Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4201 Customer reviews

76.8% (3225)

15.7% (659)

4.7% (197)

2.0% (85)

0.8% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order by:

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Edward Zyvith

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 10 months ago

3 Likes

My opinion may change over time, as I will complete this series (I paid for it.) But right now, I am not sure I like this method, generally speaking. I prefer methodical, professional books such as Genki/Adventures in Japanese/etc which actually explain what is going on. For example: Japanese conjugation is a little tricky and this course (so far) is not helping. I also have a tutor in Tokyo, and nothing is better than that. Lastly, the Kanji exercises at the end are super frustrating as when the sentences are long, the stupid thing auto-places the words and I cannot get them in the right order even when I know it. That said, it's always good to listen to native speakers, but in today's world, there are no shortages of resources in that department.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you haven't been finding our teaching style helpful. We have tested some of the longer phrases in the Write It exercise, but haven't been able to replicate the issue you've been experiencing, I'm sorry. If you have any specific feedback, please don't hesitate to send it through to our Customer Support team support@rocketlanguages.com. All the best!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Darren Rich

Rocket Spanish Australia

Submitted: 11 months ago

0 Likes

It says to write something awesome about Rocket languages. I can't. The voice recognition is absolutely terrible. I have changed the setting from default, to "Easy" and to "Hard", and it still doesn't recognise half of what I say. I can't complete the exercises properly because it fails to recognise most speech. It marks me down. It is REALLY slowing down my progress. I have tried: emphasising words with clear enunciation, speaking louder and softer, and speaking slowly. Still most of the time, even with simple words like "soy" and "doctor" it interprets them a something completely and randomly different, even with vowel sounds that aren't in the words. The rest of the time I just get the message that it "didn't catch that". I don't have a speech impediment. So should this review really give such low grading JUST because of one thing, the speech recognition? Yes, because the speech recognition is used in about 80% of the course sections.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having trouble with the voice recognition. If you're not already, we strongly recommend that you use a headset to record yourself. If you are using your inbuilt mic, then it's likely that it will be picking up lots of background noise, and affecting your results. If you continue to have trouble, please contact our customer support team on support@rocketlanguages.com

undefined undefined
2020 review
undefined undefined
2020 review

Lee Rudnicki

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

This was an amazing experience until the 2021 update, which reformatted all of my notes, and pretty much trashed a year of work. UGH.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Lee - We fixed the issues you were having. It is all sorted now!

undefined undefined
2020 review
undefined undefined
2020 review

Anga John

Rocket Sign Language Saint Kitts and Nevis

Submitted: 1 year ago

0 Likes

Customer service needs to be quick. Please make it at least 3 minutes, not 2 to 4 days. What's awesome is, logo is intelligent.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Anga - We try and turn around our customer service emails within 2 working days. This is a better turnaround than a lot of sites and we are always trying to improve it!

undefined undefined
2020 review
undefined undefined
2020 review

new learner

Rocket French GA , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

Look, I understand that the French speak fast, but, you can't slow it down for people who are new to the language and are trying to learn? Let us understand the correct pronunciation and then we can increase the speed. I had to go to another source to grasp the correct pronunciation. Because of this, I strongly discourage anyone new to the French language from wasting their time on Rocket Languages.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there - The pronunciation in all of our Level 1 courses IS slower than native speakers. It can take some time to adjust to the rhythm of a new language so don't be disheartened if it is difficult to understand at first. Listening to a radio/podcast in the language is a good idea to speed up this process.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Tyah Ginyard

Rocket Spanish GA , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

0 Likes

The app has continuous glitches that the owners are not able to fix. The program is great, but the actual functionality is horrible.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Tyah - Unfortunately there are so many different types of phone, screen sizes, operating systems, etc that it can be hard to get apps working perfectly across the board. If you contact customer support we will try our best to trouble shoot your system.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Iza Azi

Rocket Hindi Belgium

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

Inconsistent and confusing !
The progression of difficulty in lessons is VERY problematic and not well though !
Sudden long chains of complex unknown words that you have to repeat during the gap which is often too short for long sentences even when you know them by heart.
Followed by obvious 2-word sentences you have seen and heard 5 times already.
Then back to a complex sentence filled with new words.
And not so much audio content in between.
Too expensive for that kind of inconsistency.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Iza - Unlike some more popular languages, there is no set way of learning Hindi (everyone seems to have a different opinion on how it could/should be done). It probably has to do with it being a dialect, which means there isn't necessarily a lot of uniformity when it comes to some words and phrases. We revamped Rocket Hindi at the start of 2020 and I feel that it is one of the best Hindi courses that you will find.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Lynn Herndon

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

4 Likes

I cannot tell you how frustrating it is to try to use this program. The program has so much trouble hearing what I'm repeating back to it. The company's FAQ says to use headsets; I am. Then it says it's because they have it tuned to "native speakers." Well, what good does that do a person who is not native? I don't think native speakers are using RF! I'm not new to the French language so my pronunciation is not bad. I can only imagine how annoyed someone completely new to this would be feeling right now. If it's anything close to how I feel, it's not very good.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Lynn - I have emailed you to find out more about what's going on. The voice recognition system works off a Google database so it should be very exact.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Kat X

Rocket German Burlingame, CA , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

4 Likes

I could not get past the incredibly annoying woman with her fingernails-on-chalkboard voice. The squeaking, the overemphatic emoting, the inane chatter and the off-putting accent have driven me away from this program in the first 5 minutes.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Kat; I am sorry to hear that you didn't gel with our Rocket German presenter. We are actually close to releasing an all new interactive audio course for Rocket German, with all new voices!

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Andrew Dawson

Rocket Japanese Manchester , United Kingdom

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

I have found Rocket Japanese to be useful, and frustrating in about equal measures. The voice-recognition is a great idea in helping perfect your pronunciation. Unfortunately I find that about 20% of the time (I haven't kept a count, this is a rough estimate) it simply doesn't work. Either your phrase is not recognised, or deemed incorrect. As a beginner, not knowing if it is you, or the software that is the problem can be insanely frustrating. It doesn't appear to be the longer sentences that suffer from this. The very first sounds we are asked to repeat are riddled with examples. After 3 months it still tells me I can't pronounce 'ka'.
I have finally been prompted to write this because the system tells me I cannot pronounce 'America jin' correctly. Clearly this is an almost native sound to an English speaker, but I mimic the example exactly to no avail. I can forgive these issues, although there are other minor complaints. I have also reported some mistakes in the text, but they remain unchanged. Personally I find that the audio lessons are rather childish, and would be happier if we just got on with the lesson, but I recognise that might just be me being grumpy.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Andrew, thanks for the detailed feedback. Unfortunately, very short words tend not to work very well with voice recognition as they don't have a lot of context. With regards the lessons themselves, we are in the process of completely redoing the Language & Culture lessons and hope to have those up in the next couple of months. Unfortunately, the pandemic has put a halt to a lot of our activities.