Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3431 Customer reviews

Daniel Hosking

Daniel Hosking

Rocket French Adelaide , Australia

Submitted: 2 years ago

7 Likes

I have just started using Rocket French again, after using it briefly before travelling overseas last year. Using it in conjunction with in person lessons to boost my learning as I want to challenge myself, and I'm finding it quite useful so far. The fact that I can use it on my computer, or on my phone while in the car on bluetooth is great, and I love that it updates my progress on both.

The program seems to have trouble recognising when I say "Vous" - But speech recognition is a great feature otherwise. There was an error with the 1.2 quiz, not logging my 5/5 result on the computer, but it did work on the iPhone app.

All in all and good product so far. Thank you.

Vandon R.

Vandon R.

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

I have 3 previous French courses (Premium, Premium Plus, and Platinum). I have been extremely satisfied with them; I listen to the audio lessons all of the time to increase my comprehension of spoken French. I purchased the Travelogue package and have been very disappointed that the audio is in English. Without being able to listen to the entire lesson in French, it completely takes away the audio experience and turns it into just a series of exercises to be completed. Is there any way to change the audio portion into French, instead of the woman reading the lesson in English?

Response from Rocket Languages: A French narrative will be in the Rocket French Travelogue series by the end of the year! (Update 2018: The Rocket French Travelogues now have the full script available in French as well as English, and French and English audio versions that you can use much like the Interactive Audio course tracks)

Michael Anslow

Michael Anslow

Rocket French Brussels , Belgium

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

I've just started the first few lessons and I really like the conversational approach to learning and the additional form of testing that follows. Unlike other learning platforms that I've tried that encourage you to speak, Rocket's approach of using voice recognition makes it into a kind of game where you feel that speaking correctly matters. I also love how you can stand in for one of the speakers in a pseudo-realtime conversation. It feels that one step closer to learning with another person. On the negative side, I find the male teacher to be a bit too 'smily', like he is talking to children. This isn't especially off-putting when we get to the actual conversations and explanations but it doesn't really help with learning. I guess they wanted the male and female teachers to have some kind of rapport with the students but it feels forced.

Maila Garnier

Maila Garnier

Rocket French tashkent , Uzbekistan

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

I had tried the FREE trial at first and it seems i learned few basics french words and i enjoy the process of learning. I easily get bored with some other language learning apps i purchased previously. Finally, i decided to buy this very enjoyable yet very systematic language application. The survival kit, language and cultural lessons helps me a lot for a deeper understanding of the language. The interactive audio lessons just motivated me to be awake... NOW, its my turn to focus my study. BONNE CHANCE à tous!

Mark Gailmor

Mark Gailmor

Rocket French Pahrump/Nevada , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

To date I have purchased two modules for Rocket French and Rocket Italian. I found RF while it was in it's infancy because at the time of purchase only Premium Level One was available. A few months later I received an email about Rocket French Level Two and I jumped to add it. Then a short time later I received the announcement about Rocket Italian. To date I have only used the RF. I use it in conjunction with two other pieces of software. One of them is Duolingo. However, what I like about RF is that it is more thorough. I like the two speakers/hosts of the program as well. Paul with his English charm and Marie Claire with her lovely, French personality. The two make each lesson fun and entertaining. So far I have made good progress with RF but I have one gripe. The voice recognition needs more work. I use a headset that works well with other voice recognition programs but RF doesn't always recognize the sentence as I repeat it. And this is frustrating when you play or hear Paul or Marie-Claire pronounce the sentence as you just recorded. This is the one major issue I have. Well this and the fact that I get nagging messages if I try to use a browser other than Google Chrome or Chromium. Overall, I do like the program and have made more progress with my French when I come here than anywhere else. Thanks for a quality product.

Sally Burk

Sally Burk

Rocket French Carcassonne , France

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

Awesome?
Well, we do not like Paul's condescending and patronizing manner (it's not funny). We are both teachers, and we were hoping for more professionalism.
My husband and I are going through the lessons together, and we feel the lesson content is practical and appropriate. We feel we are learning a lot to use in everyday situations.
Bon Chance!

christa thompson

christa thompson

Rocket French France

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

I moved to France without speaking a word of French and bought this program after reading some good reviews of it online. I've bought some other online resources but Rocket French is the only one I've ended up coming back to repeatedly for self-study. The dialogues are well done: I like the brief explanations of the vocab and the repetition is helpful without being tedious. I've actually been able to use the structures in real conversation here in France. The program has been improved a lot even since I bought it, and now you can practice what you learn in every possible format--- writing, reading, speaking, listening --- and the ability to download the audio is great if you want to listen to it in your car. Sometimes I listen to a dialogue several times before looking at the transcript and this helps me figure out how well my listening comprehension is coming along. I'm really happy with this program and recommend it to anyone looking for an entertaining way to learn French.

Elizabeth Johnson

Elizabeth Johnson

Rocket French Ottawa , Canada

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

I've been trying to learn French off and on for many years, but have always struggled with conversation. Having gone through the first few lessons in the trial version, I feel like my spoken French has improved more than it did in any of the classes I took. I would feel comfortable having a simple conversation with someone in real life after this short time. Seeing that kind of progress is motivating! The testing modules following each of the lessons do a really good job of helping you internalize the language that was taught in the lesson. The voice recognition software can sometimes be a bit slow or finicky, which may be partially due to my computer. I've had the best luck using the recently updated iPhone app. I would definitely recommend the French product. It is much less expensive than I would pay for classes that cover the same amount of material, and I believe I will actually be more proficient with Rocket French.

One note: I haven't had any contact with the company, so I cannot comment on the customer service, but don't want to give them a bad rating. One the I noticed was that the issues that I experienced initially with the iPhone app were resolved the next time I logged in. The company seems to be working hard to give customers a good product.

Alexander Irvine

Alexander Irvine

Rocket French United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

Rocket Languages is the best language program that I have ever used. It isn't like other programs that drill your brain with constant vocabulary words and phrases that you would never use in real life. It actually gives you useful information, practical information that will allow you to survive and also eventually become fluent in whatever language you're studying.

sandy marshall

sandy marshall

Rocket French glasgow

Submitted: 3+ years ago

7 Likes

I chose Rocket French after trying various other systems to improve my French language. It is a much more efficient and enjoyable experience and I am content with the outcomes. A great advantage for me is that there are no time limitations to complete the course. This gives me the ability to study at my own pace and repeat any lessons, or all of them, if I need to do so. Additionally, writing, speaking and listening as part of each lesson, maximises my learning experience and the quiz provides the means of testing how I have performed