The Memorial Day 4-Day Sale
Apply coupon: MEMORIAL

Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4299 Customer reviews

76.9% (3304)

15.7% (673)

4.6% (199)

2.0% (87)

0.8% (36)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

Order by:

B D
2022 review
B D
2022 review

B D

Rocket Chinese United States

Submitted: 2 months ago

0 Likes

Microphone does not pick up short words, so it is impossible to check pronunciation on basic language units. Especially debilitating for Chinese learners where tonal pronunciation is crucial.

There is very little teaching. Provided flash card sets dumping 30 new terms with no organization, no intuitive backbone reflective of that of the language itself makes me question the expertise of the instructors. This weakness is also reflected in sloppy errors: voice lines which don't match the text underneath, an occasional condescending tone to the learner, and statements that words completely new to the learner were already covered in previous lessons when they were not.

This software would be acceptable if it was free, but given the high price, it's quality does not justify a purchase.

Response from Rocket Languages - We're sorry to hear that you are not happy with the course. We always provide a 60 day money back guarantee, so please get in touch with us if you prefer a refund. You might also like to know that we are in the process of updating the Chinese course (among other languages) this year so if you decide to keep the course, you will get access to the updated lessons at no further cost.

Chase Moratti
2021 Edition
review
Chase Moratti
2021 Edition
review

Chase Moratti

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

58 Likes

It is not very good at hearing what you say and my class really doesn't like it.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having trouble with the voice recognition. If you're not already, we strongly recommend that you use a headset to record yourself. If you are using your inbuilt mic, then it's likely that it will be picking up lots of background noise, and affecting your results. All the best with your lessons!

Alyssa Chamberlain
2021 Edition
review
Alyssa Chamberlain
2021 Edition
review

Alyssa Chamberlain

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

no i dont think i will actually, i dont really like this course.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Alyssa - Feel free to email us with specifics about what you don't like. We are always open to change!

Brandon Olivares
2021 Edition
review
Brandon Olivares
2021 Edition
review

Brandon Olivares

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

I absolutely love Rocket French. I was choosing between Pimsleur or Rocket French, but Rocket French in my opinion offers a lot more resources to have a well-rounded learning experience. I love in particular the “play it” exercises as it really makes me get into speaking in real situations.

G W
2020 review
G W
2020 review

G W

Rocket Japanese Australia

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

I hate the points and streaks function and you have provide no ability to swith off!

I am preferring the Pinsleur system far more.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi G - Ha! That's because no-one has asked for it to be switched off before. We can add it to a list of suggestions to look at in the future.

Miki Martel
Miki Martel

Miki Martel

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

4 Likes

I received Rocket Italian as an xmas gift at my request after my old version of Rosetta Stone Italian became outdated and unusable. It has been a major disappointment and is so frustrating I've turned to the free version of Duolingo instead. All the cutesy little exchanges between "Alex" and "Maria" are infantile and a waste of time. So much time is wasted in these courses. It's hard enough to find time to study a foreign language without all this useless filler. Unfortunately between medical issues and Covid, I just recently started to use this software so I am beyond the 60 day return/refund window. I feel badly that my husband wasted all this money on this terrible app. Save your money and use Duolingo or if you want a real program go to Rosetta stone.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Miki - The first level (featuring Alex and Maria) is a beginners level, so the amount of Italian introduced is gradual with lots of explanations in English. As you progress through the lessons/levels the amount of Italian gets greater and more advanced.

ivan hou
ivan hou

ivan hou

Rocket French bc , Canada

Submitted: 1 year ago

7 Likes

what is this language learning program. it is terrible. im saying the right things but it thinks im wrong.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Ivan - It's likely that your microphone hasn't been set up correctly, as we have had no other reported issues of the voice recognition not working. I would recommend checking out our FAQs and/or contacting customer support with details of your system.

Devin Byrne
Devin Byrne

Devin Byrne

Rocket French Canada

Submitted: 1 year ago

3 Likes

I couldn't use this software because it is boring and simple. it hurts to use it.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Devin - I am sorry to hear that you feel that way. Have you had a look at the latest version with the all new layout?

Gerd Lorenz
Gerd Lorenz

Gerd Lorenz

Rocket Spanish Toronto , Canada

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

I have a Macbook pro OS Catalina 10.15.4, Firefox, AND NO I do NOT want to use Chrome, Level 1, Rocket Languages Lesson 5.9, Activity:Hear it - Say it = while clicking on the "Play" button I cannot hear what I am supposed to record. Even after recording something I cannot hear what I recorded. While at the same time the activity "Flash Cards" as well as the activity "Write It" and the activity "Know It" is working perfectly fine. Therefore it can only be a bug in your software at this point in the activity "Hear It - Say It”. After trying Chrome it did not work either.

There are obviously ongoing problems with the audio since 2019 as seen on other comments (now while I was doing the certification in Module 5) ) and no one seems to be able or willing to take car of these issues. I am extremely disappointed.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Gerd, Lesson 5.9 has been fixed. With the new update some of the phraseboxes in that lesson stopped working as they should. Also, if you are using a Mac then we would recommend the Safari browser. Firefox does not support voice recognition. Firefox has said that it is coming but they have been saying that for 5 years!

Hannah Kittell
Hannah Kittell

Hannah Kittell

Rocket Korean United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

I hate to write this, but the English guide's strange midcentury Boston brahmin accent is so distracting that I cannot hear the Korean being spoken. Aside from the strange English, the phrases used for study are very long and not broken up into memorizable parts, and there is no option to not include the very long and unnecessary "extra vocab" from the audio in the flashcards and other study.
Overall this seems to be teaching canned phrases to be stored in short-term memory, rather than starting out small and forming a true understanding of the language for long-term learning. This might be good if you're visiting Korea for a short period and need to parrot some emergency phrases, but I may have to look elsewhere to actually learn to understand Korean. Pretty disappointed in how much money I spent.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Hannah, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy aspects of Rocket Korean. Did you use the "Play it!" activities? They are designed to get you speaking Korean in conversations. If you turn off the voice recognition then you can "make up" conversations.