Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3395 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Jim Roberts

Jim Roberts

Rocket Spanish Kansas City, Kansas , United States

Submitted: 7 months ago

12 Likes

We tried Pimsleur and Duolingo each for a month before finding Rocket Spanish. Two weeks into RS and we’re pleased and feel like we’re learning USEFUL conversational Espanol. We wsh RS allowed us our own learning profile on one account like Pimsleur does. Pimsleur Level 1 to us as Beginners was VERY boring and far less practical than Rocket. And, Duolingo is a nice phone app for vocabulary but we learned very little practical conversation Spanish. So for our money and the time we will invest Rocket was a very good find.

Greg Omer

Greg Omer

Rocket German Wildwood, MO , United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

12 Likes

I wish there was a way to make the pronunciations slower. To enunciate each syllable or sound. The narrator goes so fast sometimes I am unable to pick up the sounds.
Other than that, for me this works great. Now just figure out a way to make me find the time to use it.

Fred Ryan

Fred Ryan

Rocket Spanish California , United States

Submitted: 12 months ago

12 Likes

Almost Great
The organization of material, and its presentation are great. There is one technical flaw, however, and it is major, and inexcusable in this very expensive app. In neither the Lesson or the Conversation can you stop or go back to something that you are not sure of. In learning a language, there are ALWAYS situations where something specific is not clear and you need to confirm or correct what you just heard. It’s amazing that you in order to find that specific thing you need to double check, you have to finish the entire lesson or entire conversation, go back to the very beginning and listen to the entire thing again! That is a MAJOR technical flaw, and I am amazed that, although it has been mentioned by other reviews, it hasn’t been fixed. If that were fixed, this would be a 5 star app, now it’s only a 3 star app.

Jerome Betsey Jr

Jerome Betsey Jr

Rocket Japanese Connecticut , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

12 Likes

I absolutely love the layout of Rocket Japanese. The read and response questions as well as the pronunciation practice really helps to nail down such a complex language. I often listen to the lessons when it's not busy at work or when I'm driving so there's never a lot of downtime between lessons.

I do recommend that you use another learning app along with this one. With Japanese being the complex language that it is (especially for English speakers) it's recommended to learn the language from multiple perspectives, or even focus on something that you find is weaker than other aspects of the language (like Kanji or Pronunciation).

That being said, you can absolutely get by just by using this program. It is on the more expensive side, but if you're serious about learning the language it's an investment that should absolutely be considered.

Owen McAteer

Owen McAteer

Rocket French harwood heights, illinois , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

12 Likes

After many years of working on my French I feel Rocket is where I want to be. What I find especially helpful is the practice in understanding spoken French. I still have a long way to go but the Rocket execises, I feel, have put me on the right road.

Bianca Farrugia

Bianca Farrugia

Rocket Russian Malta

Submitted: 1 year ago

12 Likes

Very user friendly and makes it very easy to learn. It helps make the learning experience a joy to follow. The only glitch is that sometimes it doesn't recognise my pronunciation although I know that it's right but that is a very minor problem on my part. Wish the price was a bit lower but I'm happy with it.

Ashley C

Ashley C

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

12 Likes

My husband and I watch a lot of Japanese television like anime and some regular TV shows and thought how awesome it would be to actually be able to understand what the characters are saying without having to read subtitles. We also would like to take a trip to Japan in the future. We were both reluctant to start learning Japanese because we've heard how difficult it can be and that it takes years to become just somewhat fluent. But, we decided to take the leap and signed up for several Japanese learning tools. We started with Rosetta Stone and after 2 days of being on the trial version, we cancelled it because it wasn't working for us. We weren't retaining anything. Then, we found Rocket Japanese and we couldn't believe that we were actually able to have a short conversation after just 2 days!! Rocket Japanese is the easiest and most intuitive program out there for learning Japanese. It's so much fun and so interesting that I spend hours doing the lessons without realizing that much time had passed. I'd recommend Rocket Languages to everyone trying to learn a new language. Arigatō to the creators of this program, I am forever grateful to have this resource!

Todd P

Todd P

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

12 Likes

This could easily be a 5 star program, but there are enough poor choices by the designers that make it less valueable or frustrating to use that I am being generous to give this 3 stars. The bottom line is that it works, and it did better for me than when I used Rosetta Stone to learn another language.

I have been using this program for 10 months and have had 3 visits to Germany during this time related to work. This is where I think the program isn't good:
1. This program stresses in the informal ways of addressing people. Germans, especially in business, use the formal case (Sie not Du).
2. The program doesn't teach any language rules, rather just provides example after example such as how to conjugate a verb.
3. THe most frustrating part is that the program tries to inculcate easy words (Ja, Nein), and sometimes not useful words like Wunderbar constantly, but doesn't stress words that are important to know such as to want, to like, to take, to need. If someone can't get Ja and Nein correct after the third lesson, then they need to quit.
4.

Read More

Erin Jutronic

Erin Jutronic

Rocket Russian NSW , Australia

Submitted: 2 years ago

12 Likes

Living in regional Australia, I am unable to undertake formal Russian language studies, but this is the next best thing. It manages to cover all the essential language skills which is something I haven't found in a lot of self-directed courses. Self-directed teaching means my speaking and listening skills need extra attention to ensure I am always progressing.

My favourite feature is being able to compare my own voice to that of a native speaker—it has helped my spoken Russian immensely. As an ESL tutor, another feature I love is "language chunking". It makes forming new sentences easier, and I can speak phrases with a more natural flow.

Shaun Asbury

Shaun Asbury

Rocket German Johannesburg , South Africa

Submitted: 2 years ago

12 Likes

I have regularly been to Germany over the last couple years for business and this year I decided I wanted to learn to speak German.
Not only for my trips to Germany, but because I work for a German company and have to interact with German colleagues frequently.

I tried a few free websites and was very disappointed, but then I stumbled on RocketLanguages and tried the free trial I was hooked, I loved the fact I could write the language and see the words spoken, that makes it so much easier to remember and pronounce the words. I purchased the first Module, and although I thought the price seemed high, I would do it again.

My German colleagues have commented on how quickly I have seemed to grasp and learn the language, and other English speaking colleagues who have been enrolled with a weekly company sponsored program (with terms and conditions) have also seen that my progress has exceeded theirs especially when it comes to actually speaking the language. I can only thank RocketLanguages, not that it didn't take effort and discipline from me to continue, but RocketLanguages just made it easy and fun!