Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3431 Customer reviews

Nato Suon

Nato Suon

Rocket Japanese Siemreap , Cambodia

Submitted: 3 years ago

11 Likes

love it! Makes learning a language fun and enjoyable. I was very hesitate to go with the program. But found it to be better than Rosetta stone and others out there. Not only are you able to learn new language, but you are able to practice them in different ways...

Thai To

Thai To

Rocket Japanese Da Lat , Vietnam

Submitted: 3 years ago

11 Likes

I have tried dozen of language learning courses including: Rosetta Stone, Duo Lingual, Udemy, etc. However, I think Rocket Languages is one of the best because it is well-structured with balanced among reading, writing, listening and speaking skills.

Lindsey Zwiers

Lindsey Zwiers

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

11 Likes

After taking a few Japanese courses in college, I ended up moving and having no access to formal instruction. While I was able to learn a few words here and there through various internet sources, most free resources give only very basic information about grammar and writing. I purchased a few textbooks which helped explain some basic grammar and writing, but there was no way to effectively test what I had learned. I was able to read and write a bit better, but I had next to no experience speaking the language since nobody around me also spoke it. So I finally started looking up instructional courses and stumbled upon Rocket Japanese.

As a full-time college student, it is a bit pricey, but nowhere near as bad as some other courses, and it's definitely not as expensive as a college course. It also covers more ground than my previous college courses did! As of now, I've finished the first module and gotten started on the second. I have a few criticisms, but they're mostly related to organization and romanization. The content itself is great, though the audio lessons start off with exaggerated pronunciation for people who have never heard or spoken the language before. It appears to lessen as you progress.

Read More

Walter Korchoff

Walter Korchoff

Rocket Japanese Reading , United Kingdom

Submitted: 3 years ago

11 Likes

I have been studying Japanese on and off for a couple of years, this is because i get too busy and reading a book takes a lot of effort and becomes boring when you do not know much of what you are reading and there is no one to tell you if you are doing the right thing or if you are even pronounce it correctly. This course is amazing in the way that it is very interactive and I feel like everyday I go on it I am learning something new and useful that I can add to my vocab. I love how the score system works and the fact that there is a leader board that lets you know how you have done that day compared to everyone else. I am a highly competitive person and I feel like this allows you to push yourself further to try and get number one in that leader board. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning a language, it is worth it as long as you will put in the time to study and stay consistent. Hope you guys enjoy it.

Daria Simunovic

Daria Simunovic

Rocket Japanese Sarajevo , Bosnia and Herzegovina

Submitted: 3 years ago

11 Likes

Hello, I am an English teacher but can speak 4 other foreign languages and started learning Japanese a few years ago. I studied it with Teach yourself Japanese, Japanese for Busy People and Take off in Japanese. Then I tried Rocket Japanese and I can say Rocket Japanese is the best programme I have ever seen. Not only is it very creative but very practical and applicable, too. Modern tools and features make it even more interesting, in particular for youngsters! Sayaka as our guide is excellent as well as Mauricio and Amy for Spanish. What I like most about Rocket Languages is that there is always a dash, a touch of culture and customs as well as nuances in different countries (for Spanish). I have already recommended Rocket Languages to several friends of mine. Last but not least, I wish all the teams of Rocket Languages success in the future work-I am sure you will grant us with some new, interesting improvements!
Daria Simunovic, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Rose Duran

Rose Duran

Rocket Japanese

Submitted: 3+ years ago

11 Likes

Rocket Japanese is amazing. Since it includes interactive audio lessons, I find it much easier compared to going to the bookstore and buy a book with all this stuff. Because of this audio lessons I find it easier to pronounce Japanese words and I can also assure that you will learn the correct pronunciation using this interactive audio lessons since one of the hosts is a native Japanese speaker. Another thing I liked about it is you can download the audio file and also the pdf file that goes with it, and you can study the language offline. There are also games which you can play that serves as a review or a test for you which is really fun to do. Its set up of how to learn this language is not boring. Its really fun to learn a language with the interactive audio lessons. It seems like you are having a one on one lesson with a friend who is a native speaker of the language you are trying to learn. And I really admire Sayaka and Kenny since they always sound so enthusiastic to teach Japanese language in every audio lessons.
Being a Jrock fan I think Rocket Japanese is one of the reasons why I am now able to communicate to other fans in a better way. And also, now I can understand some lyrics from the Jrock songs I'm listening to without any translations. Thanks Rocket Japanese!

Richard Greenfield

Richard Greenfield

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 3 months ago

10 Likes

I love this app. I have tried many other apps and they don't compare to Rocket. I had taken one class in Japanese at a local college and couldn't continue because of scheduling conflicts. Rocket Japanese has allowed me to continue studying Japanese. It is the next best thing to being in class. I have found the lessons to be extremely informative and, most importantly, relevant. The lessons are real world examples of conversations that I might actually have. I highly recommend this program.

Kevin Gongon

Kevin Gongon

Rocket Japanese MD , United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

10 Likes

Rocket japan is great, I haven't finished yet but I can already talk to my Japanese classmates. I had purchased it during a sale and got all 3 levels for 150 which for me made it a good deal but after using it I definitely would have bought it at full price. definitely recommend this if you're on the fence between two different programs rocket japan is just so polished, not to mention they have an app that works amazingly well. 10 out of 10 I recommend.

sarah a

sarah a

Rocket Japanese MN , United States

Submitted: 10 months ago

10 Likes

The voice narrator needs to be replaced, she is too monotone. Lessons should still to an extent reteach verb forms or grammar rules they have mentioned before, instead of telling the audience to refer to an obscure moment in a previous audio session. Besides that, the course is helpful.

Cat Price

Cat Price

Rocket Japanese United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

10 Likes

This is the most effective Japanese program I've tried so far. I love the reinforcement after every lesson. I have Duolingo and listen to the Pimsleur learning course through Audible, and I think the Rocket Japanese course really puts everything together nicely. Already, I feel like my Japanese has definitely improved.