Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4189 Customer reviews

76.7% (3214)

15.7% (658)

4.7% (197)

2.0% (85)

0.8% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Shawna Collins

Rocket Italian Canada

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

I've been using Rocket Italian since about March 2019 and I purchased the program because I am required to pass a language exam. I purchased all 3 levels and if you are someone traveling to Italy or learning basic conversational skills this program is great. However, if you have more intermediate needs this program is just ok. It would be nice if there were more breakdowns of the conversations once you get more advanced and provide simple words or phrases to translate. While building skills, the program will ask you to learn the verb to have and memorize extremely long sentences in the same lesson. This happens most lessons and is ineffective for my learning because it doesn't help you practice the skill and learn competency but memorization.

One of the tenses used most often in my work is the historic past and this tense is the one with the least information and preparation. Beyond that, what I've noticed is that the program pushes you to learn specific meanings of words. For example, in one lesson that began with the word "well" I responded with a translation of dunque. The program marked me wrong and was looking for allora. Both are acceptable translations and I am likely to come across both.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed in aspects of Rocket Italian. We are reviewing all of the course content in the next few months so will be sure to take into account your comments.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Dan carpenter

Rocket Spanish Albuquerque, NM , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

5 Likes

I tried Babble first and found it too difficult for a complete novice. So far, I have found Rocket much easier to follow and the tips in the first few days have been very helpful. My disappointment is the short window to purchase the full course at a reasonable (Discounted) price after downloading the free lessons. I'm not sure I have the time to devote to study right now and I will probably be interested in buying an online learning class in the future. It may not be Rocket because I will know I could have purchased it for a lower price if I had been ready in the early stages. I also would like to find a course that has an Echo Auto App for the program. I mostly listen and practice in the car and I use my echo auto to play the lessons on my car speaker. If they had a app I could control it a little better with voice commands. Oh well, "If wishes were horses then beggars could ride." (anonymous)

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Gabriela Issa

Rocket French Brazil

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

What I like about this course is the great emphasis given to pronounciation, since it is so difficult to speak french. But Paul greatly annoys me in those introduction audios to each lesson, because he talks too much...!! He's such a time consumer... I tend to keep jumping many "ten seconds" to dig into the proper french..

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Carol reeves

Rocket Spanish IN , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

8 Likes

I have been using Rocket Spanish for a while now, beginning with the second level, then, when I realized it was too advanced, moving back to level 1.

Overall, it has been very helpful to me. I like practicing the conversations, and once I got my microphone to work, the voice activities were great.

However, there are a few issues. First, until just recently, you were able to flag vocabulary words as you moved through a lesson that would then be stored in your saved vocabulary. But now I can't do that. I've reported the problem and have heard nothing back.

I did not get a "deal" when I joined, so I paid full price, which was a bit high compared to other programs.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Ronald Buchle

Rocket Russian United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

6 Likes

Not truly rating yet, Really, I just started it. Only on lesson 1.1. Not sufficient to judge. Using this along with other sources, Penguin book, Living languages CDs and Duolingo and Master Russian online, plus a few other lesser sources. Plus I'm already familiar with the Cyrillic alphabet as I used it in the Air Force back in 1962-4. I'm 76 now and not in a hurry as I have no place to use Russian, just keeping the brain active. Thus most of the vocabulary and some of the theory of lessons 1.1 and 1.2, I already am already familiar with from the other sources. Each course also has differing additional vocabulary. Having said that, I do like being able to hear and mimic the pronunciations and working through the exercises to help remember the vocabulary. It is impossible to rate a program so soon. I would prefer to do my rating after a month or so when I really know what to rate. Stay tuned.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

arick rinaldo

Rocket Italian colorado , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

0 Likes

I found that I would prefer to see the written words as well while learning the pronunciation, i did not see this on the trial so i opted out

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Chuck Bianco

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

Unfortunately I am one of the Rocket Languages failures. I spent my first few months doing what I believed the course asked me to do -- one lesson per day with extra study. After 4 months I had finished the first level of Spanish. I could say hello to folks, order a simple meal in a restaurant -- check in to a hotel, etc., but when I met with my Spanish speaking friends I could not understand what they were saying . So following the recommended learning path was not working for me.

I also noted that the course admins reward points as an indication of learning. Yet, in my case, I could not see any relationship between points and my knowledge of the material. Also a glaring weakness is that one can earn points by repeatedly answering the same questions. I found that I was memorizing the answers to all of the questions. I then thought if I could present the materials to myself in a different way, I could learn the materials better. I began pulling down many of the lessons at one time -- taking them into a little program I developed that would then present the material to me in various ways. My hope in doing this is that by so doing, I would more effectively learn the materials.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: The issue was not about whether or not you were trying to game the points the system. The issue was that it is impossible to get 50,000 points on a continuous daily basis without manipulating the system, which as you allude to in your review, you did. It's not fair to our other users to let that continue to happen.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

David Burgess

Rocket French NSW , Australia

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

Voice recognition is very variable with certain short words. eg un, deux trois. The rest of the numbers appear fine. How do you get better than 35% on a one word answer eg être?
Overall I think the programme is very good

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Tylee Britton

Rocket Chinese MS , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

Not as structured as I'd like. Some of the lessons seem unnecessary, as I wouldn't use them in everyday life. I have previously used Pimsleur but thought this was a better deal. I prefer the lessons with the interactive audio kind of like Pimsleur. the other lessons aren't super helpful, but I guess they are nice to have... I wish there was more repetition of phrases instead of single words. Interface on both app and browser are outdated and could use some major updates (especially the app). Kinda buggy, but that is forgiven. I also use the hellochinese app, and it is great. Might go back to Pimsleur if it wasn't so overpriced.

undefined undefined
undefined undefined

Henrique de Castro

Rocket French Rio de Janeiro , Brazil

Submitted: 2 years ago

4 Likes

The course is fine and the french lessons are in good taste but for a developing country like Brazil the prices are absurdly high and literally makes it impossible for me to actually buy the course.