Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4001 Customer reviews

76.4% (3057)

15.8% (633)

4.9% (198)

1.9% (78)

0.9% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

Susie Seiler

Susie Seiler

Rocket Japanese Tokyo , Japan

Submitted: 3 years ago

1 Likes

Rocket Japanese: it's been two (April 14.) months since the Rocket Language app for iOS has been updated and since I am not able to use it anymore as it is not possible to write in hiragana/katakana anymore. I contacted support, got (after days - and weeks) assurance that it will be taken care of - yet the "bug" update 2 weeks ago did not address any of my clearly communicated (screenshots and screenvideo) problems. If you work on iOS (iPhoneX & iPad Pro, latest firmware) do not download this app - it is NOT working as advertised.
A word to the support... promising an update and therefore a working app might "quiet" the user but it is contraproductive to take no action at all.
I'll be happy to re-review my feedback once I am able to use the app again. Until then... 1 star.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Susie - We were having an issue with the length of time that it takes for an app to get approved by Apple (up to a week), which meant that any bugs took a while to get sorted. Apple have been working to reduce this time, especially for minor bug fixes.

Bernard Swartz

Bernard Swartz

Rocket French Yakima, WA , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

1 Likes

I was very happy with the program until the new format. The functionality when using an iPad has significantly deteriorated. In particular, I am unhappy with now being unable to replay pronunciation in order to compare with the speaker. My voice recordings are frequently cut off in mid-phrase. Basically, the program is no longer user friendly for people owning iPads. I no longer will recommend this program to my friends. In fact I am traveling to Europe this summer with some friends and I have told them to find another program. We are going to brush up on different languages prior to traveling.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Bernard - I am sorry to hear about the issues you have been having. We have updated the iOS app, so this sort of behavior shouldn't be happening now. Please contact customer support if you continue to have issues.

Elaine Taylor

Elaine Taylor

Rocket Spanish Mississauga

Submitted: 3+ years ago

1 Likes

I've been looking for an interactive program to teach me Spanish... and Rocket Languages fits the bill! It's easy to use, cheaper than the competition and fits my learning style. Can't ask for more!

Jay Williams
2021 Edition
review

Jay Williams

Rocket Korean United States

Submitted: 20 days ago

0 Likes

Honest review

The voice recognition could use some work, but it's fun to use and definitely gets you speaking out loud. I haven't really seen any features offered yet that's worth the price. I'm basing that off of what's offered for free on the internet already.

Another feature though that deserves praise is the 'Play as' feature where you take the role of someone in a conversation. It's honestly a 5 star feature on its own.

Thinking about this in depth is making me realize how much is actually offered and how much I'm paying for it... I could only think of a couple good things (and they're basically the same thing). I can't recommend this to a friend while I'm thinking about discontinuing use of it myself. Wow

Fort Myers Mendenhall
2021 Edition
review

Fort Myers Mendenhall

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 1 month ago

0 Likes

The program is OK but no grammar nor conjugation. It is a lot to pay for things I could get for free on Youtube

Response from Rocket Languages: Thank you for your review. Please note that each Module includes our Language and Culture lessons that teach the Spanish grammar rules. There are approximately 30 Language and Culture lessons per Level.

I hope that helps! If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Support team.

Darren Rich
2021 Edition
review

Darren Rich

Rocket Spanish Australia

Submitted: 3 months ago

0 Likes

It says to write something awesome about Rocket languages. I can't. The voice recognition is absolutely terrible. I have changed the setting from default, to "Easy" and to "Hard", and it still doesn't recognise half of what I say. I can't complete the exercises properly because it fails to recognise most speech. It marks me down. It is REALLY slowing down my progress. I have tried: emphasising words with clear enunciation, speaking louder and softer, and speaking slowly. Still most of the time, even with simple words like "soy" and "doctor" it interprets them a something completely and randomly different, even with vowel sounds that aren't in the words. The rest of the time I just get the message that it "didn't catch that". I don't have a speech impediment. So should this review really give such low grading JUST because of one thing, the speech recognition? Yes, because the speech recognition is used in about 80% of the course sections.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having trouble with the voice recognition. If you're not already, we strongly recommend that you use a headset to record yourself. If you are using your inbuilt mic, then it's likely that it will be picking up lots of background noise, and affecting your results. If you continue to have trouble, please contact our customer support team on support@rocketlanguages.com

Anga John
2021 Edition
review

Anga John

Rocket Sign Language Saint Kitts and Nevis

Submitted: 8 months ago

0 Likes

Customer service needs to be quick. Please make it at least 3 minutes, not 2 to 4 days. What's awesome is, logo is intelligent.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Anga - We try and turn around our customer service emails within 2 working days. This is a better turnaround than a lot of sites and we are always trying to improve it!

Tyah Ginyard

Tyah Ginyard

Rocket Spanish GA , United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

0 Likes

The app has continuous glitches that the owners are not able to fix. The program is great, but the actual functionality is horrible.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Tyah - Unfortunately there are so many different types of phone, screen sizes, operating systems, etc that it can be hard to get apps working perfectly across the board. If you contact customer support we will try our best to trouble shoot your system.