Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Andrew Dawson

Andrew Dawson

Rocket Japanese Manchester , United Kingdom

Submitted: 2 days ago

0 Likes

I have found Rocket Japanese to be useful, and frustrating in about equal measures. The voice-recognition is a great idea in helping perfect your pronunciation. Unfortunately I find that about 20% of the time (I haven't kept a count, this is a rough estimate) it simply doesn't work. Either your phrase is not recognised, or deemed incorrect. As a beginner, not knowing if it is you, or the software that is the problem can be insanely frustrating. It doesn't appear to be the longer sentences that suffer from this. The very first sounds we are asked to repeat are riddled with examples. After 3 months it still tells me I can't pronounce 'ka'.
I have finally been prompted to write this because the system tells me I cannot pronounce 'America jin' correctly. Clearly this is an almost native sound to an English speaker, but I mimic the example exactly to no avail. I can forgive these issues, although there are other minor complaints. I have also reported some mistakes in the text, but they remain unchanged. Personally I find that the audio lessons are rather childish, and would be happier if we just got on with the lesson, but I recognise that might just be me being grumpy.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Andrew, thanks for the detailed feedback. Unfortunately, very short words tend not to work very well with voice recognition as they don't have a lot of context. With regards the lessons themselves, we are in the process of completely redoing the Language & Culture lessons and hope to have those up in the next couple of months. Unfortunately, the pandemic has put a halt to a lot of our activities.

Shoaib Ahmed

Shoaib Ahmed

Rocket English Bangladesh

Submitted: 3 days ago

3 Likes

An amazingly unique style of learning the languages Rocket offers. Mindblowing. Very intriguing. I come back again and again.

Paola M

Paola M

Rocket German Ontario , Canada

Submitted: 4 days ago

4 Likes

The amazing and unique course to learn fast. It is well taught and I strongly recommend for people who want to learn the German language properly.

Hazel Elizabeth

Hazel Elizabeth

Rocket Italian New Zealand

Submitted: 4 days ago

3 Likes

Although it took me a whole year to get into a habit of using it, I am finally practicing regularly and progressing faster (lockdown meant no more excuses!).

I realized after some time that the timezone was probably set by default to the USA and I couldn't understand why I kept losing my streak even though I was practicing daily. This was initially de-motivating until I discovered I could change my settings very easily and changed the country to New Zealand.

The exercises are well designed to cover the key language areas and I find the system helps cement vocabulary really well. More quiz questions per lesson would be welcome and maybe more diversity of exercise type!

I believe app learning is a good way to get initial exposure to a new language and get a basic foundation in order to sign up to a class with other humans or take a trip overseas. I am confident that after a year of regular Rocket Italian I might be able to go for a level assessment at a language institute and skip the basic levels. I'm very happy with my purchase - it was a good investment and is worth every cent.

Scott Wooldridge

Scott Wooldridge

Rocket Spanish Oklahoma , United States

Submitted: 7 days ago

0 Likes

I paid for the Spanish course and received nothing

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Scott - It looks like you ordered with a different email address to the one you used to set up your account. Customer support have sorted it out and have emailed you.

Kimberly Jenkins

Kimberly Jenkins

Rocket Spanish Lancaster , United States

Submitted: 5 days ago

4 Likes

I initially tried rocket Spanish using my iPad because my laptop was not working properly. I found my headphones would not work and I was very disappointed and thought it was the course design . After receiving a new laptop I tried Rocket Spanish again and so happy I did ! I was able to use what I learned during the trial period on my last trip to Mexico, I’m so excited to learn more! I have tried other online language courses and did not find them nearly as effective as Rocket Spanish...I love it❤️

Presley A

Presley A

Rocket Italian United States

Submitted: 6 days ago

4 Likes

I highly recommend Rocket! This program is super engaging and covers all the bases of learning a new language. I'm just finishing up Level 1 of Rocket Italian and have already learned so much.

uah-xiao cain-tu

uah-xiao cain-tu

Rocket German liverpool , United Kingdom

Submitted: 9 days ago

4 Likes

rocket language is very good when it comes to the teaching but i think things like this should be free because not everyone has the money to pay for it and the people that need it most is poorer people that don't have much money but everyone needs an education it doesn't matter about their status in life

John Hughes

John Hughes

Rocket Korean United Kingdom

Submitted: 10 days ago

2 Likes

It is such a shame. Rocket has the potential to be really good, but lack of attention to detail and poor explanations mean that it fails to reach its potential.

I have almost finished my Rocket Korean course. I have benefited from it, but only because I have a Korean wife, who has been able to explain things that Rocket have left vague, not explained well or just got plain wrong. First, the good things. The reinforcement process (Flashcards, oral repetition and so on) is excellent and has helped things to stick in my mind. The voice recognition software is also pretty good. It is weak on short words of one or two syllables, but in general works well. The audio conversations and reinforcement within them are also decent. There are three big problems with Rocket, however. Firstly, it’s explanations of grammar are not very clear and sometimes contain errors. Secondly it illustrates concepts with sentences that are far too complex and contain sections which are not explained. This is incredibly frustrating, because it means that you end up rote learning a lot of phrases rather than learning how to construct your own sentences. Finally the reference material and structure is very weak.

Read More

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi John - Thanks for the detailed feedback. We have recently added in subtitles to the Rocket Korean Interactive Audio course. That should help with finding the correct position. We are also looking at adding in "bookmarks" so that certain points can be highlighted for future reference. We will email you to find out more about some of your other points!

Kim Gates

Kim Gates

Rocket German Australia

Submitted: 12 days ago

7 Likes

I have used a number of other language courses ( paid and free) and find Rocket languages the best, for a number of reasons:
There is a comprehensive set of different reinforcement tools to suit a persons learning style. I prefer the flip cards but the others are also beneficial.
I appreciate that the audio lessons are separate from the culture/grammar lessons, so that one can easily dip in and out of the grammar as one wishes.
The ease of going back to earlier lessons to reinforce previous work if it is getting rusty!
The length of each lesson and the reinforcements are a sensible length - not too short but not too long to be daunting.
Oh - and the once off cost is much better than paying a regular fee!