Average rating

4.7

Review criteria

How satisfied are you with Rocket?

How likely are you to buy again?

Are you happy with the price?

Would you recommend it to a friend?

How was the customer service?

3393 Customer reviews

77.0%
15.5%
Greg Omer

Greg Omer

Rocket German Wildwood, MO , United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

12 Likes

I wish there was a way to make the pronunciations slower. To enunciate each syllable or sound. The narrator goes so fast sometimes I am unable to pick up the sounds.
Other than that, for me this works great. Now just figure out a way to make me find the time to use it.

Sandra Mayo

Sandra Mayo

Rocket German MO , United States

Submitted: 11 months ago

5 Likes

easy lessons. teaches how to pronounce as well as use words and phrases.i would definitely recommend. i have no ability with foreign languages but this program helps me a lot with the record to practice so i see where i need help.

Winnie Y

Winnie Y

Rocket German Australia

Submitted: 1 year ago

11 Likes

Great course - it gets you speaking from day one. The interactive approach is very useful.
Only complaint is the Language and culture section which is very dry as it's mostly lists and lists of vocab/sample sentences.

David L

David L

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

15 Likes

There is a lot to love about Rocket Languages - particularly the way you are encouraged to speak and interact with the material. The material, though, is the reason I am cancelling Rocket German Level 3. There are many useful words, structures, and conversations here, but I seriously have to question the didactic approach. Explanations of necessary grammar concepts were often missing or incomplete. Useless vocabulary (e.g. "Ha ha") is given equal weight with sentences much too long to memorize. Good model sentences are mixed in with numerous old song lyrics, tongue twisters, and "Max und Moritz" lines which should be presented just for entertainment. I was spending far too much time trying to weed out the material that had no real value for learning German. I must admit that I'm disappointed in this course. I've used Rocket French and was very impressed, but this course needs an overhaul before I can either use or recommend it.

Note from Rocket Languages: Hi David, thanks a lot for leaving us a review. We're currently in the process of reviewing Rocket German - so this is valuable feedback! We're sorry you weren't satisfied with the course and hope you might reconsider after Rocket German Level 3 is updated. Until then - happy learning! Your Rocket German Team

Ken Milam

Ken Milam

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

16 Likes

Overall, I've enjoyed the Rocket German product. It would be very helpful to have a set of audio control buttons (play/pause/rewind 3 sec) positioned directly beneath the Quick Settings on the left margin of the web page for the interactive lessons. When I listen to the interactive lessons on a computer, I constantly have to scroll from the line in the lesson back to the top of the page to pause/replay a word/phrase. Similarly, a rewind 3 sec button on the phone version is desperately needed. Lastly, I would like to see a video option for the Language & Culture Lessons. Reading through all of this is a little dry. I want to watch/hear an instructor saying these words/phrases. Thanks

Alexandria Peary

Alexandria Peary

Rocket German United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

7 Likes

I previously purchased Rocket Italian and learned quite a bit in preparation for travel. I'm now onto Rocket German as a refresher: many years ago, I learned German. In my experience, using Rocket as a refresher course has been particularly effective. Sometimes the pacing of the lessons can be a bit overwhelming (especially around verbs). For instance, in the Italian course, occasionally, a huge amount of information would be dumped on the learner, and it became a matter of learning by rote. Overall, however, I think Rocket Languages are a very satisfying way to learn languages and feel more a part of the rest of the world. I think the pricing is more than reasonable.

Brian Owens

Brian Owens

Rocket German SC , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

3 Likes

While I am enjoying, and learning from Rocket language I have two major gripes. 1) Many of the conversations are between to native English speakers who do not pronounce like native Germans (Which is the goal of language learning) and the audio "lesson" can get rather tedious and forced sounding. 2) On many of the conversations, when you "play as..." if the person laughs, moans, chuckles, or makes other noncommittal noises, you still must sound exactly like they do to pass that section, even though I can intentionally mispronounce words in hard mode and it will pass me to the next section otherwise.

Response from Rocket Languages: Hi Brian; there is one non-native speaker in the Interactive Audio course (Level 1), in-line with our philosophy of providing the most effective online language learning courses possible, we will be replacing that audio with a native speaker within the next couple of months.

William Wager

William Wager

Rocket German Ealing, LONDON , United Kingdom

Submitted: 1 year ago

4 Likes

I am happy with the course and how it is presented. Impressed with the App.
I invested nearly $450 with Pimsleur and it was not value for money.
Am French born in Paris of British parents so bilingual at an early age, my wife is Italian so I also speak it. After I finish this German course, I may consider investing in your Spanish course
Best regards

Michael Lavin

Michael Lavin

Rocket German knoxville , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

4 Likes

I'm pleased with Rocket German. The program has worked well on my iMac, provided I use the Chrome browser. Lessons are well sorgfanized, and if you keep at it day and are using the grammar as well as interactive lessons your fluency and reading will improve. I'm doubtful that writing will make similar progress as the structure is not a good, at leas so far, for teaching students to write German well, though students do get plenty of practice transcribing what they hear. I would not hesitate to recommend it to somebody wishing to learn to read and speak better German. I find it does help to make a point to watch movies and TV programs in German.

Nelson Rasmussen

Nelson Rasmussen

Rocket German Colorado Springs, CO , United States

Submitted: 1 year ago

1 Likes

I am very pleased. I have barely gotten started, but so far it exceeds expectations. I especially like the structure of the lessons. It strikes a good balance of listening, speaking, spelling, and grammar. Es ist sehr gut!