Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Shoaib Ahmed

Shoaib Ahmed

Rocket Chinese Dhaka , Bangladesh

Submitted: 14 days ago

5 Likes

This is the best language learning tools I have ever found. The best part is they follow the communicative way to teach. Besides you can test every word you learn whether you are pronouncing that correctly or not.

enno joensson

enno joensson

Rocket Chinese County Dublin , Ireland

Submitted: 18 days ago

0 Likes

US speaker has the most annoying accent. Outside of that, pretty good!

Simon R

Simon R

Rocket Chinese Taiwan

Submitted: 18 days ago

2 Likes

I think there is a lot of hard work that has been put into these products, but there is just way to much English. I want to hear introductions my name is , i am your host all in my target language from lesson 1 then 100 lessons in it is all so natural....here I tested level 2 but started with so much English. We need to be flooded with our target language and get the explanations later.

hiluriste Mekila

hiluriste Mekila

Rocket Chinese Colorado aurora , United States

Submitted: 4 months ago

0 Likes

I want to learning a language of Chinese or others language to I am interested .

JOSEPH DEVITO

JOSEPH DEVITO

Rocket Chinese NJ , United States

Submitted: 5 months ago

1 Likes

Rocket Language is the best language learning program and I know from experience having most of them. My favorite part of Rocket Languages is ease of use.

Warren Russell

Warren Russell

Rocket Chinese Springville, UT , United States

Submitted: 6 months ago

4 Likes

Seeing all the rave reviews makes me wonder if there's something wrong with me. I am not a linguistic novice; I am a native speaker of English but a fluent speaker of Korean, I majored in linguistics in graduate school, and I've studied several languages both in university classes and on my own. But I'm having a hard time making any progress in Rocket Chinese. Eleven- or twelve-morpheme sentences are just too long for a beginner in the language. And while Lin Ping's spoken examples are very clear and easy to understand, David always sounds like his mouth is full of food and everything runs together. (I'm sure his Chinese is very good, but Chinese itself tends to sound like that to start with. It's just really frustrating.)

I bought the complete premium course and am wondering if I made a terrible decision.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Warren - Thanks for your feedback. We have actually just released ( Dec 2019) new Language & Culture lessons for Rocket Chinese that start out in a more straightforward way. Not only that, we have replaced Davids parts in the audio with a native speaker!

Tylee Britton

Tylee Britton

Rocket Chinese MS , United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

2 Likes

Not as structured as I'd like. Some of the lessons seem unnecessary, as I wouldn't use them in everyday life. I have previously used Pimsleur but thought this was a better deal. I prefer the lessons with the interactive audio kind of like Pimsleur. the other lessons aren't super helpful, but I guess they are nice to have... I wish there was more repetition of phrases instead of single words. Interface on both app and browser are outdated and could use some major updates (especially the app). Kinda buggy, but that is forgiven. I also use the hellochinese app, and it is great. Might go back to Pimsleur if it wasn't so overpriced.

Jhanvi Singh

Jhanvi Singh

Rocket Chinese Johannesburg , South Africa

Submitted: 10 months ago

11 Likes

If you are a language lover like me and wish to learn many languages but not the typical boring way and want to fast forward it, go for rocket languages which gives you an amazing experience of how to converse in any language...Rocket Languages is the best place to learn a language quickly and efficiently.

Ryan Hidayat

Ryan Hidayat

Rocket Chinese Singapore

Submitted: 1 year ago

7 Likes

Da jia hao!
I decided to learn the Chinese language because I've always found it quite interesting and most of the population here speak this language. I did not regret getting the full version of Rocket Chinese because of the extensive content that it has. Since I've started learning Mandarin here, I have noticed improvements in my conversational skills, writing skills, and, from there, I also have manged to recognise some Chinese characters bit by bit as I complete more lessons.

However, I think the structure of the lessons can be better if they had followed the structure of the HSK standards. Although I find the content really good so far, some words that has been taught previously appears again in the "Extra Vocabulary" section, which I think can be replaced with other relevant words like the lesson "Going shopping" did not even mention the word "shangdian" which means "store" as in stores in a shopping centre or even appears on the extra vocab section. Also, the Chinese locals here speak differently and use different words (although the same meaning) in their daily conversation, like we use Huayu (chinese language) instead of Hanyu.

In conclusion, I think Rocket Chinese is good for learning but it requires constant improvements to fill up the gaps that were probably overlooked.

John Bester

John Bester

Rocket Chinese South Africa

Submitted: 1 year ago

7 Likes

I can't. I have just started some days ago. To say something awesome so soon after starting should be carefully evaluated. Studying Chinese isn't easy. Maybe I have something positive to say at the end of my first course. Thank you.