Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Crystal Phelps

Crystal Phelps

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 7 months ago

5 Likes

I've only been using the course for three days now, but so far the lessons have been interesting and engaging. I find it a plus that there is a native speaker who speaks clearly and slowly and is easy to understand, even with the accent. I am mildly concerned about not learning a variety of vocabulary but as I have literally just started the program, I'll reserve judgement.

Carla Young

Carla Young

Rocket Italian Parker/CO , United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

7 Likes

I am loving my Rocket Italian course. The audio is fantastic! It is really helping to train my ear to the Italian language, and the conversations are interesting and engaging. It hits all my learning styles, and the repetition is very good for me. I like it better than Rosetta Stone or any other courses I have ever tried. I am excited to visit Italy in October of 2020 and try out what I have learned.

Carolyn Bross

Carolyn Bross

Rocket Italian New Jersey , United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

2 Likes

I like the program, though it goes VERY slowly and each unit is terribly long. But the biggest problem is that after working for awhle on a unit it crashes and I get a message saying "aw snap, something went wrong". This happens every day

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Carolyn - Thanks for submitting this review. Marie from our Customer Support Team has contacted you to solve the problems you're having.

Tom Dalbro

Tom Dalbro

Rocket Italian New York , United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

6 Likes

I'm still near the beginning of Rocket Italian. Too basic for me but it's a good review and a chance to practice pronunciation. Maria is delightful as is the American, Alessandro. However, you might have been able to find an American with better pronunciation. Sometimes the way he says a word in Italian can be very jarring.

Maria Machado

Maria Machado

Rocket Italian Rio Grande do Sul , Brazil

Submitted: 9 months ago

10 Likes

Rocket italian is not bad, but it could be so much better.

I'm still studying Level 1 - Unit 3 but I have noticed several issues:
- The audio tracks are a bit long for my taste. They take from 20 to 30 minutes and are spoken very slowly. The website and the app don't allow you to speed it up, so you have to download the tracks in order to do it;
- The conversations are between a native italian and a heavily accented american. I am not a native english speaker and several of the rocket students also aren't so I don't see why not using only native italian speakers on the audio tracks
- There are several small translation mistakes and inadequacies, over time they start being annoying;
- Some audios should be reviewed/updated, the other day I heard one that made reference to the year 2008.

Also, Rocket Languages is oblivious to the existence of potential students in developing countries (as in my case) when establishing their pricing strategy. These courses are way more expensive for me, for instance, as they are for my american or european counterparts, when purchase power is concerned.

Rocket languages also does not give meaningful discounts when you enroll in more than one language.

Mickey Avenoso

Mickey Avenoso

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

9 Likes

It is very easy to download an audio lecture and listen along in the car. 20 minute lectures aren't too long to become bored or tired, and they're not too short to feel like you didn't receive enough information. I am not great at learning languages, but this program is actually helping me understand and speak Italian rather quickly!

Cheryl Hallinan

Cheryl Hallinan

Rocket Italian NSW , Australia

Submitted: 9 months ago

13 Likes

I am loving learning the language of my grandmother by this system. She lived with me and my parents in Australia until I was 12 and she occasionally spoke and sang to me in Italian. That was nearly 50 years ago and as a result I spoke Italian like a 2 year old - pointing and naming things with no grammar or modern constructions when I started this course. Lots of practice and revision is needed but I find myself starting to think in Italian!

I spent a month in Italy in 1976 and got by with mime and pointing and naming but we are finally going back there in September to a Villa in Tuscany where my husband is doing a photography masterclass. I will travel around solo by public transport to Sienna, Florence and Pisa and complete part of the Camino walk. So I've been studying with Rocket and finding it fantastic. The practical nature of the conversations for a tourist when combined with the excellent grammar instructions ( I was an English teacher) has been perfect.
I purchased all three Levels of Italian and will have fully completed Level 1 by the time we travel and work on the others when we get back. Hopefully we can return to Italy in future years to make full use of this excellent resource.

Amy Outlaw

Amy Outlaw

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

11 Likes

I like the way review is spiraled into several lessons, so the words really stick. I also like the multimodal practice with each lesson. I expected to have some difficulty picking up Italian after many years of not practicing any language except English, but I'm learning more quickly and remembering more thorougly than I thought I would. Tutto bravo!

Chris Maude

Chris Maude

Rocket Italian Reading , United Kingdom

Submitted: 9 months ago

9 Likes

Quite simply, Rocket works! I’ve tried other major products with previous languages, that weren’t nearly as effective as Rocket, despite them costing a lot. I am learning Italian at a much quicker rate than I expected based on previous experience, and it’s sticking! I like the repetition and reinforcement methodology, supported via multiple tools, including flash cards and voice recognition exercises. I highly recommend Rocket compared to others.

Jay huffaker

Jay huffaker

Rocket Italian Naples, florida , United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

1 Likes

I’ve tried one other Italian course and could repeat the sound ok only to learn later that how it came out wasn’t accurate. Seeing then writing really helps. Unfortunately I’ve just started rocket and timing hasn’t been good. I’m looking forward to soon having more free time to actually devote to this. So this request for a review came pretty early.