Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Richard Greenfield

Richard Greenfield

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 1 month ago

10 Likes

I love this app. I have tried many other apps and they don't compare to Rocket. I had taken one class in Japanese at a local college and couldn't continue because of scheduling conflicts. Rocket Japanese has allowed me to continue studying Japanese. It is the next best thing to being in class. I have found the lessons to be extremely informative and, most importantly, relevant. The lessons are real world examples of conversations that I might actually have. I highly recommend this program.

Joshua Short

Joshua Short

Rocket Japanese Texas , United States

Submitted: 2 months ago

3 Likes

I had a great time learning Japanese and I've only been using it for 2 hours! It's easy to learn, and there is no stress of fast paced learning, just steady learning. I love it and I will probably suggest it to a friend.

Nasiba Sembaeva

Nasiba Sembaeva

Rocket Japanese Liege , Belgium

Submitted: 3 months ago

5 Likes

I wanted to learn japanese because it's a very beautiful language , and i'm an otaku. This site really helps me learn japanese :D

Robert Rivera

Robert Rivera

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 3 months ago

9 Likes

I am so happy with this product! I've learned so much over the course of several months. It is well worth the price, especially if you can get it on sale. Customer service deserves much love as well! Both times I've contacted them and they were able to fulfill my requests no questions asked. Thank you, Rocket Language!

Thomas Kangas

Thomas Kangas

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 4 months ago

6 Likes

I have been studying Japanese through various methods for about 2 years. Having completed most of the first level of Rocket Japanese, I am impressed with the format used. Everything is broken down nicely, and appeals to multiple learning styles. I like that fact that I can go back, and review the dialogs, and practice them in real time, with grading on pronunciation. This is a key feature for me, as it greatly improves my conversational flow. The only thing that I see as a detractor is that the speed of the dialog is still rather slow in comparison to actual spoken Japanese. It is still fast enough to leave me tongue tied if practicing conversation, though. Overall, this is one of the best. I have tried multiple other methods, and Rocket Japanese ranks as my number 1/2!

Cady Milam

Cady Milam

Rocket Japanese Arkansas , United States

Submitted: 4 months ago

1 Likes

I've taken up to the Advanced II level of Japanese classes at my university. I made the decision to stop taking classes and self-study so that I would graduate sooner. For someone with ADHD like me, Rocket Languages is perfect! There's much more structure that Rosetta Stone or JapanesePod101, and it's more accurate than Duolingo. As long as you purchase during one of the sales, it's a great deal for the price and perfect for self-study or supplementing classes!

Eleyna Maves

Eleyna Maves

Rocket Japanese Rio Rancho, NM , United States

Submitted: 4 months ago

1 Likes

My favorite thing about Rocket Japanese is the amount of practice it gives you for each thing it teaches. The repetition is very helpful, as well as the variety of ways it repeats things (listening, speaking, writing, flashcards, etc.). My only complaint is that the content is highly geared towards tourists, which I didn't know before buying. Many of the phrases aren't very helpful for someone planning to live in Japan.

Cory Haulman

Cory Haulman

Rocket Japanese Pennsylvania , United States

Submitted: 5 months ago

3 Likes

Having completed the Level 1 Japanese course I feel confident saying that is a great value for the price. This is a solid course that does a good job of teaching basic grammar, vocabulary, and the hiragana and katakana writing systems. A decent amount of practice material is provided as well. My only major complaint is that the voice recognition software used to grade pronunciation is not reliable, which can be frustrating as it is used for graded assignments. However the course is constantly being improved and I believe it's only a matter of time before that final wrinkle gets ironed out. Even if it doesn't, this is still a great place to start learning the Japanese language.

Idameth Ramos

Idameth Ramos

Rocket Japanese Puerto Rico

Submitted: 5 months ago

3 Likes

I started recently, so far so good. Very complete, very entertaining. The explanations and examples are so easy to follow. Love to use it on my computer, on my ipod. Have the capacity to download the audio and listen to it while driving and practicing is so convenient. Even going to sleep listening to it.

Marileta Robinson

Marileta Robinson

Rocket Japanese Milanville PA , United States

Submitted: 5 months ago

1 Likes

The designers of this course seem to have thought of everything: practice in understanding with clear, lively speakers, practice in speaking, checking pronunciation with voice recognition recording, cultural and grammar tips, many different ways to practice and reinforce learning, videos to teach writing, lots of support. I'm enjoying the course very much.