Rocket Languages Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Languages reviews.

Average rating

4.7

Rocket Languages review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

4189 Customer reviews

76.7% (3214)

15.7% (658)

4.7% (197)

2.0% (85)

0.8% (35)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Sarah Todd

Rocket French Australia

Submitted: 8 months ago

4 Likes

A generally excellent course - I love the structure of core lessons supported by reinforcement activities, and the fact that you can break up your learning into conversation-based and grammar-based modules. There is a good balance between formal grammar (in the Language and Culture lessons) and the core conversational modules. I like the way sentences are broken down by the speakers and there is a chance to repeat the whole conversation yourself.
The only problem has been the voice recording, which is sometimes faulty - it seems to not pick up what you say, even using the microphone, or to judge you poorly even on simple words such as "tout". I have studied French before so I know with words like that that I'm pronouncing them correctly, but the system rates me down. This problem seems quite random so I can only think it's a software problem. If it had not been for this, I would have rated Rocket French 5 stars all round. It is still a very good course though.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your review. Regarding Rocket Record (our voice recognition software), we are currently working on improving this feature so that, in the future, you will find it to be more accurate. All the best with your language learning!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Jerrod Qualls

Rocket Arabic United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

1 Likes

I've only been using since earlier today, but I've completed my lesson for the day in its entirety and I'm liking it so far... Thanks Rocket Language.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Barbara Balkin

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

1 Likes

I am very pleased with the program. Very well organized and gives a variety of ways to practice and assess one's progress.

I am old enough to remember having to go to a language lab on campus and listen to the tapes there. Of course, nothing interactive available.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Thomas Spotts

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

3 Likes

I like the practicality of starting with useful daily conversations in Spanish, as opposed to a heavy dose of grammar and vocabulary memorization. I like the breakdown of phrases into their individual parts and the repetition. The pauses between repeated phrases allow ample time to practice mimicking the speakers aloud. Then checking my pronunciation against theirs. As a lifelong educator myself, I like the 'layered' approach--with one conversation building on the previous conversation and then continuing. This IS an effective way to learn pretty much anything! Good job Rocket Spanish. :)

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

John Allington

Rocket Spanish United Kingdom

Submitted: 10 months ago

2 Likes

I wanted to give it a thorough testing before leaving a review and as I have just completed Level 1 (sort of) now is the perfect time.

The interactive audio lessons and survival kit lessons are a fantastic way to learn a language. Listening to the audio and not understanding it at all before the lesson and understanding it completely after the lesson is very rewarding.


The language recognition is inconsistent, although much improved. It works very will on Chrome using an ancient windows 7 laptop. It's pretty good on my phone (IOS). It's not so good on my new laptop, regardless of which browser I use.

The language and culture lessons were a big problem for me. By module 5 I was completely out of my depth. It was taking ages just to complete a lesson & I wasn't able to retain the content at all. It led to long periods of me "quitting" in frustration for weeks at a time. By module 7 I simply had to stop attempting them. I appreciate this may be exclusively my problem, I have very little formal education. I have recently purchased a number of very basic children's books and I hope that regular reading will help with my grammar and language. Perhaps one day I can revisit the lessons I struggled with or didn't attempt.

Read More

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Tony Harvell

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 10 months ago

0 Likes

it is actually very good at reinforcing grammar and pronunciation. The cultural component is not that strong, but at least it is introduced. I am at the intermediate level, so it took me a while to figure out where to start. Regular tests would help me evaluate how well I have learned to make sure I am working at the right level or if I need to go back to some beginning lessons. I am always concerned I might have missed something important at the beginner level. (Maybe I am missing a feature that is already there). I use it along with quizlet to help memorize vocabulary and conjugations.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your feedback. You may find our Benchmark tool helpful to find your current Italian level. Redo the test regularly to track your improvement. You will find it by clicking on your avatar in the members area, then selecting Tools. I hope that helps!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Joey Wilson

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

0 Likes

I rely on seeing the words as well as hearing them. This is integrated throughout. I enjoy immediately learning to pronounce the words and spell the words correctly. It is fun and interactive throughout.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Kevin Aitchison

Rocket Korean United Kingdom

Submitted: 11 months ago

1 Likes

I use this to listen to when running. It is disappointing that there does not seem to be a way to automatically move from one interactive audio lesson to the next without having to do it manually. Some of your competitors eg korean101, do permit this. A minor issue but one of convenience.

Response from Rocket Languages: Thanks so much for your feedback. We are planning on adding a playlist option to our app later this year, which will be far more convenient for listening to on the go. I hope that helps!

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Justin Koonce

Rocket Russian United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

1 Likes

Good amount of info. Like how it includes reading and writing.

undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review
undefined undefined
2021 Edition
review

Mark Lewis

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

0 Likes

I have enjoyed the Rocket learning platform! The way they have their lessons outlined, really helps me out. I like how I control what gets checked off as completed and learned so I know I can move forward. I also like how I can go back and review. Each day I go through 4 lessons and at the end of the week, I start a new one and complete one that I have been at for 3 weeks. For me repetition is the key! My wife and I plan on going back to visit family in Italy, in about a year, so I hope by then I will be able to unerstand and maybe respond a little bit more than the last time we were there.