Forum Rocket Spanish Conversation in Spanish If you LOVE fantasy books, read this!

If you LOVE fantasy books, read this!

naomi-t2

naomi-t2

I've found some really fantastic Spanish fantasy novels- and only one of them has been translated into English as far as I know. Try them out! (by the way, they're all by Laura Gallego García) -El Valle de los Lobos -Fenris, el Elfo -La llamada de los muertos -La Maldicion del Maestro
Mohammed-B1

Mohammed-B1

nosotros hablamos espaniol
Dan-H24

Dan-H24

Naomi: ¿Son estos libros por los niños o los adolescentes? (In other words, are they easy to read for someone like me who is still reading Spanish at about the second grade level!)
naomi-t2

naomi-t2

Dan: Tal vez. Los libros son para los adolescentes, pero no son tan dificiles para leer. If you know a good amount of basic Spanish, you could pick out the storyline, but you would need help from a dictionary for some of the words.
Steven-W15

Steven-W15

Thanks Naomi for taking the time to provide this list of books - this was exactly what I was looking for (Don Quixote is still a bit too difficult for me). I did manage to find one of her books when I was in Spain recently (a more recent one not on your list - highly acclaimed) but the cover was a bit too "girly" for me. I was too macho to pick it up... :-) I settled on "Juego de Tronos" which is working for me but I will certainly be coming back to your list once I finish this book.
Liz-W10

Liz-W10

So some of you are actually reading books in Spanish? DO you find it is significantly helping your Spanish or is it helping a little?
Steven-W15

Steven-W15

Rocket Languages is terrific for getting fluent in a language but it doesn't stop there. Speaking from personal experience (particularly from when I was learning French), reading is THE way to increase your vocabulary (with the help of a dictionary of course). On a side note, I also found that watching movies is a terrific way to learn colloquial expressions.
Dan-H24

Dan-H24

Liz: for me, anyway, listening, speaking, writing and reading Spanish are all beneficial to me. Right now I am reading a book called "El Soñador," about the childhood of the Chilean poet Pablo Neruda. It is agonizingly slow! I encounter words that I must look up, but I may remember them the next time. I think it is helping me spot verbs that I can then decipher the root and conjugation of. And maybe most importantly, reading is helping me understand when and why object pronouns are used, which is probably my biggest problem right now.
Steven-W15

Steven-W15

Dan: agonizingly slow is why I had to switch from "Cien años de Soledad" and "La Casa de los Espíritus" - I couldn't keep myself motivated enough to get through them. In French, I got started on "Jules Verne" books. Fantasy books in Spanish seem to work for me.

Ask a question or a post a response

If you want to ask a question or post a response you need to be a member.

If you are already a member login here .
If you are not a member you can become one by taking the free Rocket Spanish trial here .