Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3496 Customer reviews

Julie Sharp

Julie Sharp

Rocket Spanish United Kingdom

Submitted: 5 months ago

5 Likes

Tried the 7 day free trial, didn't work very well so not confident to purchase ,

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Julie - I am sorry to hear that it wasn't for you. If there was a technical issue then please contact customer support!

Kat X

Kat X

Rocket German Burlingame, CA , United States

Submitted: 2 months ago

4 Likes

I could not get past the incredibly annoying woman with her fingernails-on-chalkboard voice. The squeaking, the overemphatic emoting, the inane chatter and the off-putting accent have driven me away from this program in the first 5 minutes.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Kat; I am sorry to hear that you didn't gel with our Rocket German presenter. We are actually close to releasing an all new interactive audio course for Rocket German, with all new voices!

Warren Russell

Warren Russell

Rocket Chinese Springville, UT , United States

Submitted: 10 months ago

4 Likes

Seeing all the rave reviews makes me wonder if there's something wrong with me. I am not a linguistic novice; I am a native speaker of English but a fluent speaker of Korean, I majored in linguistics in graduate school, and I've studied several languages both in university classes and on my own. But I'm having a hard time making any progress in Rocket Chinese. Eleven- or twelve-morpheme sentences are just too long for a beginner in the language. And while Lin Ping's spoken examples are very clear and easy to understand, David always sounds like his mouth is full of food and everything runs together. (I'm sure his Chinese is very good, but Chinese itself tends to sound like that to start with. It's just really frustrating.)

I bought the complete premium course and am wondering if I made a terrible decision.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Warren - Thanks for your feedback. We have actually just released ( Dec 2019) new Language & Culture lessons for Rocket Chinese that start out in a more straightforward way. Not only that, we have replaced Davids parts in the audio with a native speaker!

William McGeen

William McGeen

Rocket Chinese North Vancouver

Submitted: 3+ years ago

4 Likes

Of the three online Chinese courses I use. Rocket Chinese is by far the best. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to learn a language. The easy of usage. The way the courses are laid out all lend toward a pleasant learning experience.

Lynn Herndon

Lynn Herndon

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 2 months ago

3 Likes

I cannot tell you how frustrating it is to try to use this program. The program has so much trouble hearing what I'm repeating back to it. The company's FAQ says to use headsets; I am. Then it says it's because they have it tuned to "native speakers." Well, what good does that do a person who is not native? I don't think native speakers are using RF! I'm not new to the French language so my pronunciation is not bad. I can only imagine how annoyed someone completely new to this would be feeling right now. If it's anything close to how I feel, it's not very good.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Lynn - I have emailed you to find out more about what's going on. The voice recognition system works off a Google database so it should be very exact.

Keith Manaton

Keith Manaton

Rocket French West Sussex , United Kingdom

Submitted: 9 months ago

3 Likes

Very disappointed. I bought this primarily for verbal skills & to be confident to talk the language. The voice recognition software for all devices is dreadful. It is woefully inadequate & buggy.
Aside there aren’t any repeat reinforcements in the lessons & each one is loaded with ‘additional’ vocabulary which confuses the core lesson.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Keith - There was an issue with voice recognition, which has now been resolved. We do recommend, if you are using a desktop/laptop, a headset microphone for best results.

Bill Landman

Bill Landman

Rocket Spanish Idaho Falls, Id , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

3 Likes

Out is very difficult to get the scoring of certain spoken words to work properly. Course 9.11 is the most frustrating Rocket Spanish lesson so far. In the"Hear it Say it" module, every single infinitive - conocer, poder, querer, etc- could not be scored 100% no matter how it was pronounced.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bill - We will look into what's happening here.

Seccra Card

Seccra Card

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

I like the interactive part it really helps with memory. So far the voice recognition has been really annoying, maybe because im a perfectionist and when it wont record correctly I cant move on. Also I have not had any grammar lesson on conjugations. If i hadnt had a background in Spanish I think I would be a little lost by now.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Seccra - Please contact customer support around the voice recognition issue. I am sure that we can resolve that. Also, Level 1 (and the other higher levels) do have quite a few Language & Culture lessons on verb conjugations. Did you see those?

Polly Keeling

Polly Keeling

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

It is too frustrating. It doesn’t always understand what I am saying, even if I am saying it correctly. I don’t think I should have to know every ñ, é, á etc. when I am writing. It takes way too long. Need to shorten the lessons. I haven’t been doing them b/c I get too frustrated when it doesn’t understand me.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Polly - Please make sure that you are using a headset microphone for best results with voice recognition. We have just added in special character keys to Rocket Spanish "Write it" activities to make the writing process much easier.

Natalie Jacques

Natalie Jacques

Rocket French New Zealand

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

I am taking the French course but I find the man talks way too much in English with annoying 'jokes'. Sorry but listening to him makes it difficult for me to continue and I loose interest. Over half the lessons are in translated English or him talking.The price for the course is good and I haven't had to use customer service to comment.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Natalie - The beginner (Level 1) course does have a reasonable amount of English as things need to be explained! In the higher levels there is less English. If you wish to swap levels then please let us know!