Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4133 Customer reviews

76.7% (3169)

15.8% (652)

4.7% (195)

2.0% (82)

0.8% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

chiririn desu

Rocket Japanese Philippines

Submitted: 1 month ago

1 Likes

I definitely loved it even I just try it for a while. However, the price is so HIGH and EXPENSIVE for a student like me.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Matthew Kerouac

Rocket French France

Submitted: 1 month ago

1 Likes

Very poor experience regarding the numerous simple spelling mistakes and inconsistent and sometimes just plain wrong translations. I expected much more from a paid for language learning tool.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your review. When writing translations, we try to find a balance between being as literal as possible, while also conveying the meaning of a sentence. If there are any phrases you think we could translate more literally, please don't hesitate to send them through to our customer support team. Regarding spelling errors, we are in the process of going through all of the Rocket French lessons at the moment, and so you should soon find that this is no longer an issue. Our apologies for the frustration caused!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Ruth Skandera

Rocket French Nigeria

Submitted: 1 month ago

1 Likes

It is WAY to expensive for what it is! Not worth it.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your feedback. We believe that our courses offer the best "bang for buck" because you will actually learn and be able to use the language, rather than just pick up a few phrases here and there, right from the start. Rocket French teaches you 1000s of practical words and phrases, as well as the grammar rules that help you put it all together. The course gives you lots of opportunity to practice what you have learned, and really build your French speaking confidence. Plus, the courses come with lifetime access to the lessons, and so they very quickly become far more cost effective than other methods of learning, such as group classes or private tuition. I hope that helps!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Fernanda Ferreira

Rocket Chinese Brazil

Submitted: 3 months ago

1 Likes

Im loving the speech exercises. Too bad it's only a trial and it's quite short. Other apps also offer speech recognising exercises for free...

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Cheryl DeJager

Rocket Portuguese United States

Submitted: 3 months ago

1 Likes

I have only been using Rocket Portuguese for about a week. Have tried it on my iPad and both FireFox and Chrome on my computer. I would be impressed with this product if the microphone and rating on pronunciation worked consistently.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Jay Williams

Rocket Korean United States

Submitted: 6 months ago

1 Likes

Honest review

The voice recognition could use some work, but it's fun to use and definitely gets you speaking out loud. I haven't really seen any features offered yet that's worth the price. I'm basing that off of what's offered for free on the internet already.

Another feature though that deserves praise is the 'Play as' feature where you take the role of someone in a conversation. It's honestly a 5 star feature on its own.

Thinking about this in depth is making me realize how much is actually offered and how much I'm paying for it... I could only think of a couple good things (and they're basically the same thing). I can't recommend this to a friend while I'm thinking about discontinuing use of it myself. Wow

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Fort Myers Mendenhall

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 7 months ago

1 Likes

The program is OK but no grammar nor conjugation. It is a lot to pay for things I could get for free on Youtube

Response from Rocket Languages: Thank you for your review. Please note that each Module includes our Language and Culture lessons that teach the Spanish grammar rules. There are approximately 30 Language and Culture lessons per Level.

I hope that helps! If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Support team.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Edward Zyvith

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

3 Likes

My opinion may change over time, as I will complete this series (I paid for it.) But right now, I am not sure I like this method, generally speaking. I prefer methodical, professional books such as Genki/Adventures in Japanese/etc which actually explain what is going on. For example: Japanese conjugation is a little tricky and this course (so far) is not helping. I also have a tutor in Tokyo, and nothing is better than that. Lastly, the Kanji exercises at the end are super frustrating as when the sentences are long, the stupid thing auto-places the words and I cannot get them in the right order even when I know it. That said, it's always good to listen to native speakers, but in today's world, there are no shortages of resources in that department.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you haven't been finding our teaching style helpful. We have tested some of the longer phrases in the Write It exercise, but haven't been able to replicate the issue you've been experiencing, I'm sorry. If you have any specific feedback, please don't hesitate to send it through to our Customer Support team support@rocketlanguages.com. All the best!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Darren Rich

Rocket Spanish Australia

Submitted: 9 months ago

0 Likes

It says to write something awesome about Rocket languages. I can't. The voice recognition is absolutely terrible. I have changed the setting from default, to "Easy" and to "Hard", and it still doesn't recognise half of what I say. I can't complete the exercises properly because it fails to recognise most speech. It marks me down. It is REALLY slowing down my progress. I have tried: emphasising words with clear enunciation, speaking louder and softer, and speaking slowly. Still most of the time, even with simple words like "soy" and "doctor" it interprets them a something completely and randomly different, even with vowel sounds that aren't in the words. The rest of the time I just get the message that it "didn't catch that". I don't have a speech impediment. So should this review really give such low grading JUST because of one thing, the speech recognition? Yes, because the speech recognition is used in about 80% of the course sections.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having trouble with the voice recognition. If you're not already, we strongly recommend that you use a headset to record yourself. If you are using your inbuilt mic, then it's likely that it will be picking up lots of background noise, and affecting your results. If you continue to have trouble, please contact our customer support team on support@rocketlanguages.com

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Lee Rudnicki

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

This was an amazing experience until the 2021 update, which reformatted all of my notes, and pretty much trashed a year of work. UGH.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Lee - We fixed the issues you were having. It is all sorted now!