Rocket Sign Language Reviews

Find out what actual users have to say about our courses through their Rocket Sign Language reviews.

Average rating

4.3

Rocket Sign Language review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

47 Customer reviews

5 Stars

61.7% (29)

4 Stars

17.0% (8)

3 Stars

12.8% (6)

2 Stars

6.4% (3)

1 Star

2.1% (1)

If you would like to submit a review of a Rocket Languages course and are not already a member then you need to sign up for a trial.

You can filter the Rocket Languages reviews by using the "Order by" filters below.

Order By:

Kamloops Kamloops
2021 Edition
review

Kamloops Kamloops

Rocket Sign Language Canada

Submitted: 12 days ago

4 Likes

Thank you for making ASL available for everyone to learn. My youngest brother is deaf, and it would be so great if more hearing people took the time to learn even a few signs so they could communicate more freely with him and his friends. Plus, the hearing can use sign language themselves anywhere they want to be quiet (like a library). Its useful in many situations. Teaching sign language to babies helps them develop their communication skills at a very young age. Their speech development is enhanced not delayed from learning both ASL and an oral language simultaneously. Also, ASL is simply a beautiful language. This is a wonderful course. Thank you again!

Aleena Henderson
2021 Edition
review

Aleena Henderson

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 1 month ago

3 Likes

I love this course its so easy and understand I think if you are deaf I recommend. The history on it helps understand then just learning ASL but the rich history helps more then signing. I love it and you should to

Marilyn Murray
2021 Edition
review

Marilyn Murray

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 5 months ago

11 Likes

It's very exciting, I like the fact that it can be viewed several times so you can see while attempting to follow along.

Eileen O'Shaughnessy
2021 Edition
review

Eileen O'Shaughnessy

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 8 months ago

0 Likes

I'm learning ASL and I just got to the numbers part- I was shocked to see that numbers 1-5 are wrong! Numbers 1-5 are always signed with the palm facing in, not out. If they got something so simple wrong, it makes me a little worried about how much they really know the language. Was this course designed by hearing or Deaf people?

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Eileen - Thanks for your review! I just thought that I would let one of our Sign Language experts respond...

"While it is true that simply counting the cardinal numbers 1-5 in ASL the numbers are done with the palm facing in, for most practical uses of the numbers in daily communication the palm faces out - for that reason they are shown this way in the lesson.

For example, if you were to tell the time you would not sign 2:05 as "time 2:05" with your palm facing in - it would face out. Another example would be a phone number - no matter which number 1-9 ,the palm always faces out. Really, there are many different deep language rules connected with number usage - for example how you count days, weeks and months - which will be introduced and explained in later lessons.

Some of team who contributed to this course grew up using ASL to communicate, others attended ITP programs and are RID certified, while others have been educators in the Deaf community for nearly 20 years.

Thanks to this feedback we can make some adjustments to the lesson to explain clearly why we are showing the numbers this way."

So Eileen, thanks for your feedback. We will change it to make it clearer!

Anga John
2021 Edition
review

Anga John

Rocket Sign Language Saint Kitts and Nevis

Submitted: 9 months ago

0 Likes

Customer service needs to be quick. Please make it at least 3 minutes, not 2 to 4 days. What's awesome is, logo is intelligent.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Anga - We try and turn around our customer service emails within 2 working days. This is a better turnaround than a lot of sites and we are always trying to improve it!

Friendship School
2021 Edition
review

Friendship School

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

16 Likes

I appreciate the Rocket Sign Language group. A new student came to our school and since I had a little knowledge of sign language due to past hearing loss, I was asked to begin working with her. Rocket Sign Language has helped me remember so many important beginning elements to ASL. Thank you to all who have been a part of producing this material.

Les Landers
2021 Edition
review

Les Landers

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 9 months ago

13 Likes

Seems very easy to learn, so for. I kind of wish they had the course on HD DVD. I'm going deaf, I'm 78 yrs old. I.ve been trying to learn a little using books and ASL dictionaries, But nothing I've found compares to this! I only wish they had a more affordable price, I'm living on Social Security.

Jess Chandler

Jess Chandler

Rocket Sign Language IN , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

0 Likes

Just started using it. Trying to learn the alphabet and unfortunately the majority of the videos won't play. When I click on the play button either the screen goes all black or all white. Sent an email to get help and have yet to hear back from anyone.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi there! Our Customer Service Team has contacted you to resolve this issue. Happy learning!

Sarah Parker

Sarah Parker

Rocket Sign Language United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

6 Likes

My review is of Rocket Languages Sign Language. Someone who is just beginning to learn sign language has no hope of following your lessons because you sign too fast. Much too fast!

It's okay to have a fast version, as long as a slow version is included. Someone who is just beginning to learn ASL can't follow when your hands move that fast.

You need to fix this.

Response from Rocket Languages: Recently, we had to re-render all 3,000 videos to work on the apps, and in doing so it looks like the half-speed functionality has been overwritten. We will look at getting that back asap. (Update 2019: This has been resolved! Half-speed is back!)

Cari Murphy

Cari Murphy

Rocket Sign Language Tampa, Fl , United States

Submitted: 3 years ago

7 Likes

The training was simple and the layout was neat. Hand signs were clear and effective, a tip i would give is to make more available to those who may just want to learn more about the language or can not afford "premium" service.