Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3468 Customer reviews

Gregory Sanoff

Gregory Sanoff

Rocket Italian Windsor , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

1 Likes

It is a horribly frustrating program. I have yet been able to download it. Only two lessons in two modules have been downloaded. To be fair one of the chat support people told me to call and she would guide me through the download, but I am tired of playing with the program and haven't called. After the download to the computer I have to download them to CDs. Oh help!

Ruth Maza Crespo

Ruth Maza Crespo

Rocket Portuguese Brightwaters, NY , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

3 Likes

I love the dialogues. They help you develop your listening and speaking skills rocket fast. Unlike the Pilmsleur approach that I have also used, Rocket languages also has the reinforcement activities where you get additional listening, speaking and writing practice so you learn to spell correctly and pay attention to accent marks and special characters.
I am giving it a 4 out of 5 because in my opinion the price is pretty steep (I can get the Pilmsleur CDs for Portuguese level 1 for $34 in ebay) and I feel for that price it should also include some grammar videos with activities and reading comprehension to make it more well rounded.

Brian Owens

Brian Owens

Rocket German SC , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

3 Likes

While I am enjoying, and learning from Rocket language I have two major gripes. 1) Many of the conversations are between to native English speakers who do not pronounce like native Germans (Which is the goal of language learning) and the audio "lesson" can get rather tedious and forced sounding. 2) On many of the conversations, when you "play as..." if the person laughs, moans, chuckles, or makes other noncommittal noises, you still must sound exactly like they do to pass that section, even though I can intentionally mispronounce words in hard mode and it will pass me to the next section otherwise.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Brian; there is one non-native speaker in the Interactive Audio course (Level 1), in-line with our philosophy of providing the most effective online language learning courses possible, we will be replacing that audio with a native speaker within the next couple of months.

Antonio DeNino

Antonio DeNino

Rocket Italian Butte, MT

Submitted: 3+ years ago

4 Likes

One month into Rocket Italian Level I, the program is providing me with a solid start in learning a new language. The instruction motivates learning and can be fun. The materials are well designed and appear to take into consideration the different types of learning styles we have as students of language. So far so good.

Pascal Brillat

Pascal Brillat

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

4 Likes

I am a bilingual person (translator from English into French) trying to learn Japanese. I've been trying several methods books, on-line, etc., over several years. Even though this method is far more interesting and educational than Rosetta, I feel that it is lacking of grammatical points or explanations, so to be a complete learner, you need to complement it by another mean (books or apps). After saying that, I will still recommend this on-line method, since I believe it is one of the best today.
Improvements:
The testing system: it would be more educational to be testing more than 5 (Japanese 2) or 10 questions (Japanese 2), while the listen and writing, test you on over 30 questions.
Even though the voice recognition improve dramatically over the years, it is still sometimes difficult to use it, especially with long sentence in the Play role section. The system stops before I say half of the sentences. It works fine most of the time with single word.
The first audio is too long and have a lot of unnecessary moments. For example, why practicing to say a word or sentence when it is listed in the vocabulary section in which you can learn how to say it as well? Also, to be honest, Kenny's voice is a little annoying after a while.

Read More

Sonya Young

Sonya Young

Rocket French Toronto

Submitted: 3+ years ago

6 Likes

The real life situations make learning fun! It would make everyday situations easy to comprehend. The interactive audio makes it easy to grasp the meaning of words and sentences. The audio playback is good for review. Building on the sentences a phrase at a time makes it all come together. Hopefully when presented with questions in real life, this will be helpful to use all the words and phrases I've learned.

Cory Haulman

Cory Haulman

Rocket Japanese Pennsylvania , United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

3 Likes

Having completed the Level 1 Japanese course I feel confident saying that is a great value for the price. This is a solid course that does a good job of teaching basic grammar, vocabulary, and the hiragana and katakana writing systems. A decent amount of practice material is provided as well. My only major complaint is that the voice recognition software used to grade pronunciation is not reliable, which can be frustrating as it is used for graded assignments. However the course is constantly being improved and I believe it's only a matter of time before that final wrinkle gets ironed out. Even if it doesn't, this is still a great place to start learning the Japanese language.

martin Guard

martin Guard

Rocket Spanish Geneva , Switzerland

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

All good, slowly learning but that is more down to my application rather than this great programme. I particularly the way the teaching materials are laid out the tips that are given throughout. THe audio lessons have really helped me get a grasp of understanding the spoken form.

Daniel Fordyce

Daniel Fordyce

Rocket Arabic Palmerston North , New Zealand

Submitted: 3 years ago

4 Likes

Ahlan beekum, hello everyone. Rocket Arabic is a pretty great tool, gets you stuck right into learning all the relevant phrases straight away so you can begin communicating as soon as you feel comfortable. Would recommend to anyone willing to learn quickly and effectively.

Linie Shen

Linie Shen

Rocket German Taiwan

Submitted: 7 months ago

5 Likes

I have been using Rocket German for a while. It's very helpful for beginner who doesn't have previous German knowledge before, since Rocket German break the conversation and the grammar in a small step that is easier to understand. The host encourage us to practice the conversation ourselves a lot which is great in learning language since it's a language if we learn how to speak it.
Will be best if Rocket German can add more materials in future such as, interview topic and more other formal usage in workplace with colleague/superior and other more serious topics like economy. Recommend Rocket German to people who'd like to learn new language.