Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3431 Customer reviews

Natalia

Natalia

Rocket Spanish

Submitted: 3+ years ago

10 Likes

Dear amigos,

Thanks a lot for this great course for beginners. It was a real step forward in Spanish. Before going to Malaga to learn Spanish in 2010 I had made some basic things and read through first topics using Rocket Spanish but finally I knew enough to get level A2 at Malaga University! Moreover the materials were extremely beneficial for my everyday life in Spain especially when I just arrived there.

It is time to go forward but now I'm sure in my success because I have a solid background due to your course. Muchas gracias! Viva your team!!!!!

Tucker

Tucker

Rocket Korean MT

Submitted: 3+ years ago

10 Likes

Overall I have enjoyed Rocket Korean. The one small thing that I have to complain about is how we take the self assessment quizzes on a lesson and have to know how to say introductory sentences said by the "teachers" such as knowing how to say "Our first lesson is on greetings", when it can be frustrating to someone who is just starting in section 1.1.

Joseph Studer

Joseph Studer

Rocket Spanish Scottsdale, AZ , United States

Submitted: 3 days ago

9 Likes

I have been thoroughly impressed with Rocket Language. The best part is that it teaches you how to have real conversations instead of just learning lists of words and conjugations. I have already advanced to the higher level and my proficiency has improved dramatically. I have gone back and listened to lessons that I struggled with in the past, and now, they seem so easy. Rocket Language has been the best source for learning Spanish, more than anything else I have ever tried.

Shannon Iverson

Shannon Iverson

Rocket Spanish MD , United States

Submitted: 1 month ago

9 Likes

I am an ESL teacher and I purchased both French and Spanish for my homeschoolers. I am impressed with how much they have learned and retained. We have tried many other programs and apps, but none seemed to have all parts of language learning offered. Rocket Languages is easy to use and helps to train the ear to native speaking. I like that it also encompasses reading, writing, and some parts of grammar without being overdone with endless drills. The only thing I would change is through the use of pictures to reinforce vocabulary possibly in a vocabulary flashcard sort of way. Overall a great program!

Claire Urschitz

Claire Urschitz

Rocket Spanish Chicago , United States

Submitted: 2 months ago

9 Likes

I love love love that you can listen, listen, and listen!! The app makes it so easy to listen on the go!! Also, I love how it tackles every form of learning, wether you learn better hearing, writing, seeing, or speaking each lesson has it all!! Couldn't be more pleased!

Ed Paskevich

Ed Paskevich

Rocket Japanese Calgary/Alberta , Canada

Submitted: 2 months ago

9 Likes

I really like this product. I've tried several others over the years and this is the best. I'm especially impressed with how every year the site is improved with updates that actually improve the product. I love how much the writing section has improved, much easier to learn Hiragana and Katakana as well as to learn how to speak the language (with feedback, you are rated plus you can listen to what you actually sound like).
I own Rocket French and Rocket Japanese, all three levels for both languages and am very happy with the results. If you work steady, you will get excellent results.

ショーン T

ショーン T

Rocket Japanese 埼玉 , Japan

Submitted: 2 months ago

9 Likes

TL:DR -These courses are worth bothering with and a fair deal but don't expect perfection or a miracles.

This was sold to me (by external reviews) as being better than Rosetta stone and the current market leader in comprehensive language learning for self study, and yeah it is better and may be the best all around, but its still far from perfect. There are other products that are distinctly better for certain aspects of Japanese study, but this one is a good all-rounder.

It is very much like a by the book language study course that you would get in a generic language school.
Its not ground breaking, but its very solid and should successfully teach any diligent student some extent of their target language.

Given that you get hundreds of hours of lessons that you can do at your own pace I think the price is great value but I can't quite give 5 stars because there are some flaws in the product and service.

Unlike many free apps you aren't limited to 5 or 10 mins per day which means that the system can take its time to teach you slowly and methodically, and that if you have a lot of free time (and almost everybody does at the time of writing mid-April 2020) then you can do an hour or more everyday.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Sean - Thanks for submitting a review. Some interesting observations in there! I thought that I would comment on a couple of things;

This year Rocket Japanese is scheduled to have a total review of the course content. We realize that there are some issues and are moving to address those.

With regards the romanization toggle; this seems to be working. Can you please provide screenshots to customer support of where it doesn't seem to be working?

There was an issue with the voice recognition difficulty in that you had to refresh the page for the change to take effect. That has now been rectified, so it should just work.

And we will look into the review system as well. In fact we are re-factoring the entire members area into a new code base, so it's timely to look at some aspects that haven't been looked at for a while. The new version is due out later in the year.

Rob Sullivan

Rob Sullivan

Rocket German Chicago, IL , United States

Submitted: 3 months ago

9 Likes

I have been doing Rocket German for over a year and absolutely love it. Although I come from a family where my Dad and a few siblings are passionate about languages like Latin, Ancient Greek, Italian, and even Mandarin, I never felt like I acquired the genes for it. Worse yet, I spent years telling myself I wasn't good at languages. I went to Berlitz to learn French without much success and tried Duo Lingo for German, but Rocket German blows them both away. I even have fun with the lessons. I especially like Nik and Paul, the two teachers who do Level 1. I never expected to laugh out loud using a language app, but I have on multiple occasions. (Please bring them back for more Language & Culture lessons.) Sandra, Sarah, and Mattias in Level 2 are great as well. In short, this really is fun. And doable. I WILL be fluent. And it will be thanks to Rocket German.

Martha Wolcheski

Martha Wolcheski

Rocket Spanish Kerrville Texas , United States

Submitted: 3 months ago

9 Likes

I love Rocket Spanish. I took 4 years of Spanish in high school and several courses for medical professionals over the past many years and I can honestly say this method has been the most practical of them all! I appreciate the repetition and the various tools used to reinforce learning. It is fantastic! The “points” system keeps me motivated to practice and improve daily! I would highly recommend this course to everyone!

Robert Rivera

Robert Rivera

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 4 months ago

9 Likes

I am so happy with this product! I've learned so much over the course of several months. It is well worth the price, especially if you can get it on sale. Customer service deserves much love as well! Both times I've contacted them and they were able to fulfill my requests no questions asked. Thank you, Rocket Language!