Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.
I think that it's pretty useful, but the voice recognition doesn't really work for the languages that I am learning.
Response from Rocket Languages
We're sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing with the voice recognition. We have contacted you via email to try and resolve this issue for you.
Somehow there is not enough interactivity around speaking and listening. Some activities are writing, some speaking, the quiz environments largely test grammar but language is whole and you can't take time figuring out what you are going to say.
Response from Rocket Languages
Hi Mike, thank you for your review. We're pretty big on speaking so make sure you're interacting with the voice recognition whenever you can. You'll find plenty of opportunities to use it in your lessons as well as in the Rocket reinforcement activities. All the best!
It's so annoying. The microphone won't work. It keeps on saying "no speech detected," even when I am yelling it out in a quiet environment.
Response from Rocket Languages
Hi Hannah, sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing with the voice recognition. We have reached out to you via email to get some more information. All the best!
the kanji test in the first lesson is a little too advance
Response from Rocket Languages
Hi Tony, we don't expect beginners to Japanese to know kanji right away, but we still feel it's important to include these tests so that our users can go back at a later date once they have learned some of the kanji. As such, these tests do not count towards completion, and you can simply skip them if you have not yet learned the kanji. All the best!
The speech recognition is terrible. It is very frustrating to repeatedly have to say simple words like tre, or anno because the first half of the word isn't picked up, also p and c are often confused by the software. Learning needs to be enjoyable and before I get the carbon copy have you tried setting this, get a better headset b.s. I have a $300 state-of-the-art headset that I use for zoom meetings, online test proctoring, and music production. It is NOT my equipment. This whole course is centered around listening (which works perfectly) and repeating to work on pronunciation. I am assuming and hoping that it will be better later in the course when I am speaking in complete sentences, but I'll never know because I can't justify paying this already high price for a program that doesn't work from the beginning.
Response from Rocket Languages
Hi Patrick, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear about the issues you are having with the speech recognition—that shouldn't be happening. We have contacted you via email to get some more information from you. We can also jump on a call with you and try to iron this issue out.
Taking the sign language course next to someone who is fluent in ASL and am being told that some of the syntax and even signs in the early modules are just incorrect. Disappointing that I have to have her check your work.
Response from Rocket Languages
Thank you so much for your feedback, Braxton! Just like many other languages, American Sign Language (ASL) has unique variations depending on where you are. We always aim to present the most universally applicable version, but there will always be some regional variance. It is important to know that this does not necessarily mean it is incorrect and if you have any specific examples that you would like to discuss with us, please feel free to reach out at support@rocketlanguages.com. We'd be happy to help!
I am in the last (7th) Module of Level 1.
Generally, I like the course because it is very structured and explains language concepts very well. I like that there are dedicated grammar lessons that clearly concentrate on building your grammar foundations. A complete opposite of Duolingo which has no grammar explanations at all.
Some people find the humor in the course stale but I have no issue with it (not great but not bad either, tolerable).
The course does a pretty bad job in all flashcards and speaking (translation) exercises when the "you" word needs to be translated into German (translates to one of "du", "ihr", "Sie"). None of them are commented so you just make frustrating mistakes. There should be clear hints what is expected there.
The lessons are generally very long (often takes an hour to finish) which is not great. I think they should be broken up to smaller lessons that are no longer than 30 minutes. Due to the long time required to finish a lesson, I often cannot finish one during a single day and can only do the remaining part next day.
The Android app has been rewritten since I started the course and it is much better now (huge improvement there, congrats to the devs).
The price is also very hefty for the course. The ~250 EUR I paid should be some family package with 4-6 members (with separate progress tracking). An advertisement supported version would also be appreciated.
Response from Rocket Languages
Thank for taking the time to share your thoughts on the course; it's great to hear that you generally enjoy the course. Regarding the flashcards and speaking exercises, there will be a notation visible to use as hints for you to know which version of the word "you" to use. We recognize that some lessons can be long but that is because we pride ourselves on comprehensiveness, the lessons will always save your place in them if you choose to leave and come back at a later date. We hope you continue to get the most out of your Rocket German course.
It is a bad version of other courses. The voice recognition is poor based on experience from other apps. I have paid into the course you may wish not to.
Response from Rocket Languages
We're sorry to hear that, David. Don't hesitate to get in touch with our support team, and we'll set you up on a technical call with our friendly IT team to see how we can improve your experience with the voice recognition!
There are lots of opportunities to review and practice. It would be improved by cutting all the silly English comments. It takes up time and is not necessary to learn -irritating.
Response from Rocket Languages
Thanks for the feedback, Stephanie. At Rocket, we understand that learning a new language can be daunting. That's why we focus on creating a stress-free experience that you can enjoy from the comfort of your home. We acknowledge that the English jokes and quips, in service of this, in the Audio lessons may not be everyone's cup of tea, but we hope you are still enjoying the course!
Shopping as the 3rd lesson? What an absolute joke!
Response from Rocket Languages
It sounds like you have found our first bonus Survival Kit Lesson. This is just to give you an example of the lesson style, so feel free to continue with the audio lessons instead. Keep up the good work!