Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Emily Owen

Emily Owen

Rocket Japanese California , United States

Submitted: 6 months ago

5 Likes

This app is the best for Japanese. I would Definately recamend it... great for learners.!!!!

Blend B

Blend B

Rocket Japanese MI , Italy

Submitted: 6 months ago

12 Likes

I have tried different online courses so i might say I have seen quite a bit but so far this is the best. It explains in details structure, grammar and also emphasizes the important thinks to remember which a lot of other programs lack and are focused only on the vocabulary. The dialogues are also well written and in a funny way which makes it easier to concentrate and remember.
Definitely the best online course so far!

William Brown

William Brown

Rocket Japanese Portland, Oregon , United States

Submitted: 6 months ago

6 Likes

So far so good. This is my first language learning experience and I'm very new to it. I like the way the practice sections are set up and the repetition. I believe its been worth the investment given my limited experience with it so far.

Kevin Gongon

Kevin Gongon

Rocket Japanese MD , United States

Submitted: 6 months ago

10 Likes

Rocket japan is great, I haven't finished yet but I can already talk to my Japanese classmates. I had purchased it during a sale and got all 3 levels for 150 which for me made it a good deal but after using it I definitely would have bought it at full price. definitely recommend this if you're on the fence between two different programs rocket japan is just so polished, not to mention they have an app that works amazingly well. 10 out of 10 I recommend.

chloe tay

chloe tay

Rocket Japanese maine , United States

Submitted: 6 months ago

5 Likes

I love this site! I have learned a lot more in japanese here than duolingo!

josiah sanchez

josiah sanchez

Rocket Japanese colorado , United States

Submitted: 7 months ago

7 Likes

i love the lessons in this website also you learn fast and easy. then they also have good pacing skills.

Michele Balistreri

Michele Balistreri

Rocket Japanese Russian Federation

Submitted: 7 months ago

9 Likes

My feelings with this course are quite mixed. On one hand, there is a lot of material and you pick up useful phrases from the very start. On the other hand there are several issues which in the long run are quite frustrating especially in the testing part

1) Apart from the Quiz section, everything else is clearly automatically generated from the material. This means you can have the same word repeated 2 or 3 times. In the "Know it" part there are cases where you cannot know what to say because two words have the same english translation (tourist).
2) Speech recognition is frustrating. It stops listening while you are talking, sometimes it doesn't want to recognize what you say no matter what (I even tried playing back the native audio from my phone near to the computer microphone, and it didn't even recognize the native speaker!) and sometimes it says 100% even if you mess up a few syllabes.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Michele - Thanks for the detailed review. Rocket Japanese is due for a full review in 2020. Most of the issues that you mention will be sorted out at that stage. As far as speech recognition goes, we recommend a headset microphone for best results, or the iOS/Android app.

Joanne Pick

Joanne Pick

Rocket Japanese QLD , Australia

Submitted: 7 months ago

5 Likes

This is a very good tool for learning a new language. The lessons are detailed, but with enough repetition to ensure you understand before moving on to the next lesson and the audio is very clear. The follow up exercises are invaluable and a good way to reinforce what you have learned. An added bonus was the little insights to the cultural aspects of the people, as well as the language. I will be travelling to Japan 4 weeks after starting my Rocket course and am confident that, at the very least, I will be able to communicate on a base level, that is, have a full understanding of the basic greetings, introductions, pleasantries etc.
Thanks Rocket.

Ayes Muharam

Ayes Muharam

Rocket Japanese Bekasi, West Java , Indonesia

Submitted: 7 months ago

3 Likes

Nice to meet you and I would like to say thank you very much that I can learn Japanese language through this site. I think it's suit for me as a beginner for learning a japanese language. COmpletely and easy to follow all instructions.

markanthonymoralijapraxides praxides

markanthonymoralijapraxides praxides

Rocket Japanese cavite , Philippines

Submitted: 8 months ago

3 Likes

it's awesome and does really help anyone who likes to learn about japanese culture!!!