Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4189 Customer reviews

76.7% (3214)

15.7% (658)

4.7% (197)

2.0% (85)

0.8% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Daniel Gregor

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 7 months ago

1 Likes

Just at the end of my first week and looking forward to continuing. Seems easy to follow but I can see that constant review of previous lessons is likely to be my path to success. Also, I can see where vocabulary recall may become a primary source of frustration for me. I'm pushing forward and hoping for a level of fluency to use in traveling within a year. Note: I have had no reason to contact customer service at this point.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Graham Carroll

Rocket Japanese United Kingdom

Submitted: 7 months ago

1 Likes

Rocket Japanese V1 was great a good balance between the conversations and grammar. But Japanese V2 seems to have far too much grammar content and this is resulting in very slow progress learning and relearning the same grammatical rules . Rocket Japanese V1 was much better . This focus on grammar is reminiscent of learning French when I was at school (in the 1960s ha ha!) and I fear will have the same effect... a French qualification but with only tourist level French conversational skills. A shame ...

Response from Rocket Languages: We're sorry to hear that you are finding the course too heavy on grammar. In our most recent review, we aligned Rocket Japanese to the JLPT requirements so that our course covers the standard topics a Japanese learner needs. For learners who are working towards JLPT, they have a more complete resource that they can use in their studies. For those who are not, aligning our courses simply means that you have a more concrete view of what your lessons cover. We have tried to introduce the heavy grammatical concepts in a digestible way, by splitting them up across the lessons and keeping things simple. We're confident that these updates are much more useful for all our learners, serious or casual!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

James Mccormack

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 7 months ago

1 Likes

Every time I ask someone "do you speak French" I almost always get "un peu" followed by, that they studied in school but have forgotten everything they learned. I have found that you never forget, it is just that your knowledge is dormant. You will remember when you again use what you learned many years ago.
I first learned to speak French as a young boy living in Orleans. Over the decades I studied French whenever I had a language required in school. I continued to study over the years. Usually when we would be vacationing or visiting France.
I did find that due to non use I lost much of my French language skills. I think of all the different formats available to teach a language "Rocket French" has proven to be the most effective. Although early in the program I feel the "Rocket" is a learning program with which I will be most comfortable. I'll find out just how effective it will be next summer when I return to France. Merci et Bientot.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Flin Flon Flin Flon

Rocket Spanish Canada

Submitted: 7 months ago

1 Likes

Let me again reiterate something that I drew your attention in the past:
You lost in some categories (despite high quality of the program on the technical and didactic fronts) at least on star in the survey because of the manner this survey is delivered in the middle of a lesson in a most frustrating and hampering manner which I feel aggressive, if not outright harassing! If you need feedback, do offer your surveys AFTER the end of a lesson (at the moment of a switch from one lesson to another) to avoid an absolutely PREDICTABLE distraction in the middle of the learning process and high concentration - I don't think this is something that a reasonable person cannot predict.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your feedback. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the survey prompt. We have forwarded your comments to the IT team who will strongly consider the process as part of their upcoming UX review. All the best with your continued language learning.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Melbourne Melbourne

Rocket Italian Australia

Submitted: 7 months ago

1 Likes

so far so good getting to grips wish the quiz was slightly more than 5

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Gary Genest

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 7 months ago

3 Likes

I'm steadily increasing my knowledge of French. I like being able to just jump into where I left off and do 10 to 20 minutes of study whenever I feel like it.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Rajka Vujaklija

Rocket French Croatia (Hrvatska)

Submitted: 7 months ago

1 Likes

the lessons are really, but I would prefer more time left in the intro to repeat the sentence after Claire, instead of that time used to make "jokes" by Martin

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Jon Wadrop

Rocket Russian Australia

Submitted: 7 months ago

2 Likes

I'm a very senior person trying to learn Russian, it's not easy, however am really enjoying the challenge.
The course is well set up and quite intuitive, the interactive reviewing system is excellent.
I'm a little surprised there is not a forum attached to the course/web site to allow students to exchange thoughts and perhaps practice what they have learned.
Jon.
Adelaide,
South Australia.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your review Jon. Please note that our course does come with forum that all members can access. Just click on your avatar in the top right hand corner of your course and select Forum from the drop down list. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Support team.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Rachel Suddeth

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

1 Likes

I'm very happy with the format and tools provided. It's always good to approach learning from multiple angle, and super important in language learning to have conversations. Rocket is providing all these things. The one thing I don't like is that the early lessons are teaching the "familiar" form of you, and not teaching the "formal" at all. I'm learning for the sake of speaking to my father's caregiver, and I know she prefers Usted. I've also gotten horrible stares when I accidentally used familiar conjugation when trying to practice Spanish with Spanish speaking acquaintances. I know there are places that don't use the formal, but in places that do, I believe survival Spanish (ordering from a menu, etc) would be much better used with the formal, which is always respectful with people you don't know. And would be understood as meaning to be respectful even in places it's not commonly used.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your review. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying the Rocket teaching method! As for formal vs. informal forms of address in our lessons, we do start out with informal conversations in the first few Interactive Audio lessons, but if you keep going, you will find formal conversations as well, as early as Lesson 1.4! And if you're looking specifically to practice ordering formally in a restaurant or at a bakery, you can find conversations on those topics in Module 4. You can also find both the formal and informal forms being taught right from the very beginning in our Language & Culture lessons. I hope that this is helpful!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

mohammed hasheem

Rocket French India

Submitted: 8 months ago

2 Likes

I was happy about the course. teaching was nice. I enjoyed the learning.