Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3425 Customer reviews

Sheila Lee

Sheila Lee

Rocket French Mount Pleasant Pa , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

52 Likes

I would never recommend this course to anyone and I bet they don't let this be printed but I will find someway of getting a true review out there- I have tried for 6 days to contact customer service- No one is ever there- its 5 15 pacific standard time and they are to be available and no one is available- I leave email for 6 days- and get 2 stupid emails back that say the very same thing- update chrome and I already have updated chrome. They will not call me ----

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Sheila - Sorry for the delayed response from customer support, we have tried contacting you a few times and it looks like we have managed to set up a time for a Skype call to look into your issues!

Edgar Tawes

Edgar Tawes

Rocket Spanish Statesboro, GA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

30 Likes

I was using Spanishpod101, and I switched to RocketSpanish based on online reviews. I regret the decision. I'm disappointed that there's no means to diagnose my proficiency and place me in the appropriate level. I find the dialogues ridiculously boring and unauthentic. I'm suffering through this, because I'm committed to learning the language, hoping it will get better as I progress.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Edgar - We have since added in Benchmark testing so you can more easily sort out where your proficiency level is. Just go to My Tools > Benchmark Test

Jindrich Parik

Jindrich Parik

Rocket French Czech Republic

Submitted: 3 years ago

24 Likes

Well, the course is OK, working with the microphone helps. I am very happy with it.

I am not happy and I have to say I am disappointed with the customer service.

I have asked 3 times for the invoice for paid amount, nothing happened, no response. I am getting daily mails from Marie-Claire with silly comments and questions (automatic mail, I am sure) but the invoice, for the money I have paid still not come.
I need it urgently for my accountant.

I do not know what else I should do!

Response from Rocket Languages: Most customer support staff have been on holiday over the Christmas and New Year period so some emails have taken longer to get to at this time!

Chansse Evanns

Chansse Evanns

Rocket Chinese Paris

Submitted: 3+ years ago

23 Likes

I was curious about Rocket Languages until I began using it, feeling comfortable with it and see the difference. Now, I am comfortable with Rocket Language, Lin Ping ways of healping others to understanding rocket languages.

Anand Sampat

Anand Sampat

Rocket Chinese Palo Alto, CA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

22 Likes

I cannot get the microphone to work in any way. On my phone the app skips and cannot capture my voice properly. ON desktop it doesn't even record always saying "Try again".

I demand a refund unless I can find a fix. I started using this program because I heard the program is very good. Little did I realize the app would be a huge POS.

Do not use this unless you want a terrible experience. Use a more established language learning application like Duolingo or Rosetta Stone.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Anand - Please send customer support more detail about your phone. I am sure that we can get to the bottom of the issue. And, if you are still unhappy after that, we have the 60 day money back guarantee that you can use.

Michael Volante

Michael Volante

Rocket Chinese Alpharetta/ GA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

20 Likes

There is no functionality to allow you to quickly click on a word that you don't know to figure out what it means. Instead you have to wait through the painstakingly slow audio to hear someone tell you what it means. Very frustrating, especially if you're like me and learn better through seeing.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michael - I am not sure what you mean here as every word/phrase in Rocket Chinese has the Hanzi, Pinyin, English translation and the literal translation. We have also recently added subtitles to the Interactive Audio course tracks to make following them much easier!

Linda Francis

Linda Francis

Rocket French Kingston upon Thames , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 years ago

19 Likes

Shame on you Rocket Languages!
There has been some improvement but your system still keeps freezing, not transmitting your words and not recording mine. The little bars that wiggle and show the microphone is live freeze, i.e. stop wiggling, on almost every attempt. My playback does once again contain many more words than you are recording. Why?
I have been trying to work through 11.1 at the Doctor’s and 11.2 Making a Complaint. If you were a person and not a robot you would understand the humour in that last one.
Is it because you are a robot that you never answer my questions? You just let some time go by then tell me it’s all fixed when it isn’t. This is not online help - it’s a farce.
I do believe that you have some marvellous learning material but you are completely let down by the technical side and your lackadaisical customer service. Once upon a time you had some good lessons that I could access. Now I believe I cannot learn anything and my French speaking is actually getting worse as a result of having to keep endlessly repeating myself and hurrying before you cut me off. Your system is all up the creek and you can’t fix it.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Linda - I am sorry to hear about your frustrations. The recording and playback functions have been considerably improved. If you are still experiencing problems then please contact customer support again. We are endeavoring to provide meaningful resolutions within 2 working days. We will try to set up a Skype call to get to the bottom of your issues.

Milla Relf

Milla Relf

Rocket Korean Kiev , Ukraine

Submitted: 3 years ago

19 Likes

The web site is complicated and not very user friendly. I've spent 5 min trying to figure out how do I start the lessons and where to begin the studying. It's stupid to spend so much effort on a web site to have people leave confused. Too complicated to begin with.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Milla - There is a take a tour video on the Get Started page! Also, we are revamping the lesson interface to make it easier to understand. It is a little difficult when some courses have over 100 lessons!

bubill yang

bubill yang

Rocket Japanese china , China

Submitted: 2 years ago

17 Likes

Rocket languages supply "Translation method" for learning 2nd Languages . It's the same as in the school. There worse has no photos to understand by view , no stroke order .
Too many lessons for beginners .

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bubill - Did you see the Writing lessons? There are videos in each of those showing you how to draw different characters, with the correct stroke order!

Manal Abdel-hamid

Manal Abdel-hamid

Rocket French Egypt

Submitted: 2 years ago

17 Likes

I have had a technical problem with Rocket French for over a month now. I cannot play the audio files of ALL interactive lessons, and that is on several different devices. The support team has not been able to fix it for me, and their response rate is too slow. I'm regretting having bought the product, because it is useless for me if I'm unable to use it. And it means that i threw my money on the drain. I now asked them to reimburse me for my money if they cannot fix their technical issues, and they haven't replied to me yet. As usual their response takes at least THREE days. I'm getting extremely mad, to be quite honest!

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Manal - This is an issue with Egypts internet connection being throttled by the powers that be. We have had similar issues with China in the past. Of course, if we can't get it working for you you will get a full refund.

2019 Update: We have managed to change how our server works to allow access and full functionality from within Egypt!