The Memorial Day 4-Day Sale
Apply coupon: MEMORIAL

Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4299 Customer reviews

76.9% (3304)

15.7% (673)

4.6% (199)

2.0% (87)

0.8% (36)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

Order by:

Tylee Britton
Tylee Britton

Tylee Britton

Rocket Chinese MS , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

Not as structured as I'd like. Some of the lessons seem unnecessary, as I wouldn't use them in everyday life. I have previously used Pimsleur but thought this was a better deal. I prefer the lessons with the interactive audio kind of like Pimsleur. the other lessons aren't super helpful, but I guess they are nice to have... I wish there was more repetition of phrases instead of single words. Interface on both app and browser are outdated and could use some major updates (especially the app). Kinda buggy, but that is forgiven. I also use the hellochinese app, and it is great. Might go back to Pimsleur if it wasn't so overpriced.

Henrique de Castro
Henrique de Castro

Henrique de Castro

Rocket French Rio de Janeiro , Brazil

Submitted: 2 years ago

4 Likes

The course is fine and the french lessons are in good taste but for a developing country like Brazil the prices are absurdly high and literally makes it impossible for me to actually buy the course.

Philip Swan
Philip Swan

Philip Swan

Rocket Russian Birmingham , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 years ago

4 Likes

Although I like the system employed, and it is certainly better than the so called market leader, there are some elements which could be improved.

The most frustrating thing for me is the translation facility which is sooooooo slow. How much better it would be if the translation could be downloaded somehow instead of relying on a live connection.

The other obvious point is that it is not possible to use Rocket Language if there is no internet connection

Maria Machado
Maria Machado

Maria Machado

Rocket Italian Rio Grande do Sul , Brazil

Submitted: 2 years ago

10 Likes

Rocket italian is not bad, but it could be so much better.

I'm still studying Level 1 - Unit 3 but I have noticed several issues:
- The audio tracks are a bit long for my taste. They take from 20 to 30 minutes and are spoken very slowly. The website and the app don't allow you to speed it up, so you have to download the tracks in order to do it;
- The conversations are between a native italian and a heavily accented american. I am not a native english speaker and several of the rocket students also aren't so I don't see why not using only native italian speakers on the audio tracks
- There are several small translation mistakes and inadequacies, over time they start being annoying;
- Some audios should be reviewed/updated, the other day I heard one that made reference to the year 2008.

Also, Rocket Languages is oblivious to the existence of potential students in developing countries (as in my case) when establishing their pricing strategy. These courses are way more expensive for me, for instance, as they are for my american or european counterparts, when purchase power is concerned.

Rocket languages also does not give meaningful discounts when you enroll in more than one language.

Amanda Bozzi
Amanda Bozzi

Amanda Bozzi

Rocket Japanese VIRGINIA , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

I agree with several reviewers that the narrator, Sarah is possibly the most monotone person on the planet. I mean, she gives Ben Stein a run for his money. The product idea is great and when it's working properly, it's the best on the market. Unfortunately, I can't gove it five or even four stars as it's just too buggy (sometimes the audio doesn't play or double plays - sounds like there are two Sayakas or Kennys competing for my attention - or the mic doesn't work at times). Hopefully, those are fixed soon!

Alexandre Coutu
Alexandre Coutu

Alexandre Coutu

Rocket Hindi Manitoba , Canada

Submitted: 2 years ago

9 Likes

I am now working on the 3rd module of the Hindi course, so I've tested the programme a fair bit. Hindi must be about the 20th language I study, so I have some idea of what learning a language is about.

While I enjoy the app, the format, the light-heartedness of the dialogues and voice actors, I am frustrated by a number of things.

First of all, there are too many typos for a language course. As a learner, I shouldn't be left wondering what's going on, only to realize later that it was a typo. There are too many weird things happening, like odd or irregular translations, plurals instead of singulars, the female voice actor reading a first-person response in the masculine, etc. All this gets in the way of the otherwise fun topics and voice actors. It adds confusion to an already difficult process.

Second, I disagree with the general principle that the student should just repeat without understanding. I'm fine with putting emphasis on the carelessness of "just repeat and you'll eventually get it", and it does remove pressure from the student to perform, but there are grammatical questions that need to be explained (even with some simple additional written material), and to leave it to chance, frankly, just feels lazy.

Read More

Nicholas Milbourn
Nicholas Milbourn

Nicholas Milbourn

Rocket Russian West Midlands , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

The customer service is completely non existent. I have tried a few language courses over the years and this is by far the worst. It would be helpful to get a response but even that basic service eludes this company. The product offered might be useful if you could only get to it. Finding answers is like pulling your own teeth out. The company offers to learn a language fast ........yeah ok but it takes three days of waiting for.......... Nothing no response. Disgusting

Note from Rocket Languages: Hi Nicholas, thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you aren't happy with our courses. Our Customer Support Team has sent you a follow-up message to solve any issues you might have. All the best with your language learning! Your Rocket Languages Team

Matthew Weaver
Matthew Weaver

Matthew Weaver

Rocket Italian Singapore , Singapore

Submitted: 2 years ago

5 Likes

Italian, it started off great but the guy's voice has become tired and boring. In fact I can't bring myself to listen to it anymore simply because his voice depresses me. Maria is great, energetic and up beat, but the dude, o' maron! Lui e molto stanco.

Fred Ryan
Fred Ryan

Fred Ryan

Rocket Spanish California , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

12 Likes

Almost Great
The organization of material, and its presentation are great. There is one technical flaw, however, and it is major, and inexcusable in this very expensive app. In neither the Lesson or the Conversation can you stop or go back to something that you are not sure of. In learning a language, there are ALWAYS situations where something specific is not clear and you need to confirm or correct what you just heard. It’s amazing that you in order to find that specific thing you need to double check, you have to finish the entire lesson or entire conversation, go back to the very beginning and listen to the entire thing again! That is a MAJOR technical flaw, and I am amazed that, although it has been mentioned by other reviews, it hasn’t been fixed. If that were fixed, this would be a 5 star app, now it’s only a 3 star app.

nyra sander
nyra sander

nyra sander

Rocket Korean lucknow , uttarpradesh , India

Submitted: 3 years ago

5 Likes

As I am very much intersted in learning korean as I am an BTS ARMY and m very much fond of learning korean so that i can understand them and when hopefully when I meet them I can talk to them properly..........m very thankful ................................................................................saranghaeyo !!
BANGTAN SONYEONDAN :)