Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3457 Customer reviews

Rachel Piggott

Rachel Piggott

Rocket Spanish

Submitted: 3+ years ago

12 Likes

I got Rocket Spanish four years ago after much hemming and hawing. I wanted to become a bilingual Spanish teacher for elementary grades (I did ;). I was preparing for 6 weeks of Spanish Language immersion in Costa Rica, and wanted to make the most of my time there. I didn't want to waste time learning the Basics in a foreign country.

I started with the Premium program, because I was leery of the cost and not sure of the quality. I was quickly convinced it was a solid investment, and decided Premium Plus would be a worthwhile. I had a great time in Costa Rica, and felt like my Spanish foundations were solid. I love Mauricio, and especially his mom. I enjoyed the audio conversations, so listening to them was never a chore.

Here I am four years later, and now I need to learn Chinese (my fiance is Chinese, and his family is visiting soon, for the wedding :). I've looked at lots of programs, and I am having as much trouble as when I was looking for Spanish programs. I thought I should give Rocket Languages another shot.

I logged in to my old account, No Problem!!! It's been four years, I was expecting my account to have been de-actived. Nope, it was waiting for me the whole time. Reflecting on my positive Spanish experience, I'm going to give Rocket Chinese a try. I am optimistic I will be able to leave another glowing review.

Phyllis Amaral

Phyllis Amaral

Rocket Spanish NY , United States

Submitted: 29 days ago

11 Likes

While I am still on Level 1 of Rocket Spanish, I am not only enjoying it but more importantly, I am actually learning to speak Spanish. I've been going over and over each sub-level until I am totally comfortable with everything - works for me. I am 67 and planning on moving to a Spanish speaking country in 2021, so naturally, I want to be a bit prepared.

Also, I am finding all of the optional exercises enormously helpful; I need to see the words and write them in order to lock them into my mind along with the meaning and pronunciation. I understand not everyone learns this way but I chose Rocket Spanish for this reason - along with the fact that they generously allowed me to try out the program first to see if I liked it. I love it!

I also plan on getting a few Spanish short story audiobooks and listening to Spanish-speaking podcasts once I have progressed more.

Highly recommend!

Alice McGrath

Alice McGrath

Rocket Spanish Ireland

Submitted: 8 months ago

11 Likes

This is a wonderful course. I have only been learning for a week , but I can already introduce myself, hold a short conversation, and order a meal. The Rocket Record feature is especialy good, and I love that it rates my pronunciation.

Denise Muill

Denise Muill

Rocket Spanish Waterloo , Canada

Submitted: 9 months ago

11 Likes

I really enjoy Rocket Languages, there is a ton of content! Speech recognition works very well!

Steve Maislin

Steve Maislin

Rocket Spanish Concord, MA , United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

11 Likes

I am finally learning Spanish. Love the way it is organized. This is an enjoyable experience.

Lee Hopkins

Lee Hopkins

Rocket Spanish VA , United States

Submitted: 10 months ago

11 Likes

I love this program! I'm never bored. Instead, I'm completely engaged. The teachers offer tips that are incredibly helpful in learning a new language. I'll be telling everyone about this learning program. Thank you!

Derry Kabcenell

Derry Kabcenell

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

11 Likes

I'm very happy with this Spanish program. I have tried several others and been disappointed with the level of instruction -- some focus primarily on vocabulary, others on writing, for example. This one gives you a sense of the language and, importantly, how it is used in real life. And it is fun. I don't think I am easily manipulated, but I have to say that the point system, "streak" reporting and badges do keep me going.

I like most of the teaching methods, and my favorite is being able to participate in conversations. Exceptions: I don't think the five-question quizzes are particularly effective; there are too few questions and they are extremely easy. I use the flashcards once per lesson (to get credit!), but I think Anki is a much better flashcard service and I use that much more.

With that preamble, here are some suggestions:

* Although the pronunciation checker is pretty amazing, it is still somewhat inaccurate. I get words wrong and it often still scores me 100%, even with the checking level at "Hard". More frustrating is that sometimes it just won't accept my (perfect!) pronunciation no matter what I do.

Read More

Hava Marneweck

Hava Marneweck

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

11 Likes

I got this course because it was one of the few affordable programs that asked for a one time fee instead of a subscription. It has been really useful for learning Spanish. In a week I have learned greetings, how to ask for names, and how to ask for things. I still have to go back to previous lessons and review again and again so that I don't forget words as I move forward. The recordings of the conversations and the flashcards are the best since it's great to hear what people actually sound like when they say these words. The thing I'm most reassured by is that the things I've been learning will be immediately useful in normal conversation. Sometimes when I'm out and about I've heard some of the words I've learned in lessons 1.1-1.3 and I don't even live near a lot of Spanish speaking people!

Paul Taylor

Paul Taylor

Rocket Spanish United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

11 Likes

I have used other courses and this is by far the best. It matches my goal of being able to have a conversation with real people. I was even surprised that on the app for iPhone I was able to record my voice and match it to a native speaker. I feel that the time I spend interacting with this course is time well spent.

The price is an added attraction. In one service for Spanish in just two months you would have spent more money. So far this is a bargain!

Alice Glover

Alice Glover

Rocket Spanish Australia

Submitted: 3 years ago

11 Likes

I like the format and emphasis on spoken language in the Rocket languages online courses. However, I was disappointed in Rocket Spanish because it is totally geared towards younger travellers going to South America, whereas I am an older person spending a few weeks in Spain. There was very little clear advice as to differences in pronunciation, grammar or vocabulary for the language as spoken in Spain - just occasional references. There were no systematic examples of polite conversation with an older person such as a hostess or landlady. I spent a lot of time trying to work out the polite forms of the questions and answers for the ones included in the lessons but had no way of checking whether my attempts were correct. There was no list of days of the week or months of the year which I got from a dictionary but it would have been good to have them included in more of the conversations - they're pretty basic.