Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3457 Customer reviews

Liam K

Liam K

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 3+ years ago

13 Likes

I've been using Rocket Japanese for a couple of years, and I honestly never thought I'd be able to speak as much Japanese as I can now- let alone any!

Each lesson is fun and the cast of different instructors across the courses make it enjoyable to learn the language, which is a great help especially if you have a busy lifestyle. It's great how the interactive audio courses put what you're learning into context, and then the language & culture lessons go into more detail on what you've learnt from those lessons, as it means you're revisiting what you've learnt before to keep it in your memory.

The culture lessons are a big bonus with Rocket Languages, because it means you're learning about the culture and the way of life in the country that you're learning the language of, which helps to understand some of the countries customs, which in Japan's case can be quite 'different' sometimes!

I can't recommend Rocket Japanese enough; it really has changed my life for the better and opened up new paths for me to take in the future. Thank you Rocket Languages!

Blend B

Blend B

Rocket Japanese MI , Italy

Submitted: 8 months ago

12 Likes

I have tried different online courses so i might say I have seen quite a bit but so far this is the best. It explains in details structure, grammar and also emphasizes the important thinks to remember which a lot of other programs lack and are focused only on the vocabulary. The dialogues are also well written and in a funny way which makes it easier to concentrate and remember.
Definitely the best online course so far!

Jerome Betsey Jr

Jerome Betsey Jr

Rocket Japanese Connecticut , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

12 Likes

I absolutely love the layout of Rocket Japanese. The read and response questions as well as the pronunciation practice really helps to nail down such a complex language. I often listen to the lessons when it's not busy at work or when I'm driving so there's never a lot of downtime between lessons.

I do recommend that you use another learning app along with this one. With Japanese being the complex language that it is (especially for English speakers) it's recommended to learn the language from multiple perspectives, or even focus on something that you find is weaker than other aspects of the language (like Kanji or Pronunciation).

That being said, you can absolutely get by just by using this program. It is on the more expensive side, but if you're serious about learning the language it's an investment that should absolutely be considered.

Ashley C

Ashley C

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

12 Likes

My husband and I watch a lot of Japanese television like anime and some regular TV shows and thought how awesome it would be to actually be able to understand what the characters are saying without having to read subtitles. We also would like to take a trip to Japan in the future. We were both reluctant to start learning Japanese because we've heard how difficult it can be and that it takes years to become just somewhat fluent. But, we decided to take the leap and signed up for several Japanese learning tools. We started with Rosetta Stone and after 2 days of being on the trial version, we cancelled it because it wasn't working for us. We weren't retaining anything. Then, we found Rocket Japanese and we couldn't believe that we were actually able to have a short conversation after just 2 days!! Rocket Japanese is the easiest and most intuitive program out there for learning Japanese. It's so much fun and so interesting that I spend hours doing the lessons without realizing that much time had passed. I'd recommend Rocket Languages to everyone trying to learn a new language. Arigatō to the creators of this program, I am forever grateful to have this resource!

claudia rowland

claudia rowland

Rocket Japanese Pulaski, MS , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

12 Likes

I have just started using the trial Japanese program, and I think it is fantastic! I'll be buying the entire Japanese program in a couple of weeks. I love Kenny and Sayaka, the presenters. They speak slowly and clearly so I can understand the pronunciation of the words, and they explain the grammar in small bits so it's not overwhelming. They also make the lessons fun with their sense of humor. The program has tons of reinforcement, which I use over and over. I have found the culture and writing parts very useful, and also go back to them multiple times. It takes me about two weeks to do one lesson, but I know it by memory then, and can talk to my Japanese co-worker so she understands. I even dreamed in the small amount of Japanese I have learned so far! This program is so much fun, I can't wait to come home from work so I can study my lesson! Thank you, Rocket Languages, and I will be ordering the whole module very soon.

Christian Krause

Christian Krause

Rocket Japanese Germany

Submitted: 2 years ago

12 Likes

I speak for Rocket Japanese:

Price is fair, if you buy on sale. Still not cheap, but fair. I have learned a lot from Rocket Japanese. I mainly use the audio lessons. They are awesome. They are kept fun, but still are very challenging. I replay them at least once (but usually 3 to 4 times). The quizzes on the site are good too and do help me to remember. The site works good and is fast. I do not use the apps.

There are flaws, but i consider them as minor. The biggest one is that audio quality is not top notch. Don`t get me wrong: It is alright, but it could be better. A short audio file with just the vocab of the lesson (for every lesson) would be awesome too. But maybe that will come someday. Sometimes, i feel like the audio lessons are too challenging. But better this way than the other way around.

The biggest pro that speaks for Rocket Japanese is that i can use it anywhere. You can download all audio lessons, and use them on a normal mp3-player (no drm whatsoever). This is very important to me.

I am kind of an japanese learning addict and i prefer Rocket Languages over Pimsleur (you do learn a lot of vocabulary of it, but it does get boring). Rosetta Stone is good as a vocab trainer, but i prefer to have explanations.

Jean Grixti

Jean Grixti

Rocket Japanese Valletta , Malta

Submitted: 2 years ago

12 Likes

Rocket Japanese gave me the opportunity to learn Japanese in the comfort of my own home and in my own pace. The lessons are so user friendly that you always feel confident of your progress after each lesson. 10/10 Rating experience! Would recommend Rocket Languages to anyone.

Aye Khine

Aye Khine

Rocket Japanese Mandalay , Myanmar

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

I am interested in learning languages.I am keen to visit to Japan.Hopefully I am coming to Japan few months later.I wish to meet Japanese people and culture.I have been learning your language for a year with different teaching methods.But I found that Rocket Languages is easy,convenient,effortless and less time consuming.Especially I like the points and badge system which make me motivated. On top of that, it makes me fun and relaxed .As I am working in government service I have limited time but I can go by my own pace whenever I have time.Thank you very much for your teaching materials.I would recommend your course to others .

David .

David .

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

I was hesitant to purchase it due to the cost but it is worth it. This course includes Speach, Reading, and Writing. The part that gave me the push to buy it was the lifetime access and future upgrades. If all the courses are the same, I will be purchasing more later.
I got all the levels. If you are going to learn a language it might at well be all the material; there is no point it only getting one level.

Glenn Ward

Glenn Ward

Rocket Japanese Australia

Submitted: 3 years ago

12 Likes

The amount of information here is staggering for a beginner like myself,however I'm lucky for 2 reasons.Firstly,I have been using Memrise for 18 months so many of the words are familiar to me and secondly my Philipinna wife lived in Japan for 25 years and is completely fluent in Japanese so I don't have a problem with the voice playback as I never use it.The customer service is fantastic and I would recommend this program to anyone,my wife says it is a bit formal but it's better to learn formal and go down than learn anime and try to go up.Great program guys,thanks to Sayaka san and Kenny san(he's ok for a pommy).