Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4189 Customer reviews

76.7% (3214)

15.7% (658)

4.7% (197)

2.0% (85)

0.8% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Bill Landman

Rocket Spanish Idaho Falls, Id , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

Out is very difficult to get the scoring of certain spoken words to work properly. Course 9.11 is the most frustrating Rocket Spanish lesson so far. In the"Hear it Say it" module, every single infinitive - conocer, poder, querer, etc- could not be scored 100% no matter how it was pronounced.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bill - We will look into what's happening here.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Ellen Madono

Rocket Spanish Saitama , Japan

Submitted: 2 years ago

13 Likes

I am generally very happy with the spoken feedback and the quality of the instruction of Spanish.

Unfortunately often my mic fails to pick up my spoken answer correctly. I bought a special mic for my iPhone and I hope that the mic performance will improve.

However, I need to review and practice hard points such as writing with the correct accent marks. Doing the harder parts of lessons several times is helpful.

I am very pleased with being able to download lesson lectures. Then I can practice away from the computer. This is very helpful.

One problematic lesson:

In Module one of Rocket Spanish, there is one lesson that is poorly designed. Presently I am doing the alphabet. Why is there no spoken practice of the alphabet? Words are presented as a vocabulary list to be memorized. How useless. ! But there is no testing or practice of spelling which is the object of the lesson. This pointless presentation of the alphabet is unlike the quality of other lessons. I wish it could be redone.

Also, in this lesson it is argued that the alphabet is related to learning the correct pronunciation of Spanish.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Ellen - Thanks for the detailed review. As far as the alphabet not having voice recognition, this is because single letters do not work well with voice recognition. It always looks for a word or phrase, which would give mixed results. In saying that further down that page there are examples of each letter of the alphabet in use in common Spanish words.

We will email you directly as it does seem strange that we haven't received or replied to your emails.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Tom Ramer

Rocket Japanese Okinawa , Japan

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

Very disappointed in this product. Trial was very good. Purchased Step #1 with coupon. Have not received access nor response to my many emails. Feel like I was suckered. Again Free Trial very good. Enticing once paid nothing. Again maybe a glitch. No response from Customer Service opens the door for negative assumptions

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Tom - Thanks a lot for your feedback. Our Customer Support Team has contacted you to get your access sorted.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Megan Van Alstine

Rocket Italian Canada

Submitted: 2 years ago

6 Likes

I enjoy the conversations that Rocket Italian is based on, but as a language instructor that uses strictly immersion techniques, I can't stand the amount of English that is in each lesson. There is SO much room for additional vocab that could be taught through the use of more exclusive Italian. It makes me frustrated to waste so much time on English banter. I am really struggling to make use of this course.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Megan - Thanks for your review. There is undoubtedly a lot of explanation in Level 1 of Rocket Italian. If the material is too easy then we would swap you out to a higher level that has much less English in it!

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

kesaobaka kooreng

Rocket French Gaborone , Botswana

Submitted: 3 years ago

2 Likes

Rocket Languages is an excellent way to learn a language . It opens you up to how you can pronounce the language through following the tutor. I enjoy the bit where you have to write because it is a good practice to know the words and how to pronounce them. I also like the flash cards because they enable you to pronounce and get to hear if you are doing it properly. My favorite is the quiz because it gives me the opportunity to show that I understand what I have been learning. I like Rocket Languages to an extend that I will not hesitate to recommend it to anyone willing to try it. I enjoy it when it also corrects spelling to show you where you went wrong right away.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Mark Judd

Rocket French United Kingdom

Submitted: 3 years ago

1 Likes

The grading system is all over the place. They have a colour coded system that is meant to reflect proficiency but it patently doesn't correspond with any of the lessons. I completed all the modules available, everything was correct but the colour coded system gave me 1 green tick and 4 yellow symbols. It makes no sense.

I asked for an explanation for this but the response made little sense too.

I think somewhere in the Rocket system is a great app waiting to break out but it is currently too cumbersome which is a pity.

They ask users to write something awesome, they are assuming people think the app is awesome when it isn't yet.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Mark - Thanks for the feedback. The app has been completely updated as of 2019, so any glitchy behavior is hopefully sorted out!

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Leo Giertz

Rocket Italian Stockholm , Sweden

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

The guy, Alex, in the Italian course comes across as a somewhat of a douche. He tries to be funny by pretending to flirt with the co host, Maria, but it just feels awkward. It might just be me, but I would prefer if they just sticked to the language material.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Seccra Card

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

I like the interactive part it really helps with memory. So far the voice recognition has been really annoying, maybe because im a perfectionist and when it wont record correctly I cant move on. Also I have not had any grammar lesson on conjugations. If i hadnt had a background in Spanish I think I would be a little lost by now.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Seccra - Please contact customer support around the voice recognition issue. I am sure that we can resolve that. Also, Level 1 (and the other higher levels) do have quite a few Language & Culture lessons on verb conjugations. Did you see those?

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Polly Keeling

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

3 Likes

It is too frustrating. It doesn’t always understand what I am saying, even if I am saying it correctly. I don’t think I should have to know every ñ, é, á etc. when I am writing. It takes way too long. Need to shorten the lessons. I haven’t been doing them b/c I get too frustrated when it doesn’t understand me.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Polly - Please make sure that you are using a headset microphone for best results with voice recognition. We have just added in special character keys to Rocket Spanish "Write it" activities to make the writing process much easier.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Russell Fowler

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

2 Likes

Overall a good course - perhaps a few too many bells and whistles. In the French course the instructor needs to speak MUCH more slowly and enunciate more clearly. Speaking too fast, especially in the early stages, does NOT provide the student with proper pronunciation. It may be the way many French people speak day to day, but you need to learn the proper way to say things before speaking rapidly. I speak some French and what I'm hearing is not clear for a new student to learn properly.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Russell - It usually does take some time for ears to be trained to a new language. It can be a good idea to listen to a French radio station during the day to help with this process.