Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3431 Customer reviews

Ellen Madono

Ellen Madono

Rocket Spanish Saitama , Japan

Submitted: 1 year ago

13 Likes

I am generally very happy with the spoken feedback and the quality of the instruction of Spanish.

Unfortunately often my mic fails to pick up my spoken answer correctly. I bought a special mic for my iPhone and I hope that the mic performance will improve.

However, I need to review and practice hard points such as writing with the correct accent marks. Doing the harder parts of lessons several times is helpful.

I am very pleased with being able to download lesson lectures. Then I can practice away from the computer. This is very helpful.

One problematic lesson:

In Module one of Rocket Spanish, there is one lesson that is poorly designed. Presently I am doing the alphabet. Why is there no spoken practice of the alphabet? Words are presented as a vocabulary list to be memorized. How useless. ! But there is no testing or practice of spelling which is the object of the lesson. This pointless presentation of the alphabet is unlike the quality of other lessons. I wish it could be redone.

Also, in this lesson it is argued that the alphabet is related to learning the correct pronunciation of Spanish.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Ellen - Thanks for the detailed review. As far as the alphabet not having voice recognition, this is because single letters do not work well with voice recognition. It always looks for a word or phrase, which would give mixed results. In saying that further down that page there are examples of each letter of the alphabet in use in common Spanish words.

We will email you directly as it does seem strange that we haven't received or replied to your emails.

Emily Taylor Smith

Emily Taylor Smith

Rocket French Canada

Submitted: 2 years ago

13 Likes

I love that the program is available to me for a lifetime. I haven't explored the support forums much but when I have they were very helpful and quick to respond. I am really impressed with this program, and after studying Level 1 and half of Level 2 I took a trip to Quebec and was able to communicate pretty well.

I'm happy that I can continue to study according to my own schedule and when I am ready to study another language, I will definitely use Rocket.

Cécile Ariens Kappers

Cécile Ariens Kappers

Rocket Japanese Amsterdam , Netherlands

Submitted: 2 years ago

13 Likes

I absolutely love Rocket Languages, or in my case Rocket Japanese! I’ve had an account since 2011 and I just love the way it enables you to actively practice speech even if you don’t have a person to practice with. Since learning Japanese to me is a hobby, it is something that gets put on hold more often than not, however whenever I want to get back into it I start with listening to Rocket Japanese audio lessons. It’s puts me right back in the action of the language, something that would be neither as easy nor as fun if I were just using a book. I do combine the Rocket course with a book for better grammar and more hands-on practice in addition to a Kanji book, as I prefer more exercises, but it would not go as smoothly without your lessons, which are enjoyable even after the so-manieth repeat. just want to add that I appreciate all the upgrades that you do :)

Brian Peek

Brian Peek

Rocket Spanish EL Reno OK , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

13 Likes

Speaking in your target language I think is the key to success. The more you speak the faster you learn.
Rocket Languages has a test called Play It. It's where you in engage in a conversation with a native speaker.
To me, that is my absolute favorite test. I have not seen anything like that anywhere.
Rocket Languages has an amazing amount of resources and learning material to help you in your target language.

Sadly, my Rocket Spanish is not working anymore. It worked flawlessly for a few weeks and now
the audio just stops. I can't complete my learning, I can reload the page, but I can only make so far before it stops again.
Technical support has not been able to resolve my issue.
I have very limited use of the website.
So I'm in the hunt for another language course.
I've seen what's available and tried many, nothing tops Rocket Languages, so I will have to settle for second best.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Brian - I am not sure what has happened here as we have replied. Customer support will be in touch again. We are sure the issue can be resolved.

John Dee Cabantac

John Dee Cabantac

Rocket Japanese Quezon City , Philippines

Submitted: 3 years ago

13 Likes

I've been using Rocket Languages for three days now. So far, I've been satisfied. My concern with self-studying was that I didn't have any conversation partner. I wanted to have a conversation partner online but I didn't think that we can have meaningful conversation since I'm only a beginner. However, the interactive audio course helped me out. I can practice a conversation while correcting my pronunciation and accent just based on what I've been studying. Other than the interactive audio course, I'm also pleased with the comprehensiveness of the whole program, from Premium Level 1 to Platinum Level 3. I've browsed and asked customer service about it; I can reach C1 with the whole program. Since my goal was to use Japanese in business, this was a really nice. Looking at the course material from Premium 1 to Platinum Level 3 and based on my 3-day experience, I can definitely reach N3 or maybe even N2/N1 with the program.

Mark Clark

Mark Clark

Rocket French Newport News, Virginia , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

13 Likes

Rocket French is the best of the many French language teaching programs I have had experience with. I had a minimum amount of French training in high school and college just to meet the language requirement for my chosen field. Language learning at the time consisted of textbook, classroom and language laboratory exercises. For me this was torture as it took away from the time I could devote to the science and mathematics I needed to concentrate on to pursue a career in medicine. I am now retired but I have been involved with teaching students in other fields of education. Three years ago I decided to learn French. As I see it, the availability of computerized language programs of different varieties with voice recognition software has been a tremendous advance in language learning. I began with Rosetta Stone and enjoyed the experience and found it to be very helpful and I am happy that I had that experience. I also spent three weeks in France at an immersion school. I subscribe to Yabla which for a conscientious person can simulate an immersion experience in France. I enrolled in News in Slow French and look forward to their weekly output. Of course I also bought a book on French grammar and studied that.

Read More

Jack Morocco

Jack Morocco

Rocket Italian Richmond, California , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

13 Likes

I am just in the early Italian lessons but already I have a feel for the language. The ROCKET style is both immersive and explanatory. The lessons are based on real conversations and then verbs and grammar are expanded. The added cultural references are fantastic!
I think the strongest feature of the curriculum lies with the ability to record your own voice and compare it to the lesson speaker. I am able to speak and listen over and over, hearing every little inflection until I get it right. At the introduction to each lesson, it sounds difficult. At the end of each lesson it seems so easy. The review before each new lesson reinforces the previous lesson. As an instructor myself, I appreciate the careful lesson plan that engages vocalization, comprehension, vocabulary expansions, and written words. But unlike dry textbook style, the lesson is really just a typical conversation, so you feel able to jump right into a situation and understand. I have wanted to speak Italian my whole life so I can travel to Italy and now I am so exited that this is now within my reach.

Amy Harris

Amy Harris

Rocket Spanish Lakeland , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

13 Likes

I like the audio and the repetition. I want to be able to hear and understand Spanish, not just read it. That is true of most people that learn a second language. Rocket Spanish puts more emphasis on listening and speaking than Rosetta Stone. The points system is also great because it encourages you to do more each day to earn more points.

Cameron Howe

Cameron Howe

Rocket Italian Georgetown , Canada

Submitted: 3 years ago

13 Likes

Would I recommend to a friend? Already did, to all four of my immediate colleagues at work that are considering Spanish, French, Italian and Japanese.

Did Pimslueur when I was trying to learn Lithuanian for my wedding. Great for pronunciation but certainly very limited vocabulary, no grammar instruction, no book and no writing component. Very expensive on top of that.

Rocket Italian seems to have all of these bases covered so that I can look forward to a true understanding of how the language works rather than parroting back audio tapes.

Connor Nugent

Connor Nugent

Rocket German Glasgow , United Kingdom

Submitted: 3 years ago

13 Likes

I liked the rocket learning German course quite a lot, the several types of ways it helps you learn, either through writing questions or having you verbally repeat it back to a microphone. This all contributed to high rates of retention of the words for myself.