Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Rob Peters

Rob Peters

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

2 Likes

I've been using Rocket German for a week and have made it through the first module. Overall I am really happy with the purchase, especially since I was able to buy it on sale. I really like that I'm able to hear words, phrases, sentences and then record and compare my pronunciation to the speaker. However, I have noticed that there are times when the voice recognition marks me poorly despite my playback recording sounding exactly like the speaker. Fortunately those instances are not the norm. A lot of phrases are thrown at you at times without much explanation, perhaps this gets better the farther you move along in the course. But as an example there are two sentences with an English translation of "would like" with different German expressions and there's no context that explains why you would use one over the other. Fortunately we live in an internet age and I am able to supplement my Rocket German with other resources. So far I am really enjoying the course and definitely feel like I'm getting a lot out of it particularly with regards to pronunciation.

Todd Sulpar

Todd Sulpar

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

I am very happy with the course. I started learning German with a weekly course at the community college. Although I learned a good amount, I feel that with Rocket German, I am learning more since I use it practically every day. I enjoy the goal setting as well as the different types of lessons.

S M

S M

Rocket German United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

The strengths: - The program is mainly focused on learning useful German from the beginning, familiarising the user with common interactions they might have early on.
- The podcasts are entertaining and stop the learning process from becoming boring.
- Easily recommendable, and from what I have heard from reviews of the product, Rocket Languages seem to care about improvements.

The weaknesses: I might be wrong on this, but I feel that a basic explanation of conjugations comes too late, and at first you are forced to entirely learn new words and not to figure out that a lot of different words are just conjugations of one word. For me, I was already familiar with German so this wasn't a problem. I would then recommend to anyone who is using this product and is completely new to German, to learn about basic sentence structure and conjugations from other sources to aid this course.

Don Charlesworth

Don Charlesworth

Rocket German Mountain House, CA , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

3 Likes

I had some background studying German in college and living there a couple of years courtesy of the US Army. But that was quite a while back. Now, I decided as a hobby to brush up and improve my German skills. This is an excellent tool to assist me in this goal. One interesting thing is that I have a lot of background noise where I live; however, the speech recognition is able to do a very good job except when one of our pet birds squawks. All of the speakers but one speak very clearly and slowly so you can catch the appropriate pronunciation. I provided feedback about one speaker who speaks so softly that it is hard to distinguish sounds, but this is probably something you could easily encounter in speaking to a native German. The application is very good for grammar understanding and building a vocabulary; however, it has been good for my learning to supplement the course with some German short stories at my level to better learn expressions and dialog in different situations and locations. Overall, I am very pleased with the course.

Robbie Fogarty

Robbie Fogarty

Rocket German Co. Kildare , Ireland

Submitted: 2 years ago

0 Likes

I've only just started my course and am on module 1. However I am really enjoying it and find the course much better than a short course I did recently. I find it a much better course for teaching modern conversational German. As the previous one was more academic. I would prefer if the mobile app was tweaked so that the screen remained always on and not slept while being used in the car. That aside I can highly recommend the course however.

Gordon Smith

Gordon Smith

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

4 Likes

I enjoy Rocket German, as it has been the most useful medium for learning a new language short of just dropping into Germany to learn. I am an incurable do-it-yourself-er and Rocket German has been nothing short of encouraging to me. I use it every evening, along with Rocket Russian and I even manage to use it on my phone if I have a few dead moments during the workday to review what I did the night before. Whenever opportunity has presented itself, I've "test-driven" what I've learned in practical application and have been pleased with the results. I have a favorite German restaurant and use it there at times, although the only German speaker there is the owner, so it's only infrequently that I can use it there, but German tourists come to my part of the world occasionally and I do what I can to see if I can make a meaningful attempt at a conversation. It is my goal to be reasonably fluent in 5-years so that when I decide to do a 2-year work stint in Europe at that time, I'll be prepared.

Isabelle K

Isabelle K

Rocket German NSW , Australia

Submitted: 2 years ago

5 Likes

Rocket Languages has such a wonderful lesson structure that is practical from the start! It is structured in a way that users can engage as superficially or as in-depth as they chose for the progress they are looking for. I particularly love the variety in the tests, it has greatly improved my listening comprehension, and shown me where my spelling needs work. Highly recommended program.

Agostina San

Agostina San

Rocket German Buenos Aires , Argentina

Submitted: 2 years ago

1 Likes

I am really happy with the Rocket Language experience! At first I was worried that it might get too difficult, but it wasn't! I've learning German for the past three weeks and I couldn't be more convinced that this is the best website to learn languages.

Bob Negri

Bob Negri

Rocket German Bloomington / Illinois , United States

Submitted: 2 years ago

2 Likes

The Rocket German interface has been greatly improved over the last two years. I am very happy with the application now. I am currently powering my way through Level 1 so that I can get to Level 2. Almost there!

When I first purchase Rocket German two years ago, I found myself fighting constantly with the voice recognition interface. That is much improved. The practice the dialogs feature is nice. This iteration of the Rocket Languages user interface is very good. I will probably buy the Spanish version when the time comes based on my experience with Rocket German.

My one complaint is that some of the exercises are too long, like the one on countries. But those are few and far between.

Keep up the good work!

Eunice Wambui

Eunice Wambui

Rocket German Nairobi , Kenya

Submitted: 2 years ago

6 Likes

I've always wanted to study German but my job can't allow but now Raketenartiger Interaktiver Audio Deutsch Kurs has made it possible for me to study German at home during my free time.All i can say is Vielen Dank