Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Niklas Persson

Niklas Persson

Rocket Portuguese Sverige , Sweden

Submitted: 19 days ago

1 Likes

I really like the tool and I that you can record your voice and compared to the native is the best function. I learned quite alot of words but there is one big problem. The man speaks with a Rio De Janeiro accent. When I came to Sao paulo where my wife is from many people laughed at my strong accent and I realized I have gotten a really strong Rio De Janeiro accent which does not seem like the best of accents xD.

I wanted to have a Sao paulo accent and after knowing this fact I could not continue as the portuguese accent was not the one I was looking for. So I love the service but the audio is just not what I am looking for making it not usable.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Niklas - We are aware of the different accents in Brazil and while Paulo is from Rio (as per the Interactive audio lessons), the rest of the course (extra vocabulary and Language & Culture lessons) has a male speaker who is not from Rio. It is a good idea to have familiarity with both! There is even a specific Language & Culture lesson on the differences (see lesson 1.11)

Harold Pleitez

Harold Pleitez

Rocket Portuguese Los Angeles / CA , United States

Submitted: 3 months ago

8 Likes

I am a linguist, a teacher of foreign languages and a native speaker of Spanish. This platform is a good resource to add to one's learning tools and it is a very good way to keep the language alive. I was skeptical at first of this electronic platform, but then I became almost addict to it. It works if you put your heart and soul in acquiring your target language. Well done!

Arnav yadav

Arnav yadav

Rocket Portuguese Lucknow , India

Submitted: 3 months ago

1 Likes

It's good and easy to understand basics things in Portuguese

Ruth Maza Crespo

Ruth Maza Crespo

Rocket Portuguese Brightwaters, NY , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

3 Likes

I love the dialogues. They help you develop your listening and speaking skills rocket fast. Unlike the Pilmsleur approach that I have also used, Rocket languages also has the reinforcement activities where you get additional listening, speaking and writing practice so you learn to spell correctly and pay attention to accent marks and special characters.
I am giving it a 4 out of 5 because in my opinion the price is pretty steep (I can get the Pilmsleur CDs for Portuguese level 1 for $34 in ebay) and I feel for that price it should also include some grammar videos with activities and reading comprehension to make it more well rounded.

Joe Mcandrew

Joe Mcandrew

Rocket Portuguese Dublin , Ireland

Submitted: 1 year ago

5 Likes

Really happy with this product. My girlfriend is Brazilian and I've been looking for a good starter course in Portuguese. I'm only halfway through module one, but everything about this course has been excellent so far. The choice of contents, the quality of the material, the structure and delivery (including the mobile apps), and the feedback and review mechanisms have all been fantastic. The price is also very reasonable for what you get, and is far more competitively priced compared to the competition. The Portuguese course seems to be only suitable for beginners, but it's perfect to get me started.

Patrick Daniel

Patrick Daniel

Rocket Portuguese SP , Brazil

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

I've been spending almost half a year in Brazil for 3 years and my language skills are minimal. I moved here permanently and got married two months ago, time to get serious. The two live teachers I've tried just haven't worked out, this looks promising! Looking forward to cracking the language nut!

Althea March

Althea March

Rocket Portuguese United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

7 Likes

I like the fact that there are native speakers who take time to go through the language for easier understanding and comprehension. The lessons so far are quite generous in the amount of time given and allow you to replay and download if you need to do that.

Christopher Taylor

Christopher Taylor

Rocket Portuguese San Antonio , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

6 Likes

Just after 2 weeks I can already hold basic conversation with my wife in Portuguese. She is fluent in Portuguese and very impressed in 2 weeks with how much I already know. I would definitely recommend the Rocket Language Portuguese program.

David Bowen

David Bowen

Rocket Portuguese United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

7 Likes

I've been using Rocket for the past month along with a couple other language programs (Pimsleur, transparent, Duolingo, and Memrise) to boost my learning of Portuguese. Overall, I really like Rocket. The ability to download the audio is a big help as I commute a lot. The audio training is not as in depth as Pimsleur, but it is very good. The variety of lessons and the ability to jump around is great. The leader board helps to provide incentive to keep practicing which helps. Also, the entire program is very well rounded.

I sometimes have trouble with the record audio but it works most of the time. It is nice to be able to hear your own voice and compare to the teachers for accuracy. My biggest complaint with Rocket Portuguese is with the male speaker (Paulo). His pronunciation of words ending in "s" has a very harsh "sh" sound which is completely different from the female teacher and every other audio teacher I have heard. Words like "Bem vindos" which has a soft "os" ending are pronounced like "Bem vindoosh". I can understand that Paulo may be from a different part of Brazil and perhaps it is pronounced that way there. However, when every other teacher pronounces it with a soft ending you want to practice and mimmic the right way.

Overall, this is a great program and I plan on becoming conversationally fluent with Portuguese with Rocket's help.

Fabian Quintana

Fabian Quintana

Rocket Portuguese mexico , Mexico

Submitted: 2 years ago

7 Likes

Es bueno, pero no tengo mucho dinero para comprarlo,lo recomiendo ampliamente, yo creo que serviria mucho para alguien que de verdad quiere aprender este o cualquier idioma, el precio se me hace muy elevado, estoy muy interesado pero si me hicieran un buen descuento por los tres niveles lo pensaria y probablemente me aceptarian, gracias. i like it but can't afford it at this time. thanks