a must.
Try out the freebie and see if that's the way that best suits how you learn.

The next bit in the questionnaire asks how satisified I am with the following 5 points (good experience, buy again, price, recommend to friend and customer services) I have not been able to edit the number of stars I give.
These are my answers to the 5 points - none get 5 stars..

I have only tried out the freebie part - it's not really the way I like to learn

Satisfaction (not the way I like to learn and I can see how others would love it)
Buy again (I never bought)
Price (I never bought)
Recommend to a friend (I would recommend they try the freebie and see how they liked it)
Customer service (I have not had any dealings with CS)

Wonder if this will appear on Rocket's site???

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michelle, please note that all reviews are moderated for inappropriate language then they are put live verbatim. Also, the stars can be changed by clicking on them before submitting a review.

Dustin Shorter

Dustin Shorter

Rocket Chinese United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

I have been looking for a language learning software that provides everything I need in one place. This program does that! Another awesome fact is I can bring the lessons with me either online or offline. I love the product so far and will buy it for other languages!

Ross H

Ross H

Rocket Chinese Auckland , New Zealand

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

The record with voice recognition grading really helps to get your pronunciation right, and the playback of your voice really helps you find out why you did get the grade you expected. These tools give a strong incentive to practice speaking, and have helped me to progress faster. The downside is that these tools are only practically useful on PC and not useful on Android because of speed and different limited web page. (I cannot speak for Apple versions).

I would give the course 5 stars if all features were available on all platforms.

On android viewing the website, speech recognition is so much slower to respond, and much less accurate, so the time delays become frustrating - it is very dependent on internet and wireless speed. The key thing android misses is it that it has no ability to play back what you said (so that you can hear and correct your own mistakes). From the forum comments this appears to have been missing for 2 years or more, and I think Rocket Languages should make playback of your own voice a priority fix for android users.

Read More

Pauly G.

Pauly G.

Rocket Chinese United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

14 Likes

The price can't be beat! I especially enjoy that I control what and when I want to focus on for my study sessions. The interactive audio sessions actually helps me to think in the target language. I'm having problems with the speech recognition and will likely need to contact tech support; however, the first few hours into the course and I'm enjoying what I received for the price.

Erin Schwartz

Erin Schwartz

Rocket Chinese China

Submitted: 3 years ago

4 Likes

Overall this program is excellent. The lessons make sense and the progression seems natural. The only major problem with the course is the voice recognition. It's terrible. Obviously if I was a great speaker of Mandarin I wouldn't need this program, but even when I'm really close to the right pronunciation, it doesn't register it as correct. It sometimes stops recording before I've finished speaking (especially on the longer sentences), and sometimes out of frustration I've spoken gibberish, not even close to the right sounds, and it gave me 100%.
So I treat the voice recognition like an audio book. Just repeat, but the feedback is totally meaningless. I'm happy with my purchase since I was able to buy this program on sale.

garry adams

garry adams

Rocket Chinese Australia

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

I am pretty happy with the whole experience, although I haven't used the program as much as I intended. Wish I had more time! A well thought out and fairly comprehensive approach to solo language learning. I shall be renewing my subscription for sure. Perhaps a section for HSK Exams could be a useful addition for those of us going down that path, just a thought. In summary, my overall user experience is a very positive one.

Michael Richardson

Michael Richardson

Rocket Chinese Marlborough, MA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

5 Likes

Very well designed course, it is easier to learn the sounds in Chinese which is the most difficult part about learning the language once you memorize basic vocabulary.

Excellent Course, highly recommended.

Jeremy Leroy

Jeremy Leroy

Rocket Chinese Lyon , France

Submitted: 3 years ago

2 Likes

Even if the cost scared me, I have walked through just to try to follow a friend suggestion (and furthermore because it is explained that you have six months to get back your money if you are not convinced by the method).
Sincerely I don't regret for the moment. The lessons are easy to understand and we really feel a quick progression of our langage level.

If I just have a recommandation for the Rocketlangages teachers, I would appreciate to have a chinese Dictionnary which one countains all the words we saw, and a second dictionnary more complete.

Best wishes and good continuation.

Sincerely,

Jeremy

Response from Rocket Languages: A "dictionary" of all the words/phrases is available under the My Tools > My Vocab section. And, our money back guarantee is 60 days not 6 months!