Rocket Japanese Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Japanese reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Japanese review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

397 Customer reviews

5 Stars

78.3% (311)

4 Stars

14.4% (57)

3 Stars

5.3% (21)

2 Stars

1.5% (6)

1 Star

0.5% (2)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

G W
2021 Edition
review

G W

Rocket Japanese Australia

Submitted: 6 months ago

0 Likes

I hate the points and streaks function and you have provide no ability to swith off!

I am preferring the Pinsleur system far more.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi G - Ha! That's because no-one has asked for it to be switched off before. We can add it to a list of suggestions to look at in the future.

bubill yang

bubill yang

Rocket Japanese china , China

Submitted: 3 years ago

19 Likes

Rocket languages supply "Translation method" for learning 2nd Languages . It's the same as in the school. There worse has no photos to understand by view , no stroke order .
Too many lessons for beginners .

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bubill - Did you see the Writing lessons? There are videos in each of those showing you how to draw different characters, with the correct stroke order!

Edward Zyvith
2021 Edition
review

Edward Zyvith

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 2 months ago

3 Likes

My opinion may change over time, as I will complete this series (I paid for it.) But right now, I am not sure I like this method, generally speaking. I prefer methodical, professional books such as Genki/Adventures in Japanese/etc which actually explain what is going on. For example: Japanese conjugation is a little tricky and this course (so far) is not helping. I also have a tutor in Tokyo, and nothing is better than that. Lastly, the Kanji exercises at the end are super frustrating as when the sentences are long, the stupid thing auto-places the words and I cannot get them in the right order even when I know it. That said, it's always good to listen to native speakers, but in today's world, there are no shortages of resources in that department.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you haven't been finding our teaching style helpful. We have tested some of the longer phrases in the Write It exercise, but haven't been able to replicate the issue you've been experiencing, I'm sorry. If you have any specific feedback, please don't hesitate to send it through to our Customer Support team support@rocketlanguages.com. All the best!

Susie Seiler

Susie Seiler

Rocket Japanese Tokyo , Japan

Submitted: 3 years ago

1 Likes

Rocket Japanese: it's been two (April 14.) months since the Rocket Language app for iOS has been updated and since I am not able to use it anymore as it is not possible to write in hiragana/katakana anymore. I contacted support, got (after days - and weeks) assurance that it will be taken care of - yet the "bug" update 2 weeks ago did not address any of my clearly communicated (screenshots and screenvideo) problems. If you work on iOS (iPhoneX & iPad Pro, latest firmware) do not download this app - it is NOT working as advertised.
A word to the support... promising an update and therefore a working app might "quiet" the user but it is contraproductive to take no action at all.
I'll be happy to re-review my feedback once I am able to use the app again. Until then... 1 star.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Susie - We were having an issue with the length of time that it takes for an app to get approved by Apple (up to a week), which meant that any bugs took a while to get sorted. Apple have been working to reduce this time, especially for minor bug fixes.

Elza Dekleyn

Elza Dekleyn

Rocket Japanese Estepona

Submitted: 3+ years ago

13 Likes

Enjoy learning it, Very good because you can always return to difficult parts. Had to stop for a while because of moving my home, but it was easy to pick up. From now on, I'll regularly continue. The target is learning the language. Unfortunately, my computer does not allow voice recording. I hope that this does not influence the study results.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Elza - Make sure you try the Android and iOS apps!

Michele Balistreri

Michele Balistreri

Rocket Japanese Russian Federation

Submitted: 1 year ago

9 Likes

My feelings with this course are quite mixed. On one hand, there is a lot of material and you pick up useful phrases from the very start. On the other hand there are several issues which in the long run are quite frustrating especially in the testing part

1) Apart from the Quiz section, everything else is clearly automatically generated from the material. This means you can have the same word repeated 2 or 3 times. In the "Know it" part there are cases where you cannot know what to say because two words have the same english translation (tourist).
2) Speech recognition is frustrating. It stops listening while you are talking, sometimes it doesn't want to recognize what you say no matter what (I even tried playing back the native audio from my phone near to the computer microphone, and it didn't even recognize the native speaker!) and sometimes it says 100% even if you mess up a few syllabes.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michele - Thanks for the detailed review. Rocket Japanese is due for a full review in 2020. Most of the issues that you mention will be sorted out at that stage. As far as speech recognition goes, we recommend a headset microphone for best results, or the iOS/Android app.

Tom Ramer

Tom Ramer

Rocket Japanese Okinawa , Japan

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

Very disappointed in this product. Trial was very good. Purchased Step #1 with coupon. Have not received access nor response to my many emails. Feel like I was suckered. Again Free Trial very good. Enticing once paid nothing. Again maybe a glitch. No response from Customer Service opens the door for negative assumptions

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Tom - Thanks a lot for your feedback. Our Customer Support Team has contacted you to get your access sorted.

Andrew Dawson

Andrew Dawson

Rocket Japanese Manchester , United Kingdom

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

I have found Rocket Japanese to be useful, and frustrating in about equal measures. The voice-recognition is a great idea in helping perfect your pronunciation. Unfortunately I find that about 20% of the time (I haven't kept a count, this is a rough estimate) it simply doesn't work. Either your phrase is not recognised, or deemed incorrect. As a beginner, not knowing if it is you, or the software that is the problem can be insanely frustrating. It doesn't appear to be the longer sentences that suffer from this. The very first sounds we are asked to repeat are riddled with examples. After 3 months it still tells me I can't pronounce 'ka'.
I have finally been prompted to write this because the system tells me I cannot pronounce 'America jin' correctly. Clearly this is an almost native sound to an English speaker, but I mimic the example exactly to no avail. I can forgive these issues, although there are other minor complaints. I have also reported some mistakes in the text, but they remain unchanged. Personally I find that the audio lessons are rather childish, and would be happier if we just got on with the lesson, but I recognise that might just be me being grumpy.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Andrew, thanks for the detailed feedback. Unfortunately, very short words tend not to work very well with voice recognition as they don't have a lot of context. With regards the lessons themselves, we are in the process of completely redoing the Language & Culture lessons and hope to have those up in the next couple of months. Unfortunately, the pandemic has put a halt to a lot of our activities.

Robin Rabinger

Robin Rabinger

Rocket Japanese Sweden

Submitted: 3+ years ago

6 Likes

Rocket languages really gave me the tools to succeed with my new language. It brought me to a level where I was finally comfortable speaking with native speakers and I was able to take off on my own after that. I highly recommend Rocket Languages to all my friends trying to learn a new language. Learning with this system felt practically effortless.

ショーン T

ショーン T

Rocket Japanese 埼玉 , Japan

Submitted: 1 year ago

9 Likes

TL:DR -These courses are worth bothering with and a fair deal but don't expect perfection or a miracles.

This was sold to me (by external reviews) as being better than Rosetta stone and the current market leader in comprehensive language learning for self study, and yeah it is better and may be the best all around, but its still far from perfect. There are other products that are distinctly better for certain aspects of Japanese study, but this one is a good all-rounder.

It is very much like a by the book language study course that you would get in a generic language school.
Its not ground breaking, but its very solid and should successfully teach any diligent student some extent of their target language.

Given that you get hundreds of hours of lessons that you can do at your own pace I think the price is great value but I can't quite give 5 stars because there are some flaws in the product and service.

Unlike many free apps you aren't limited to 5 or 10 mins per day which means that the system can take its time to teach you slowly and methodically, and that if you have a lot of free time (and almost everybody does at the time of writing mid-April 2020) then you can do an hour or more everyday.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Sean - Thanks for submitting a review. Some interesting observations in there! I thought that I would comment on a couple of things;

This year Rocket Japanese is scheduled to have a total review of the course content. We realize that there are some issues and are moving to address those.

With regards the romanization toggle; this seems to be working. Can you please provide screenshots to customer support of where it doesn't seem to be working?

There was an issue with the voice recognition difficulty in that you had to refresh the page for the change to take effect. That has now been rectified, so it should just work.

And we will look into the review system as well. In fact we are re-factoring the entire members area into a new code base, so it's timely to look at some aspects that haven't been looked at for a while. The new version is due out later in the year.